EuGH, Rs. C-211/91 v. 16.12.1992 - Belgien/Kommission (english)


EuGH, Urteil vom 16.12.1992, Rs. C-211/91, Slg. 1992, I-6757 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Königreich Belgien


EWG Vertrag Art. 56, 59

Summary

 

1. By prohibiting cable television companies from broadcasting on their networks programmes from radio or television broadcasting stations in other Member States, where the programmes are not transmitted in the language or one of the languages of the Member State in which the station is established, a Member State is in breach of its obligations under Article 59 of the Treaty.

Such a restriction, which is discriminatory in that it is not applicable to services without distinction as regards their origin, cannot be brought within any of the grounds for exemption from the freedom to provide services permitted by Community law, that is to say those laid down in Article 56 of the Treaty.

2. While it is true that a Member State cannot be denied the right to take measures to prevent a provider of services whose activity is entirely or principally directed towards its territory from exercising the freedom guaranteed by Article 59 of the Treaty for the purpose of avoiding the professional rules of conduct which would be applicable to him if he were established within that State, it does not follow that it is permissible for a Member State to prohibit altogether the provision of certain services by operators established in other Member States.

Parties

 

In Case C-211/91,

Commission of the European Communities, represented by Pieter Van Nuffel, of its Legal Service, acting as Agent, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the office of Roberto Hayder, of the Legal Service, Wagner Centre, Kirchberg,

applicant,

v

Kingdom of Belgium, represented by Jan Devadder, Director in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Cooperation with Developing Countries, acting as Agent, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the Belgian Embassy, 4, Rue des Girondins,

defendant,

APPLICATION for a declaration that, by maintaining in the legislation applicable to the Flemish Community requirements contrary to Community law as regards the broadcasting of television programmes on cable television networks and the conditions applicable to non-public television stations, the Kingdom of Belgium has failed to fulfil its obligations under Articles 52, 59, 60 and 221 of the EEC Treaty,

THE COURT,

composed of: O. Due, President, G.C. Rodrí­guez Iglesias and J.L. Murray (Presidents of Chambers), G.F. Mancini, R. Joliet, F.A. Schockweiler, J.C. Moitinho de Almeida, F. Grévisse and D.A.O. Edward, Judges,

Advocate General: G. Tesauro,

Registrar: H. von Holstein, Deputy Registrar,

having regard to the Report for the Hearing,

after hearing oral argument from the parties at the hearing on 10 November 1992, at which the Kingdom of Belgium was represented by J. Stuyck of the Brussels Bar,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General at the sitting on 24 November 1992,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds

 

1 By application lodged at the Court Registry on 8 August 1991, the Commission of the European Communities brought an action under Article 169 of the EEC Treaty for a declaration that, as regards the legislation applicable in the Flemish Community, the Kingdom of Belgium had failed to fulfil its obligations under Articles 52, 59, 60 and 221 of the EEC Treaty,

° by prohibiting the transmission on a broadcasting network of television programmes of broadcasting services from other Member States where the programme is not in the language or one of the languages of the Member State in which the broadcasting service is established,

° by making the transmission on a broadcasting network of television programmes of non-public broadcasting services from other Member States subject to prior authorization, to which conditions may be attached,

° by reserving 51% of the capital of the non-public television broadcasting company which serves the entire Flemish Community to publishers of Dutch-language daily and weekly newspapers whose registered office is situated in the Dutch-speaking region or in the bilingual Brussels region,

° and by defining in a discriminatory manner own cultural productions which constitute a compulsory part of the programmes of non-public television broadcasting companies.

2 2 The Belgian Government does not contest the last three complaints.

3 3 Reference is made to the Report for the Hearing for a fuller account of the facts of the case, the legislation at issue, the procedure and the pleas in law and arguments of the parties, which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court.

