EuGH, Rs. 52/79 v. 18.3.1980 - Debauve (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 18.3.1980, Rs. 52/79, Slg. 1980, 833 - Strafverfahren gegen Marc J. V. C. Debauve


EWG-Vertrag Art. 59, 60

Summary

 

1 . THE BROADCASTING OF TELEVISION SIGNALS , INCLUDING THOSE IN THE NATURE OF ADVERTISEMENTS , COMES , AS SUCH , WITHIN THE RULES OF THE TREATY RELATING TO SERVICES . THE SAME IS TRUE OF THE TRANSMISSION OF SUCH SIGNALS BY CABLE TELEVISION .

2 . THE PROVISIONS OF THE EEC TREATY ON FREEDOM TO PROVIDE SERVICES CANNOT APPLY TO ACTIVITIES WHOSE RELEVANT ELEMENTS ARE CONFINED WITHIN A SINGLE MEMBER STATE . WHETHER THAT IS THE CASE DEPENDS ON FINDINGS OF FACT WHICH ARE FOR THE NATIONAL COURT TO ESTABLISH .

3 . ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE EEC TREATY DO NOT PRECLUDE NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION - AS THEY PROHIBIT THE BROADCASTING OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY TELEVISION - IF THOSE RULES ARE APPLIED WITHOUT DISTINCTION AS REGARDS THE ORIGIN , WHETHER NATIONAL OR FOREIGN , OF THOSE ADVERTISEMENTS , THE NATIONALITY OF THE PERSON PROVIDING THE SERVICE , OR THE PLACE WHERE HE IS ESTABLISHED .

INDEED , IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY HARMONIZATION OF THE RELEVANT NATIONAL LAWS , A PROHIBITION OF THIS TYPE FALLS WITHIN THE RESIDUAL POWER OF EACH MEMBER STATE TO REGULATE , RESTRICT OR EVEN TOTALLY PROHIBIT TELEVISION ADVERTISING IN ITS TERRITORY ON GROUNDS OF GENERAL INTEREST , EVEN IF THAT PROHIBITION EXTENDS TO SUCH ADVERTISING ORIGINATING IN ANOTHER MEMBER STATE .

4 . NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION BY CABLE TELEVISION OF ADVERTISEMENTS CANNOT BE REGARDED AS CONSTITUTING EITHER A DISPROPORTIONATE MEASURE IN RELATION TO THE OBJECTIVE TO BE ACHIEVED , IN THAT THE PROHIBITION IN QUESTION IS RELATIVELY INEFFECTIVE IN VIEW OF THE EXISTENCE OF NATURAL RECEPTION ZONES , OR DISCRIMINATION WHICH IS PROHIBITED BY THE TREATY IN REGARD TO FOREIGN BROADCASTERS , IN THAT THEIR GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION ALLOWS THEM TO BROADCAST THEIR SIGNALS ONLY IN THE NATURAL RECEPTION ZONE .

5 . DIFFERENCES IN SITUATION , WHICH ARE DUE TO NATURAL PHENOMENA , CANNOT BE DESCRIBED AS ' ' DISCRIMINATION ' ' WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE EEC TREATY ; THE LATTER REGARDS ONLY DIFFERENCES IN TREATMENT ARISING FROM HUMAN ACTIVITY , AND ESPECIALLY FROM MEASURES TAKEN BY PUBLIC AUTHORITIES , AS DISCRIMINATION . THE COMMUNITY HAS NO DUTY TO TAKE STEPS TO ERADICATE DIFFERENCES WHICH ARE THE CONSEQUENCE OF NATURAL INEQUALITIES .

Parties

 

IN CASE 52/79

REFERENCE TO THE COURT UNDER ARTICLE 177 OF THE EEC TREATY BY THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL ( CRIMINAL COURT ) OF LIEGE FOR A PRELIMINARY RULING IN THE PROCEEDINGS PENDING BEFORE THAT COURT BETWEEN

PROCUREUR DU ROI ( DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC PROSECUTIONS )

AND

MARC J . V . C . DEBAUVE , LIEGE ,

PAUL H . A . G . DENUIT , GREZ-DOICEAU ,

HENRI J . PH . M . LOHEST , LIEGE ,

S.A . CODITEL , LIEGE ,

ASSOCIATION LIEGEOISE D ' ELECTRICITE ( A.L.E .), LIEGE ,

APPELLANT CIVIL PARTIES :

