EuGH, Rs. C-109/92 v. 7.12.1993 - Wirth (english)


EuGH, Urteil vom 7.12.1993, Rs. C-109/92, Slg. 1993, I-6447 - Stephan Wirth / Landeshauptstadt Hanover


EWG Vertrag Art. 59, 60, 62

Summary

 

1. Courses given in an establishment of higher education which is financed essentially out of public funds do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the EEC Treaty.

Under the first paragraph of Article 60 of the Treaty, the chapter on services covers only services normally provided for remuneration. The essential characteristic of remuneration, which lies in the fact that it constitutes consideration for the service in question, is absent in the case of courses provided in an establishment of higher education which is financed out of public funds and where students pay only enrolment fees.

Conversely, courses given in an establishment of higher education which seeks to make an economic profit and which is financed essentially out of private funds, particularly out of payments made by students or their parents, do constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty.

2. Where the courses concerned are followed in an establishment whose activities do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty, Articles 59 and 62 of the Treaty do not preclude a Member State from amending its legislation on educational grants, after the entry into force of the Treaty, so that nationals who are resident in that State may claim a grant only if they pursue education or training within the State itself, where previously they could receive a grant for studies pursued in another Member State.

Parties

 

In Case C-109/92,

REFERENCE to the Court under Article 177 of the EC Treaty by the Verwaltungsgericht Hannover (Federal Republic of Germany) for a preliminary ruling in the proceedings pending before that court between

Stephan Max Wirth

and

Landeshauptstadt Hannover,

on the interpretation of the EEC Treaty and, in particular, Articles 59, 60 and 62 thereof,

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

composed of: J.C. Moitinho de Almeida, President of the Chamber, D.A.O. Edward and M. Zuleeg, Judges,

Advocate General: M. Darmon,

Registrar: H.A. Ruehl, Principal Administrator,

after considering the written observations submitted on behalf of:

the Federal Republic of Germany, by Ernst Roeder, Ministerialrat at the Federal Ministry of the Economy, acting as Agent,

the United Kingdom, by John E. Collins, Assistant Treasury Solicitor, acting as Agent, and Eleanor Sharpston, Barrister,

the Commission of the European Communities, by Juergen Grunwald, of its Legal Service, acting as Agent,

having regard to the Report for the Hearing,

after hearing the oral observations of Mr Wirth, represented by Helmut Vogt, Rechtsanwalt, Hameln, the United Kingdom and the Commission, at the hearing on 10 June 1993,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General at the sitting on 14 July 1993,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds

 

1 By order of 18 February 1992, received at the Court on 3 April 1992, the Verwaltungsgericht (Administrative Court) Hannover referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty, two questions on the interpretation of that Treaty and, in particular, Articles 59, 60 and 62 thereof.

2 These questions were raised in proceedings between Mr Wirth, a German national, and the Landeshauptstadt Hannover ( the defendant ), concerning educational grants.

3 It appears from the case that, at the material time, educational grants were governed, in Germany, by the Bundesausbildungsfoerderungsgesetz (Federal Law on grants for training and higher education, BAfoeG ) of 26 July 1971 (BGBl. I, p. 1409), as amended by the Zwoelftes Gesetz zur AEnderung des Bundesausbildungsfoerderungsgesetz (12th law amending the BAfoeG) of 22 May 1990 (BGBl. I, p. 936). Most provisions of the 12th law amending the BAfoeG, including those which relate to Paragraph 5 of the BAfoeG, came into force on 1 July 1990.

4 Paragraph 5(2) of the BAfoeG, as amended, provides inter alia that:

An educational grant is awarded to applicants who are permanently resident in the territory to which this Law applies and who study at an educational or training institute outside that territory provided that

1. their studies are beneficial in the light of their previous education and at least part of that education or training can be recognized as being of the requisite or normal length of the education or training,

2. the education or training cannot be pursued within the territory to which this Law applies, if it was undertaken prior to 1 July 1990

and provided that they have adequate linguistic knowledge. ...