The first complaint: the requirement concerning the language of the programmes

4 4 The first complaint concerns the prohibition imposed on cable television companies on broadcasting on their networks programmes from radio or television broadcasting stations in other Member States where the programmes are not transmitted in the language or one of the languages of the Member State in which the station is established. That prohibition is laid down in Articles 3 and 4 of the Decree of the Flemish Community of 28 January 1987 concerning the transmission of radio and television programmes on radio and cable television networks and the approval of non-public television broadcasting companies (Moniteur Belge of 19 March 1987, p. 4196).

5 It is important to note that the legislation in question constitutes a barrier to the freedom to provide services in that it prevents broadcasting stations established in other Member States from having programmes that are transmitted in a language other than that of the country in which they are established relayed by the cable networks of the Flemish Community.

6 That barrier is discriminatory not only because, as the Belgian Government admits, it does not apply to broadcasting stations established in Belgium but above all because it prevents stations established in a Member State other than the Netherlands from offering programmes in Dutch to audiences in the Flemish Community, when that possibility naturally exists for national broadcasting stations.

7 The Belgian Government, however, relies upon cultural policy objectives to justify the legislation in question, namely the maintenance of pluralism in the printed press, which benefits directly from the advertising revenue of the national television broadcasting stations, the preservation and development of the artistic heritage and the viability of the national broadcasting stations.

8 Those arguments cannot be accepted.

9 The first and third cultural policy objectives adduced by the Belgian Government reveal that in reality the purpose of the measure complained of is to restrict genuine competition with the national broadcasting stations in order to maintain their advertising revenue. As regards the objective of preserving and developing the artistic heritage, suffice it to note, as does the Commission, that the measure complained of is in reality likely to reduce demand for television productions in Dutch.

10 Moreover, the justifications put forward by the Belgian Government do not come within any of the grounds for exemption from the freedom to provide services permitted by Article 56, namely public policy, public security and public health.

11 As the Court has consistently held (see, in particular, the judgment in Case 288/89 Collectieve Antennevoorziening Gouda v Commissariaat voor de Media [1991] ECR I-4007, paragraph 11), those exemptions alone can effectively be relied upon to justify national rules which are not applicable to services without distinction as regards their origin.

12 The argument that the Belgian Government seeks to derive from the judgment in Case 33/74 Van Binsbergen v Bedrijfsvereniging Metaalnijverheid [1974] ECR 1299, according to which a person providing services cannot avoid the rules applicable to providers of services established in the Member State towards which his activity is directed, cannot be accepted. While it is true that, according to paragraph 13 of that judgment, the State in which the service is provided may take measures to prevent a provider of services whose activity is entirely or principally directed towards its territory from exercising the freedom guaranteed by Article 59 for the purpose of avoiding the professional rules which would be applicable to him if he were established within that State, it does not follow that it is permissible for a Member State to prohibit altogether the provision of certain services by operators established in other Member States, as that would be tantamount to abolishing the freedom to provide services.

13 The Commission' s first complaint must accordingly be accepted.

The other three complaints

14 As the defendant Government itself concedes, on the expiry of the time-limit set in the reasoned opinion the implementing legislation in the Flemish Community was not in conformity with Articles 59 and 60 of the Treaty as regards the second complaint, with Articles 52 and 221 as regards the third and with Article 59 as regards the fourth.

15 Accordingly these three complaints must also be upheld, and it must therefore be held that the Kingdom of Belgium has failed to fulfil its obligations in the terms set out in the Commission' s application.

Decision on costs

 

Costs

16 Under Article 69(2) of the Rules of Procedure, the unsuccessful party is to be ordered to pay the costs. Since the defendant has failed in its submissions, it must be ordered to pay the costs.