FEDERATION NATIONALE DU MOUVEMENT COOPERATIF FEMININ , A NON-PROFIT MAKING CONSUMER ASSOCIATION , BRUSSELS ,

FEDERATION BELGE DES COOPERATIVES ( ' ' FEBECOOP ' ' ), A NON-PROFIT MAKING BODY , BRUSSELS ,

VIE FEMININE , A NON-PROFIT MAKING BODY , BRUSSELS ,

RADIO TELEVISION BELGE DE LA COMMUNAUTE FRANCAISE ( RTBF ), BRUSSELS ,

FRANCOISE VANDER BEMDEN AND OTHERS ,

Subject of the case

 

ON THE INTERPRETATION OF ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE EEC TREATY ,

Grounds

 

1 BY A JUDGMENT OF 23 FEBRUARY 1979 , WHICH WAS RECEIVED AT THE COURT ON 3 APRIL 1979 , THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL , LIEGE , REFERRED TWO QUESTIONS UNDER ARTICLE 177 OF THE EEC TREATY FOR A PRELIMINARY RULING ON THE INTERPRETATION OF ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY WITH REGARD TO CERTAIN PROBLEMS CONCERNING THE TRANSMISSION OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION DISTRIBUTORS .

2 THOSE QUESTIONS HAVE ARISEN OUT OF CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS BROUGHT BEFORE THE TRIBUNAL DE POLICE , LIEGE , AGAINST THREE PERSONS FOR INFRINGEMENT OF A PROHIBITION ON THE TRANSMISSION OF TELEVISION BROADCASTS IN THE NATURE OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING AND IMPLICATING TWO BELGIAN COMPANIES , VICARIOUSLY LIABLE IN CIVIL LAW FOR THE THREE ACCUSED , WHO ARE OFFICERS OF THOSE COMPANIES . THOSE PROCEEDINGS WERE BEGUN ON THE PARTICULAR INITIATIVE OF THREE ASSOCIATIONS REPRESENTING CONSUMERS OR CULTURAL INTERESTS AND BY A CERTAIN NUMBER OF NATURAL PERSONS WHO INTERVENED AS CIVIL PARTIES BEFORE THE TRIBUNAL DE POLICE . WHEN THAT COURT ACQUITTED THE ACCUSED AND THE COMPANIES LIABLE IN CIVIL LAW , THE THREE ASSOCIATIONS AND CERTAIN OTHER CIVIL PARTIES AS WELL AS THE MINISTERE PUBLIC APPEALED TO THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL .

3 IT IS APPARENT FROM THE FILE THAT THE TWO COMPANIES IN QUESTION PROVIDE , WITH THE AUTHORITY OF THE BELGIAN ADMINISTRATION , A CABLE TELEVISION DIFFUSION SERVICE COVERING PART OF BELGIUM . TELEVISION SETS BELONGING TO SUBSCRIBERS TO THE SERVICE ARE LINKED BY CABLE TO A CENTRAL AERIAL HAVING SPECIAL TECHNICAL FEATURES WHICH ENABLE BELGIAN BROADCASTS TO BE PICKED UP AS WELL AS CERTAIN FOREIGN BROADCASTS WHICH THE SUBSCRIBERS CANNOT ALWAYS RECEIVE WITH A PRIVATE AERIAL , AND WHICH FURTHERMORE IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF THE PICTURES AND SOUND RECEIVED BY THE SUBSCRIBERS .

4 THE PROSECUTIONS RELATE TO THE DIFFUSION IN BELGIUM BY MEANS OF THE SYSTEM OF CABLE TELEVISION INSTALLED THERE OF BROADCASTS EFFECTED BY BROADCASTING STATIONS ESTABLISHED OUTSIDE BELGIUM TO THE EXTENT TO WHICH THEY CONTAIN COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING MATERIAL . BELGIAN LEGISLATION PROHIBITS NATIONAL RADIO AND TELEVISION BROADCASTING ORGANIZATIONS , WHICH HAVE A LEGAL MONOPOLY ON BROADCASTING , FROM MAKING BROADCASTS IN THE NATURE OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING . IN REGARD TO CABLE TELEVISION , ARTICLE 21 OF THE ROYAL DECREE OF 24 DECEMBER 1966 ( MONITEUR BELGE OF 24 JANUARY 1967 ) ALSO PROHIBITS THE TRANSMISSION OF BROADCASTS IN THE NATURE OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING .

5 THE JUDGMENT MAKING THE REFERENCE STATES THAT IN PRACTICE CABLE TELEVISION DISTRIBUTORS HAVE DISREGARDED THAT PROHIBITION AND HAVE TRANSMITTED FOREIGN PROGRAMMES WITHOUT EXCISING ADVERTISEMENTS ; THIS PRACTICE HAS BEEN TOLERATED BY THE BELGIAN GOVERNMENT , WHICH HAS NOT IMPOSED ANY PENALTY OR WITHDRAWN ANY AUTHORIZATIONS ; IT ALSO STATES THAT A LARGE NUMBER OF BELGIAN TELEVISION VIEWERS CAN PICK UP FOREIGN PROGRAMMES WITHOUT THE HELP OF THE RELAY SYSTEMS SET UP BY THE CABLE TELEVISION DIFFUSION COMPANIES .

6 IT IS IN THE LIGHT OF THOSE FACTUAL CIRCUMSTANCES THAT THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL HAS FORMULATED ITS QUESTIONS RELATING TO ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY . IT BELIEVES THAT THE APPLICATION OF THE PROHIBITION IN QUESTION MIGHT HAVE AN AFFECT UPON THE FREEDOM TO PROVIDE SERVICES AT THE COMMUNITY LEVEL . IN FACT , ACCORDING TO THE TRIBUNAL , FOREIGN BROADCASTING ORGANIZATIONS DERIVE AN APPRECIABLE PART OF THEIR REVENUE FROM ADVERTISING PLACED WITH THEM BY ADVERTISERS SO THAT THE EXCISION OF ADVERTISEMENTS IN BELGIUM MIGHT CAUSE THOSE ADVERTISERS TO RESTRICT OR DISCONTINUE THEIR COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING ; FURTHERMORE , ADVERTISERS , WHETHER TRADERS OR MANUFACTURERS , ESTABLISHED IN NEIGHBOURING COUNTRIES WOULD OBTAIN A MORE RESTRICTED COVERAGE OF THE BELGIAN MARKET TO WHICH THEY HITHERTO DIRECTED THEIR ADVERTISING AND ON WHICH THEY OFFERED THEIR SERVICES .

7 THE QUESTIONS ASKED BY THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL ARE WORDED AS FOLLOWS :

' ' 1 . HAVING REGARD TO THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF JUSTICE OF 30 APRIL 1974 IN CASE 155/73 , SACCHI , MUST ARTICLE 59 OF THE TREATY OF ROME BE INTERPRETED AS PROHIBITING ALL NATIONAL RULES WHICH PROHIBIT THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION DISTRIBUTION COMPANIES EVEN THOUGH IT IS STILL POSSIBLE AND LAWFUL TO RECEIVE SUCH ADVERTISEMENTS NATURALLY WITHIN THE RECEIVING ZONES OF FOREIGN BROADCASTING STATIONS , HAVING REGARD IN PARTICULAR TO THE FACT THAT :

( A ) SUCH RULES WOULD INTRODUCE DISCRIMINATION BASED ON THE GEOGRAPHICAL LOCALITY OF THE FOREIGN BROADCASTING STATION WHICH WOULD BE ABLE TO TRANSMIT ADVERTISEMENTS ONLY WITHIN ITS NATURAL RECEIVING ZONE , AS THOSE ZONES MAY , BECAUSE OF THE DIFFERENCES IN DENSITY OF POPULATION , BE OF VERY DIFFERENT INTEREST FROM AN ADVERTISING POINT OF VIEW ,

( B)SUCH RULES WOULD INTRODUCE A RESTRICTION DISPROPORTIONATE TO THE OBJECTIVE IN VIEW BECAUSE THAT OBJECTIVE - IN OTHER WORDS , A PROHIBITION ON TELEVISION ADVERTISING - COULD NEVER BE WHOLLY ACHIEVED BECAUSE OF THE EXISTENCE OF THE NATURAL RECEIVING ZONES ;

2.HAVING REGARD TO THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF JUSTICE OF 3 DECEMBER 1974 IN CASE 33/74 , VAN BINSBERGEN , MUST ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY OF ROME BE INTERPRETED AS HAVING DIRECT EFFECT AGAINST ALL NATIONAL RULES IN SO FAR AS SUCH RULES DO NOT CREATE ANY FORMAL DISCRIMINATION AGAINST THE PERSON PROVIDING SERVICES ON THE GROUND OF HIS NATIONALITY OR OF HIS PLACE OF RESIDENCE ( IN THE PRESENT INSTANCE , THE PROHIBITION ON RETRANSMITTING ADVERTISEMENTS)?