5 On 31 August 1990, Mr Wirth, who was at that time living in Tettnang, Germany, applied for an educational grant under the BAfoeG to pursue a course in jazz saxophone at the Hoogeschool voor de Kunsten (Arts College) at Arnhem, in the Netherlands. To support this application, he explained that he had been obliged to pursue his training abroad, because there was no place available at a German establishment.

6 By a decision of 1 November 1990, the defendant rejected that application. It stated that, since the applicant was permanently resident in Germany, a grant for education abroad could only be awarded to him under Article 5(2) of the BAfoeG if it could be beneficial to him in the light of his previous education. That condition was not met in this case since the applicant was in the first term of his course.

7 Mr Wirth lodged an objection to that decision. He stated, inter alia, that he was permanently resident not in Germany but in the Netherlands, where he was studying, and that he was therefore entitled an educational grant under Paragraph 6 of the BAfoeG. Under that provision, a German national permanently resident in a foreign State can receive an educational grant if the particular circumstances of his case so justify. Mr Wirth considered that he had fulfilled that condition, since he had not been able to enrol in a German institution. By a decision of 5 February 1991, however, the Bezirksregierung (District Authority) Hannover rejected that claim.

8 On 8 March 1991, Mr Wirth appealed to the Verwaltungsgericht Sigmaringen. By a decision of 7 June 1991, that court held that it did not have jurisdiction and referred the case to the Verwaltungsgericht Hannover.

9 The latter court held that Mr Wirth was not entitled to a grant under the BAfoeG. Because he was permanently resident in Germany, he could not rely on Paragraph 6 of that Law. In addition, since he was beginning his course, he did not fulfil the condition imposed by Paragraph 5 of the BAfoeG, as amended.

10 However, the Verwaltungsgericht Hannover observed that until the 12th Law amending the BAfoeG came into force, such a grant could have been awarded to Mr Wirth. Under the previous version of that Law, it was enough for an educational grant to be awarded to a student wishing to study abroad that the education or training could not be pursued in Germany and that the applicant had adequate linguistic knowledge. Both of those conditions would have been fulfilled in this case.

11 In doubt as to whether the system of educational grants provided by the 12th Law amending the BAfoeG was compatible with Community law, the Verwaltungsgericht Hannover stayed the proceedings and referred the following questions to the Court for a preliminary ruling:

1. Does the pursuit of studies at an establishment of higher education in another Member State which charges fees for such studies constitute the receipt of a service within the meaning of Article 60 of the EEC Treaty which, according to Article 62 of the Treaty, may not be made subject to any new restrictions?

Do the rules set out in Paragraph 1(3)(a) of the 12th Law amending the Bundesausbildungsfoerderungsgesetz (Federal Law on grants for training and higher education) constitute a restriction within the meaning of Article 62 of the EEC Treaty?

2. Is it compatible with the general principle of equality

(a) for a Member State to award its nationals educational grants for the pursuit of higher education only if such studies are undertaken within the State itself, and not if they are pursued in another Member State?

(b) for a Member State which had previously awarded grants for higher education in another Member State to discontinue such grants irrespective of whether they give rise to additional costs?

12 Reference is made to the Report for the Hearing for a fuller account of the facts, the relevant German legislation, the procedure and the written observations submitted to the Court, which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court.

The first question

13 In the first part of its first question, the national court seeks to ascertain whether courses given in an establishment of higher education must be described as services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty.

14 It must first be borne in mind that under the first paragraph of Article 60 of the Treaty the chapter on services covers only services normally provided for remuneration.