Operative part

 

On those grounds,

THE COURT

hereby:

1. Declares that, as regards the legislation applicable in the Flemish Community, the Kingdom of Belgium has failed to fulfil its obligations under Articles 52, 59, 60 and 221 of the EEC Treaty,

° by prohibiting the transmission on a broadcasting network of television programmes of broadcasting services from other Member States where the programme is not in the language or one of the languages of the Member State in which the broadcasting service is established,

° by making the transmission on a broadcasting network of television programmes of non-public broadcasting services from other Member States subject to prior authorization, to which conditions may be attached,

° by reserving 51% of the capital of the non-public television broadcasting company which serves the entire Flemish Community to publishers of Dutch-language daily and weekly newspapers whose registered office is situated in the Dutch-speaking region or in the bilingual Brussels region,

° and by defining in a discriminatory manner own cultural productions which constitute a compulsory part of the programmes of non-public television broadcasting companies;

2. Orders the Kingdom of Belgium to pay the costs.

EuGH, Rs. C-211/91 v. 16.12.1992 - Belgien/Kommission


EuGH, Urteil vom 16.12.1992, Rs. C-211/91, Slg. 1992, I-6757 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Königreich Belgien


EWG Vertrag Art. 56, 59
Leitsätze

 

1. Ein Mitgliedstaat verstösst gegen seine Verpflichtungen aus Artikel 59 EWG-Vertrag, wenn er den Betreibergesellschaften von Kabelnetzen verbietet, in ihren Netzen Hörfunk- und Fernsehprogramme aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten zu verbreiten, soweit die Sendungen nicht in der Sprache oder einer der Sprachen des Mitgliedstaats erfolgen, in dem der Sender seinen Sitz hat.

Eine solche Beschränkung, die insofern diskriminierend ist, als sie nicht unterschiedslos auf alle Dienstleistungen ohne Rücksicht auf deren Herkunft anwendbar ist, fällt unter keine der vom Gemeinschaftsrecht in Artikel 56 EWG-Vertrag zugelassenen Ausnahmen vom Grundsatz des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs.

2. Zwar trifft es zu, daß einem Mitgliedstaat nicht das Recht abgesprochen werden kann, Maßnahmen zu treffen, um zu verhindern, daß die durch Artikel 59 EWG-Vertrag gewährleistete Freiheit von dem Erbringer einer Leistung, dessen Tätigkeit ganz oder hauptsächlich auf das Gebiet dieses Staates ausgerichtet ist, dazu genutzt wird, sich den gewerberechtlichen Vorschriften zu entziehen, die für ihn gelten würden, wenn er im Gebiet dieses Staates ansässig wäre; hieraus folgt jedoch nicht, daß es einem Mitgliedstaat gestattet wäre, ein allgemeines Verbot der Erbringung bestimmter Dienstleistungen durch in anderen Mitgliedstaaten ansässige Marktteilnehmer zu erlassen.

Entscheidungsgründe

 

1 Die Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften hat mit Klageschrift, bei der Kanzlei des Gerichtshofes eingegangen am 8. August 1991, gemäß Artikel 169 EWG-Vertrag Klage auf Feststellung erhoben, daß das Königreich Belgien, was die für die Flämische Gemeinschaft geltenden Rechtsvorschriften betrifft, gegen seine Verpflichtungen aus den Artikeln 52, 59, 60 und 221 EWG-Vertrag verstossen hat, indem es

° die íœbertragung von Fernsehprogrammen der Rundfunksender anderer Mitgliedstaaten über ein Verteilernetz für den Fall verbietet, daß die Sendung nicht in der Sprache oder einer der Sprachen desjenigen Mitgliedstaats erfolgt, in dem sich der Sender befindet;

° die íœbertragung von Fernsehprogrammen der nichtöffentlichen Rundfunksender anderer Mitgliedstaaten über ein Verteilernetz von einer vorherigen Genehmigung abhängig macht, an die Bedingungen geknüpft werden können;

° 51 % des Kapitals der nichtöffentlichen Fernsehgesellschaft, die sich an die gesamte Flämische Gemeinschaft wendet, den Verlegern von Tageszeitungen und Wochenzeitschriften niederländischer Sprache vorbehält, die ihren Firmensitz im niederländischen Sprachgebiet oder im zweisprachigen Gebiet Brüssel-Hauptstadt haben;

° den Begriff der kulturellen Eigenproduktionen, die obligatorischer Bestandteil der Programmgestaltung der nichtöffentlichen Fernsehgesellschaften sind, in diskriminierender Weise definiert.