' '

8 BEFORE EXAMINING THOSE QUESTIONS THE COURT RECALLS THAT IT HAS ALREADY RULED IN ITS JUDGMENT OF 30 APRIL 1974 ( CASE 155/73 , SACCHI , ( 1974 ) ECR 490 ) THAT THE BROADCASTING OF TELEVISION SIGNALS , INCLUDING THOSE IN THE NATURE OF ADVERTISEMENTS , COMES , AS SUCH , WITHIN THE RULES OF THE TREATY RELATING TO SERVICES . THERE IS NO REASON TO TREAT THE TRANSMISSION OF SUCH SIGNALS BY CABLE TELEVISION ANY DIFFERENTLY .

9 HOWEVER , IT SHOULD BE OBSERVED THAT THE PROVISIONS OF THE TREATY ON FREEDOM TO PROVIDE SERVICES CANNOT APPLY TO ACTIVITIES WHOSE RELEVANT ELEMENTS ARE CONFINED WITHIN A SINGLE MEMBER STATE . WHETHER THAT IS THE CASE DEPENDS ON FINDINGS OF FACT WHICH ARE FOR THE NATIONAL COURT TO ESTABLISH . SINCE THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL HAS CONCLUDED THAT IN THE GIVEN CIRCUMSTANCES OF THIS CASE THE SERVICES OUT OF WHICH THE PROSECUTIONS BROUGHT BEFORE IT AROSE ARE SUCH AS TO COME UNDER PROVISIONS OF THE TREATY RELATING TO SERVICES , THE QUESTIONS REFERRED TO THE COURT SHOULD BE EXAMINED FROM THE SAME POINT OF VIEW .

10 THE CENTRAL QUESTION RAISED BY THE NATIONAL COURT IS WHETHER ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY MUST BE INTERPRETED AS PROHIBITING ALL NATIONAL RULES AGAINST THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION TO THE EXTENT TO WHICH SUCH RULES DO NOT MAKE ANY DISTINCTION BASED ON THE ORIGIN OF THE ADVERTISEMENTS , THE NATIONALITY OF THE PERSON PROVIDING THE SERVICES OR HIS PLACE OF ESTABLISHMENT .

11 ACCORDING TO THE FIRST PARAGRAPH OF ARTICLE 59 OF THE TREATY RESTRICTIONS ON FREEDOM TO PROVIDE SERVICES WITHIN THE COMMUNITY SHALL BE PROGRESSIVELY ABOLISHED DURING THE TRANSITIONAL PERIOD IN RESPECT OF NATIONALS OF MEMBER STATES OF THE COMMUNITY . THE STRICT REQUIREMENTS OF THAT PROVISION INVOLVE THE ABOLITION OF ALL DISCRIMINATION AGAINST A PROVIDER OF SERVICES ON THE GROUNDS OF HIS NATIONALITY OR OF THE FACT THAT HE IS ESTABLISHED IN A MEMBER STATE OTHER THAN THAT WHERE THE SERVICE IS TO BE PROVIDED .

12 IN VIEW OF THE PARTICULAR NATURE OF CERTAIN SERVICES SUCH AS THE BROADCASTING AND TRANSMISSION OF TELEVISION SIGNALS , SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS IMPOSED UPON PROVIDERS OF SERVICES WHICH ARE FOUNDED UPON THE APPLICATION OF RULES REGULATING CERTAIN TYPES OF ACTIVITY AND WHICH ARE JUSTIFIED BY THE GENERAL INTEREST AND APPLY TO ALL PERSONS AND UNDERTAKINGS ESTABLISHED WITHIN THE TERRITORY OF THE SAID MEMBER STATE CANNOT BE SAID TO BE INCOMPATIBLE WITH THE TREATY TO THE EXTENT TO WHICH A PROVIDER OF SERVICES ESTABLISHED IN ANOTHER MEMBER STATE IS NOT SUBJECT TO SIMILAR REGULATIONS THERE .