15 As the Court has already emphasized in Case 263/86 Belgian State v Humbel [1988] ECR 5365, at paragraphs 17, 18 and 19, the essential characteristic of remuneration lies in the fact that it constitutes consideration for the service in question, and is normally agreed upon between the provider and the recipient of the service. In the same judgment the Court considered that such a characteristic is absent in the case of courses provided under the national education system. First of all, the State, in establishing and maintaining such a system, is not seeking to engage in gainful activity, but is fulfilling its duties towards its own population in the social, cultural and educational fields. Secondly, the system in question is, as a general rule, funded from the public purse and not by pupils or their parents. The Court added that the nature of the activity is not affected by the fact that pupils or their parents must sometimes pay teaching or enrolment fees in order to make a certain contribution to the operating expenses of the system.

16 Those considerations are equally applicable to courses given in an institute of higher education which is financed, essentially, out of public funds.

17 However, as the United Kingdom has observed, whilst most establishments of higher education are financed in this way, some are nevertheless financed essentially out of private funds, in particular by students or their parents, and which seek to make an economic profit. When courses are given in such establishments, they become services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty. Their aim is to offer a service for remuneration.

18 However, the wording of the question submitted by the national court refers solely to the case where an educational institution is financed out of public funds and only receives tuition fees (Gebuehren) from the students.

19 The answer to the first part of the first question must therefore be that courses given in an establishment of higher education which is financed essentially out of public funds do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the EEC Treaty.

20 In the second part of its first question, the national court wishes to ascertain whether Articles 59 or 62 of the Treaty preclude a Member State, after the entry into force of the Treaty, from introducing legislation under which nationals who are resident in that State may claim an educational grant only if they pursue their education or training within that State and not in another Member State, where the previous legislation did not impose such a condition.

21 It must be noted here that, since the establishment in question is not a provider of services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty, the application of Article 59 does not arise. The same is true of Article 62 of the Treaty, under which Member States are not to introduce any new restrictions on the freedom to provide services which has in fact been attained at the date of the entry into force of the Treaty. The Court has already held, in Case C-159/90 Society for the Protection of Unborn Children Ireland v Grogan [1991] ECR I-4685, paragraph 29, that Article 62, which is complementary to Article 59, cannot prohibit restrictions which do not fall within the scope of Article 59.

22 The answer to the second part of the first question must therefore be that neither Article 59 nor Article 62 precludes a system of educational grants for studies pursued in an establishment whose activities do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty.

The second question

23 In its second question, the national court seeks to establish whether the general principle of non-discrimination precludes a Member State from awarding educational grants to its nationals only if their studies are undertaken within the State itself, and not in another Member State, where in the past that Member State had awarded grants to its nationals who pursued their training outside the State.

24 This question presupposes that the Community law applies to the subject in question.

25 The Court has already held in particular in Case 39/86 Lair v Universitaet Hannover [1988] ECR 3161, which concerned a dispute about the award of an educational grant under the same national legislation as is at issue in the main proceedings, that at the present stage of development of Community law assistance given to students for maintenance and for training falls in principle outside the scope of the Treaty.

26 The second question, therefore, does not fall to be answered.

Decision on costs

 

Costs

27 The costs incurred by the German Government, the United Kingdom and the Commission of the European Communities, which have submitted observations to the Court, are not recoverable. Since these proceedings are, for the parties to the main proceedings, a step in the action pending before the national court, the decision on costs is a matter for that court.

Operative part

 

On those grounds,

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

in answer to the question referred to it by the Verwaltungsgericht Hannover, by order of 18 February 1992, hereby rules:

1. Courses given in an establishment of higher education which is financed essentially out of public funds do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the EEC Treaty.

2. Neither Article 59 nor Article 62 of the Treaty precludes a system of educational grants for studies pursued in an establishment whose activities do not constitute services within the meaning of Article 60 of the EEC Treaty.

EuGH, Rs. C-109/92 v. 7.12.1993 - Wirth


EuGH, Urteil vom 7.12.1993, Rs. C-109/92, Slg. 1993, I-6447 - Stephan Wirth / Landeshauptstadt Hanover


EWG Vertrag Art. 59, 60, 62

Leitsätze

 

1. Der Unterricht an einer Hochschule, die im wesentlichen aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird, stellt keine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 des Vertrages dar.