2 Die belgische Regierung tritt den ersten drei Rügen nicht entgegen.

3 Wegen weiterer Einzelheiten des Sachverhalts, der einschlägigen Rechtsvorschriften, des Verfahrensablaufs und des Parteivorbringens wird auf den Sitzungsbericht verwiesen. Der Akteninhalt ist im folgenden nur insoweit wiedergegeben, als die Begründung des Urteils dies erfordert.

Zur ersten Rüge: Bedingung hinsichtlich der Sprache der Sendungen

4 Die erste Rüge betrifft das für die Betreibergesellschaften von Kabelnetzen geltende Verbot, in ihren Netzen Hörfunk- und Fernsehprogramme aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten zu verbreiten, soweit die Sendungen nicht in der Sprache oder einer der Sprachen des Mitgliedstaats erfolgen, in dem der Sender seinen Sitz hat. Dieses Verbot findet sich in den Artikeln 3 und 4 des Dekrets der Flämischen Gemeinschaft vom 28. Januar 1987 betreffend die íœbertragung von Hörfunk- und Fersehprogrammen über die Rundfunk- und Kabelfernsehnetze sowie die Zulassung von nichtöffentlichen Fernsehgesellschaften (Belgisch Staatsblad vom 19.3.1987, S. 4196).

5 Es ist festzustellen, daß die streitige Regelung insofern den freien Dienstleistungsverkehr behindert, als sie es den in anderen Mitgliedstaaten ansässigen Rundfunkanstalten verwehrt, Programme in einer anderen Sprache als derjenigen des Mitgliedstaats, in dem die Anstalten ihren Sitz haben, über die Kabelnetze der Flämischen Gemeinschaft übertragen zu lassen.

6 Diese Behinderung ist nicht nur deswegen diskriminierend, weil sie, wie die belgische Regierung einräumt, nicht die in Belgien ansässigen Rundfunkanstalten trifft, sondern vor allem deshalb, weil sie den in anderen Mitgliedstaaten mit Ausnahme der Niederlande ansässigen Rundfunkanstalten die Möglichkeit nimmt, dem Publikum der Flämischen Gemeinschaft Programme in niederländischer Sprache anzubieten, während die inländischen Sender selbstverständlich diese Möglichkeit haben.

7 Die belgische Regierung beruft sich zur Rechtfertigung dieser Regelung auf kulturpolitische Ziele, nämlich die Aufrechterhaltung einer pluralistischen Presse, der die Werbeeinnahmen der staatlichen Fernsehanstalten unmittelbar zugute kommen, die Pflege und Entwicklung des künstlerischen Erbes sowie die Lebensfähigkeit der staatlichen Anstalten.

8 Diesem Vorbringen kann nicht gefolgt werden.

9 Das erste und das dritte von der belgischen Regierung angeführte kulturpolitische Ziel lassen erkennen, daß die streitige Regelung in Wirklichkeit bezweckt, den tatsächlichen Wettbewerb auf die inländischen Anstalten zu beschränken, um deren Werbeeinnahmen zu sichern. Was das Ziel der Pflege und Entwicklung des künstlerischen Erbes angeht, so genügt es, mit der Kommission darauf hinzuweisen, daß die streitige Regelung in Wirklichkeit die Nachfrage nach Fernsehproduktionen in niederländischer Sprache verringert.

10 íœberdies fallen die von der belgischen Regierung vorgebrachten Rechtfertigungsgründe unter keine der von Artikel 56 zugelassenen Ausnahmen vom Grundsatz des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs, nämlich Gründe der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit und Gesundheit.

11 Wie aus der ständigen Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes hervorgeht (vgl. namentlich das Urteil vom 25. Juli 1991 in der Rechtssache C-288/89, Collectieve Antennevorziening Gouda, Slg. 1991, I-4007), können sich die Beteiligten zur Rechtfertigung innerstaatlicher Regelungen, die nicht unterschiedslos auf alle Dienstleistungen ohne Rücksicht auf deren Herkunft anwendbar sind, nur auf diese Ausnahmen berufen.