13 FROM INFORMATION GIVEN TO THE COURT DURING THESE PROCEEDINGS IT APPEARS THAT THE TELEVISION BROADCASTING OF ADVERTISEMENTS IS SUBJECT TO WIDELY DIVERGENT SYSTEMS OF LAW IN THE VARIOUS MEMBER STATES , PASSING FROM ALMOST TOTAL PROHIBITION , AS IN BELGIUM , BY WAY OF RULES COMPRISING MORE OR LESS STRICT RESTRICTIONS , TO SYSTEMS AFFORDING BROAD COMMERCIAL FREEDOM . IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY APPROXIMATION OF NATIONAL LAWS AND TAKING INTO ACCOUNT THE CONSIDERATIONS OF GENERAL INTEREST UNDERLYING THE RESTRICTIVE RULES THIS AREA , THE APPLICATION OF THE LAWS IN QUESTION CANNOT BE REGARDED AS A RESTRICTION UPON FREEDOM TO PROVIDE SERVICES SO LONG AS THOSE LAWS TREAT ALL SUCH SERVICES IDENTICALLY WHATEVER THEIR ORIGIN OR THE NATIONALITY OR PLACE OF ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PERSONS PROVIDING THEM .

14 A PROHIBITION OF THE TYPE CONTAINED IN THE BELGIAN LEGISLATION REFERRED TO BY THE NATIONAL COURT SHOULD BE JUDGED IN THE LIGHT OF THOSE CONSIDERATIONS . IT MUST BE STRESSED THAT THE PROHIBITION ON THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION CONTAINED IN THE ROYAL DECREE REFERRED TO ABOVE CANNOT BE EXAMINED IN ISOLATION . A REVIEW OF ALL THE BELGIAN LEGISLATION ON BROADCASTING SHOWS THAT THAT PROHIBITION IS THE COROLLARY OF THE BAN ON THE BROADCASTING OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISEMENTS IMPOSED ON THE BELGIAN BROADCASTING ORGANIZATIONS . THIS IS ALSO THE WAY IN WHICH THE JUDGMENT MAKING THE REFERENCE SETS OUT THE RELEVANT LEGISLATION , INDICATING THAT THE ROYAL DECREE PROHIBITS THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN CONFORMITY WITH THE SCHEME IMPOSED ON THE NATIONAL BROADCASTING ORGANIZATIONS .

15 IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY HARMONIZATION OF THE RELEVANT RULES , A PROHIBITION OF THIS TYPE FALLS WITHIN THE RESIDUAL POWER OF EACH MEMBER STATE TO REGULATE , RESTRICT OR EVEN TOTALLY PROHIBIT TELEVISION ADVERTISING ON ITS TERRITORY ON GROUNDS OF GENERAL INTEREST . THE POSITION IS NOT ALTERED BY THE FACT THAT SUCH RESTRICTIONS OR PROHIBITIONS EXTEND TO TELEVISION ADVERTISING ORIGINATING IN OTHER MEMBER STATES IN SO FAR AS THEY ARE ACTUALLY APPLIED ON THE SAME TERMS TO NATIONAL TELEVISION ORGANIZATIONS .

16 THE ANSWER MUST THEREFORE BE THAT ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY DO NOT PRECLUDE NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION - AS THEY PROHIBIT THE BROADCASTING OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY TELEVISION - IF THOSE RULES ARE APPLIED WITHOUT DISTINCTION AS REGARDS THE ORIGIN , WHETHER NATIONAL OR FOREIGN , OF THOSE ADVERTISEMENTS , THE NATIONALITY OF THE PERSON PROVIDING THE SERVICE , OR THE PLACE WHERE HE IS ESTABLISHED .

17 IN VIEW OF THAT ANSWER THE QUESTION CONCERNING THE CONSEQUENCES WHICH MAY ARISE FROM THE DIRECT APPLICABILITY OF ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE TREATY WHERE THERE IS CONFLICT BETWEEN THOSE PROVISIONS AND NATIONAL LEGISLATION HAS BECOME DEVOID OF OBJECT .