Unter das Kapitel über Dienstleistungen fallen nach Artikel 60 Absatz 1 des Vertrages nämlich nur Leistungen, die in der Regel gegen Entgelt erbracht werden. Das Wesensmerkmal des Entgelts, das darin besteht, daß es die wirtschaftliche Gegenleistung für die betreffende Leistung darstellt, fehlt aber bei einem Unterricht, der an einer Hochschule erteilt wird, die aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird und von den Studenten nur Gebühren erhält.

Dagegen stellt Unterricht, der an Hochschulen erteilt wird, die einen Gewinn zu erzielen suchen und die im wesentlichen aus privaten Mitteln, insbesondere aus den von den Studenten oder deren Eltern geforderten Entgelten, finanziert werden, eine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 des Vertrages dar.

2. Soweit es um Studien in einer Einrichtung geht, deren Tätigkeiten keine Dienstleistungen im Sinne von Artikel 60 des Vertrages darstellen, verwehren die Artikel 59 und 62 des Vertrages es einem Mitgliedstaat nicht, nach dem Inkrafttreten des Vertrages sein Ausbildungsförderungsrecht in der Weise zu ändern, daß seine im Inland wohnenden Staatsangehörigen eine Förderung nur beanspruchen können, wenn ihre Ausbildung im Inland erfolgt, während sie vorher Ausbildungsförderung für ein Studium im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats erhalten konnten.

Entscheidungsgründe

 

1 Das Verwaltungsgericht Hannover hat mit Beschluß vom 18. Februar 1992, beim Gerichtshof eingegangen am 3. April 1992, gemäß Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag zwei Fragen nach der Auslegung des EWG-Vertrags, insbesondere der Artikel 59, 60 und 62 dieses Vertrages, zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt.

2 Diese Fragen stellen sich in einem Rechtsstreit zwischen dem deutschen Staatsangehörigen Stephan Max Wirth (im folgenden: Kläger) und der Landeshauptstadt Hannover (im folgenden: Beklagte) über die Gewährung von Ausbildungsförderung.

3 Aus den Akten geht hervor, daß die Ausbildungsförderung in Deutschland zur maßgeblichen Zeit im Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz (BAföG) vom 26. Juli 1971 (BGBl I S. 1409) in der Fassung des Zwölften Gesetzes zur Änderung des Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetzes vom 22. Mai 1990 (BGBl I S. 936) geregelt war. Die meisten Vorschriften des Zwölften Gesetzes zur Änderung des BAföG einschließlich der Vorschriften, die sich auf § 5 BAföG beziehen, sind am 1. Juli 1990 in Kraft getreten.

4 § 5 Absatz 2 BAföG in der geänderten Fassung bestimmt u. a.:

"Auszubildenden, die ihren ständigen Wohnsitz im Geltungsbereich dieses Gesetzes haben, wird Ausbildungsförderung geleistet für den Besuch einer ausserhalb des Geltungsbereichs dieses Gesetzes gelegenen Ausbildungsstätte, wenn

1. er der Ausbildung nach dem Ausbildungsstand förderlich ist und zumindest einen Teil dieser Ausbildung auf die vorgeschriebene oder übliche Ausbildungszeit angerechnet werden kann oder

2. die Ausbildung im Geltungsbereich dieses Gesetzes nicht durchgeführt werden kann, sie vor dem 1. Juli 1990 aufgenommen wurde

und ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse vorhanden sind."

5 Am 31. August 1990 beantragte der seinerzeit in Tettnang in Deutschland wohnende Kläger die Gewährung von Ausbildungsförderung für ein Studium in der Fachrichtung Jazz-Saxophon an der Hoogeschool Voor De Kunsten in Arnheim in den Niederlanden. Zur Begründung dieses Antrags gab er an, daß er die Ausbildung im Ausland durchführen müsse, weil er keinen Studienplatz an einer deutschen Hochschule bekommen habe.