12 Das Argument, das die belgische Regierung dem Urteil vom 3. Dezember 1974 in der Rechtssache 33/74 (Van Binsbergen, Slg. 1974, 1299) entnehmen zu können glaubt, nämlich daß der Erbringer einer Leistung sich nicht den Rechtsvorschriften entziehen könne, denen in dem Mitgliedstaat, auf den seine Tätigkeit ausgerichtet sei, ansässige Leistungserbringer unterworfen seien, greift nicht durch. Zwar trifft es zu, daß nach Randnummer 13 dieses Urteils der Bestimmungsstaat Maßnahmen treffen kann, um zu verhindern, daß die durch Artikel 59 EWG-Vertrag gewährleistete Freiheit von dem Erbringer einer Leistung, dessen Tätigkeit ganz oder hauptsächlich auf das Gebiet dieses Staates ausgerichtet ist, dazu genutzt wird, sich den Berufsregelungen zu entziehen, die für ihn gelten würden, wenn er im Gebiet des genannten Staates ansässig wäre; hieraus folgt jedoch nicht, daß es einem Mitgliedstaat gestattet wäre, ein allgemeines Verbot der Erbringung bestimmter Dienstleistungen durch in anderen Mitgliedstaaten ansässige Marktteilnehmer zu erlassen, da dies auf die Beseitigung des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs hinauslaufen würde.

13 Nach alledem ist die erste Rüge der Kommission begründet.

Zu den drei anderen Rügen

14 Wie die belgische Regierung selbst einräumt, standen die in der Flämischen Gemeinschaft anwendbaren Rechtsvorschriften bei Ablauf der in der mit Gründen versehenen Stellungnahme gesetzten Frist nicht im Einklang mit den Artikeln 59 und 60 EWG-Vertrag (zweite Rüge), den Artikeln 52 und 221 (dritte Rüge) und Artikel 59 (vierte Rüge).

15 Da somit auch diese drei Rügen begründet sind, ist der Vertragsverstoß den Anträgen der Kommission gemäß festzustellen.

Kostenentscheidung

 

Kosten

16 Nach Artikel 69 § 2 der Verfahrensordnung ist die unterliegende Partei zur Tragung der Kosten zu verurteilen. Da der Beklagte mit seinem Vorbringen unterlegen ist, sind ihm die Kosten des Verfahrens aufzuerlegen.

Tenor

 

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF

für Recht erkannt und entschieden:

1) Das Königreich Belgien hat, was die für die Flämische Gemeinschaft geltenden Rechtsvorschriften betrifft, gegen seine Verpflichtungen aus den Artikeln 52, 59, 60 und 221 EWG-Vertrag verstossen, indem es

° die íœbertragung von Fernsehprogrammen der Rundfunksender anderer Mitgliedstaaten über ein Verteilernetz für den Fall verbietet, daß die Sendung nicht in der Sprache oder einer der Sprachen desjenigen Mitgliedstaats erfolgt, in dem sich der Sender befindet;

° die íœbertragung von Fernsehprogrammen der nichtöffentlichen Rundfunksender anderer Mitgliedstaaten über ein Verteilernetz von einer vorherigen Genehmigung abhängig macht, an die Bedingungen geknüpft werden können;

° 51 % des Kapitals der nichtöffentlichen Fernsehgesellschaft, die sich an die gesamte Flämische Gemeinschaft wendet, den Verlegern von Tageszeitungen und Wochenzeitschriften niederländischer Sprache vorbehält, die ihren Firmensitz im niederländischen Sprachgebiet oder im zweisprachigen Gebiet Brüssel-Hauptstadt haben;

° den Begriff der kulturellen Eigenproduktionen, die obligatorischer Bestandteil der Programmgestaltung der nichtöffentlichen Fernsehgesellschaften sind, in diskriminierender Weise definiert.

2) Das Königreich Belgien trägt die Kosten des Verfahrens.