6 Mit Bescheid vom 1. November 1990 lehnte die Beklagte diesen Antrag ab. Sie stellte fest, da der Kläger seinen ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland habe, könne ihm Ausbildungsförderung für eine Ausbildung im Ausland nach § 5 Absatz 2 BAföG nur dann gewährt werden, wenn diese nach dem Ausbildungsstand förderlich sei. Dies sei im vorliegenden Fall nicht gegeben, weil der Kläger sich im ersten Studiensemester befinde.

7 Der Kläger legte gegen diesen Bescheid Widerspruch ein. Er machte u. a. geltend, daß er seinen ständigen Wohnsitz nicht in Deutschland, sondern in den Niederlanden habe, wo er studiere, und daß er daher Anspruch auf Ausbildungsförderung nach § 6 BAföG habe. Nach dieser Vorschrift könne ein Deutscher, der seinen ständigen Wohnsitz im Ausland habe, Ausbildungsförderung erhalten, wenn die besonderen Umstände des Einzelfalles dies rechtfertigten. Diese Voraussetzung sei im vorliegenden Fall erfuellt, da er sich nicht an einer deutschen Hochschule habe einschreiben können. Mit Bescheid vom 5. Februar 1991 wies die Bezirksregierung Hannover diesen Widerspruch jedoch zurück.

8 Am 8. März 1991 erhob der Kläger Klage beim Verwaltungsgericht Sigmaringen. Mit Beschluß vom 7. Juni 1991 hat dieses Gericht sich für unzuständig erklärt und die Rechtssache an das Verwaltungsgericht Hannover verwiesen.

9 Dieses Gericht hat festgestellt, daß der Kläger keinen Anspruch auf Ausbildungsförderung nach dem BAföG habe. Zum einen habe er seinen ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland und könne sich nicht auf § 6 BAföG berufen. Zum anderen habe er, als er seinen Studiengang begonnen habe, die Voraussetzung des § 5 BAföG in der geänderten Fassung nicht erfuellt.

10 Das Verwaltungsgericht Hannover hat jedoch ausgeführt, bis zum Inkrafttreten des Zwölften Gesetzes zur Änderung des BAföG hätte dem Kläger Ausbildungsförderung gewährt werden können. Nach der alten Fassung dieses Gesetzes habe es nämlich für die Gewährung von Ausbildungsförderung an einen Studenten, der im Ausland habe studieren wollen, genügt, daß diese Ausbildung nicht in Deutschland habe durchgeführt werden können und daß der Betroffene über ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse verfügt habe. Diese beiden Voraussetzungen seien im vorliegenden Fall erfuellt gewesen.

11 Das Verwaltungsgericht Hannover hat Zweifel daran, ob die im Zwölften Gesetz zur Änderung des BAföG vorgesehene Regelung der Ausbildungsförderung mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht vereinbar ist; es hat daher das Verfahren ausgesetzt und folgende Fragen zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt:

1) Handelt es sich bei dem Studium an der Hochschule eines anderen Mitgliedstaats, die dafür Gebühren erhebt, um die Inanspruchnahme einer Dienstleistung im Sinne des Artikels 60 EWG-Vertrag, die gemäß Artikel 62 EWG-Vertrag keinen neuen Beschränkungen unterworfen werden darf?

Stellt sich gegebenenfalls die Regelung des Artikels 1 Nr. 3a des Zwölften Gesetzes zur Änderung des Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetzes als Beschränkung im Sinne des Artikels 62 EWG-Vertrag dar?

2) Ist es mit dem allgemeinen Gleichheitssatz vereinbar, z. B. wenn ein Mitgliedstaat Ausbildungsförderungsleistungen für die Durchführung eines Hochschulstudiums seinen Staatsangehörigen nur dann gewährt, wenn dieses im Inland, nicht aber wenn es in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat durchgeführt wird;

2.2) wenn ein Mitgliedstaat, der bislang für eine Hochschulausbildung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat Ausbildungsförderung gewährt hat, diese Förderung unabhängig davon beseitigt, ob dadurch Mehrkosten verursacht werden?

12 Wegen weiterer Einzelheiten des Sachverhalts des Ausgangsverfahrens, der anwendbaren deutschen Rechtsvorschriften, des Verfahrensablaufs sowie der beim Gerichtshof eingereichten schriftlichen Erklärungen wird auf den Sitzungsbericht verwiesen. Der Akteninhalt wird im folgenden nur insoweit wiedergegeben, als die Begründung des Urteils dies erfordert.

Zur ersten Frage

13 Der erste Teil der ersten Frage des vorlegenden Gerichts geht dahin, ob der an einer Hochschule erteilte Unterricht als Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag anzusehen ist.

14 Vorab ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß unter das Kapitel über Dienstleistungen nach Artikel 60 Absatz 1 EWG-Vertrag nur Leistungen fallen, die in der Regel gegen Entgelt erbracht werden.

15 Wie der Gerichtshof bereits im Urteil vom 27. September 1988 in der Rechtssache 263/86 (Humbel, Slg. 1988, 5365, Randnrn. 17 bis 19) festgestellt hat, besteht das Wesensmerkmal des Entgelts darin, daß es die wirtschaftliche Gegenleistung für die betreffende Leistung darstellt, wobei die Gegenleistung in der Regel zwischen dem Erbringer und dem Empfänger der Leistung vereinbart wird. In demselben Urteil hat der Gerichtshof entschieden, daß dieses Merkmal bei einem im Rahmen des nationalen Bildungssystems erteilten Unterricht fehlt. Zum einen will der Staat durch die Errichtung und Erhaltung eines solchen Systems keine gewinnbringende Tätigkeit aufnehmen; vielmehr erfuellt er dadurch auf sozialem, kulturellem und bildungspolitischem Gebiet seine Aufgaben gegenüber seinen Bürgern. Zum anderen wird dieses System in der Regel aus dem Staatshaushalt und nicht von den Schülern oder ihren Eltern finanziert. Der Gerichtshof hat hinzugefügt, daß sich an der Natur dieser Tätigkeit dadurch nichts ändere, daß die Schüler oder ihre Eltern manchmal Gebühren oder ein Schulgeld zahlen müssten, um in gewissem Umfang zu den Kosten für die Erhaltung der Funktionsfähigkeit des Systems beizutragen.

16 Diese Erwägungen gelten auch für den Unterricht an einer Hochschule, die im wesentlichen aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird.

17 Wie aber das Vereinigte Königreich in seinen Erklärungen vorgetragen hat, werden zwar die meisten Hochschulen auf diese Weise finanziert, es gibt jedoch Hochschulen, die im wesentlichen aus privaten Mitteln, insbesondere durch die Studenten oder deren Eltern, finanziert werden und einen Gewinn zu erzielen suchen. Wird der Unterricht in derartigen Einrichtungen erteilt, so wird er zur Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag. Das von diesen Einrichtungen verfolgte Ziel besteht nämlich darin, eine Leistung gegen Entgelt anzubieten.

18 Aus dem Wortlaut der Vorlagefrage ergibt sich jedoch, daß sich das vorlegende Gericht nur auf den Fall bezieht, daß die Hochschule aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird und von den Studenten nur Gebühren erhält.

19 Auf den ersten Teil der ersten Frage ist daher zu antworten, daß der Unterricht an einer Hochschule, die im wesentlichen aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird, keine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag darstellt.

20 Der zweite Teil der ersten Frage des vorlegenden Gerichts geht dahin, ob die Artikel 59 oder 62 EWG-Vertrag dem entgegenstehen, daß ein Mitgliedstaat nach dem Inkrafttreten des Vertrages eine Regelung erlässt, wonach seine im Inland wohnenden Staatsangehörigen Ausbildungsförderung nur beanspruchen können, wenn die Ausbildung im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Staates und nicht im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats erfolgt, während die vorher geltende Regelung keine solche Voraussetzung vorsah.

21 In diesem Zusammenhang ist festzustellen, daß sich die Frage der Anwendung des Artikels 59 nicht stellt, da die betroffene Einrichtung kein Erbringer von Dienstleistungen im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag ist. Das gleiche gilt für Artikel 62 EWG-Vertrag, wonach die Mitgliedstaaten die bei Inkrafttreten des Vertrages tatsächlich erreichte Freiheit des Dienstleistungsverkehrs keinen neuen Beschränkungen unterwerfen dürfen. Wie der Gerichtshof nämlich bereits im Urteil vom 4. Oktober 1991 in der Rechtssache C-159/90 (Society for the Protection of Unborn Children Ireland, Slg. 1991, I-4685, Randnr. 29) entschieden hat, kann diese Vorschrift, die eine Ergänzung zu Artikel 59 darstellt, keine Beschränkungen verbieten, die nicht in den Geltungsbereich des Artikels 59 fallen.

22 Auf den zweiten Teil der ersten Vorlagefrage ist daher zu antworten, daß weder Artikel 59 noch Artikel 62 einer Ausbildungsförderungsregelung entgegensteht, soweit es um ein Studium an einer Einrichtung geht, deren Tätigkeit keine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag darstellt.

Zur zweiten Frage

23 Die zweite Frage des vorlegenden Gerichts geht dahin, ob das allgemeine Diskriminierungsverbot dem entgegensteht, daß ein Mitgliedstaat seinen Staatsangehörigen Ausbildungsförderungsleistungen nur dann gewährt, wenn sie ihr Studium im Inland und nicht in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat durchführen, obwohl er in der Vergangenheit seinen Staatsangehörigen, die ihr Studium im Ausland durchführten, Ausbildungsförderung gewährt hat.

24 Diese Frage setzt voraus, daß das Gemeinschaftsrecht auf die betroffene Materie anwendbar ist.

25 Wie der Gerichtshof aber insbesondere im Urteil vom 21. Juni 1988 in der Rechtssache 39/86 (Lair/Universität Hannover, Slg. 1988, 3161, Randnr. 15) ° in einem Rechtsstreit über die Gewährung von Ausbildungsförderung nach den nationalen Rechtsvorschriften, um die es auch im Ausgangsverfahren geht °, bereits festgestellt hat, liegt eine Förderung, die Studenten für den Lebensunterhalt und die Ausbildung gewährt wird, beim gegenwärtigen Stand des Gemeinschaftsrechts grundsätzlich ausserhalb des Anwendungsbereichs des EWG-Vertrags.

26 Die zweite Frage braucht somit nicht beantwortet zu werden.

Kostenentscheidung

 

Kosten

27 Die Auslagen der deutschen Regierung, der Regierung des Vereinigten Königreichs und der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, die vor dem Gerichtshof Erklärungen abgegeben haben, sind nicht erstattungsfähig. Für die Parteien des Ausgangsverfahrens ist das Verfahren ein Zwischenstreit in dem bei dem vorlegenden Gericht anhängigen Rechtsstreit; die Kostenentscheidung ist daher Sache dieses Gerichts.

Tenor

 

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF (Fünfte Kammer)

auf die ihm vom Verwaltungsgericht Hannover mit Beschluß vom 18. Februar 1992 vorgelegten Fragen für Recht erkannt:

1) Der Unterricht an einer Hochschule, die im wesentlichen aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird, stellt keine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag dar.

2) Weder Artikel 59 noch Artikel 62 EWG-Vertrag steht einer Ausbildungsförderungsregelung entgegen, soweit es um ein Studium an einer Einrichtung geht, deren Tätigkeit keine Dienstleistung im Sinne von Artikel 60 EWG-Vertrag darstellt.