18 THE NATIONAL COURT FURTHER ASKS IF RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION ARE NOT A MEASURE WHICH IS DISPRO PORTIONATE IN RELATION TO ITS INTENDED PURPOSE OWING TO THE FACT THAT THE PROHIBITION ON THE BROADCASTING OF COMMERCIAL ADVERTISING BY TELEVISION REMAINS RELATIVELY INEFFECTIVE IN VIEW OF THE EXISTENCE , IN THE MEMBER STATES CONCERNED , OF THE NATURAL RECEPTION ZONES OF CERTAIN FOREIGN STATIONS .

19 SINCE THE TRANSMISSION OF TELEVISION SIGNALS BY CABLE TELEVISION ENABLES THEM TO BE DIFFUSED OVER A WIDER AREA AND IMPROVES THEIR PENETRATION , RESTRICTIONS OR PROHIBITIONS IMPOSED ON TELEVISION ADVERTISING WITHIN ITS TERRITORY BY A MEMBER STATE DO NOT LOSE THEIR JUSTIFICATION BECAUSE OF THE FACT THAT RECEPTION OF FOREIGN BROADCASTING STATIONS IS ALSO POSSIBLE THROUGHOUT THE NATIONAL TERRITORY , OR IN CERTAIN AREAS THEREOF , WITHOUT THE INTERVENTION OF ANY CABLE TELEVISION SYSTEM . THE ANSWER TO THE QUESTION ASKED MUST THEREFORE BE IN THE NEGATIVE .

20 FINALLY , THE NATIONAL COURT WISHES TO KNOW WHETHER NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION CREATE DISCRIMINATION AGAINST FOREIGN BROADCASTING STATIONS OWING TO THE FACT THAT THEIR GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION ALLOWS THEM TO BROADCAST THEIR SIGNALS ONLY WITHIN THE NATURAL RECEPTION ZONE .

21 THE NATIONAL COURT IS REFERRING IN THIS QUESTION TO THE SPATIAL LIMITS ON THE DIFFUSION OF TELEVISION PROGRAMMES DEPENDING , ON THE ONE HAND , ON THE NATURAL RELIEF OF THE GROUND AND OF BUILT-UP AREAS AND , ON THE OTHER , ON THE TECHNICAL FEATURES OF THE BROADCASTING SYSTEMS USED . THESE NATURAL AND TECHNICAL FACTORS UNDOUBTEDLY LEAD TO DIFFERENCES AS REGARDS RECEPTION OF TELEVISION SIGNALS IN VIEW OF THE CORRELATION BETWEEN THE LOCATION OF BROADCASTING STATIONS AND TELEVISION RECEIVERS . HOWEVER , SUCH DIFFERENCES , WHICH ARE DUE TO NATURAL PHENOMENA , CANNOT BE DESCRIBED AS ' ' DISCRIMINATION ' ' WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE TREATY ; THE LATTER REGARDS ONLY DIFFERENCES IN TREATMENT ARISING FROM HUMAN ACTIVITY , AND ESPECIALLY FROM MEASURES TAKEN BY PUBLIC AUTHORITIES , AS DISCRIMINATION . MOREOVER , IT SHOULD BE POINTED OUT THAT EVEN IF THE COMMUNITY HAS IN SOME RESPECTS INTERVENED TO COMPENSATE FOR NATURAL INEQUALITIES , IT HAS NO DUTY TO TAKE STEPS TO ERADICATE DIFFERENCES IN SITUATIONS SUCH AS THOSE CONTEMPLATED BY THE NATIONAL COURT .

22 THE ANSWER MUST THEREFORE BE THAT NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION BY CABLE TELEVISION OF ADVERTISEMENTS CANNOT BE REGARDED AS CONSTITUTING EITHER A DISPROPORTIONATE MEASURE IN RELATION TO THE OBJECTIVE TO BE ACHIEVED , IN THAT THE PROHIBITION IN QUESTION IS RELATIVELY INEFFECTIVE IN VIEW OF THE EXISTENCE OF NATURAL RECEPTION ZONES , OR DISCRIMINATION WHICH IS PROHIBITED BY THE TREATY IN REGARD TO FOREIGN BROADCASTERS , IN THAT THEIR GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION ALLOWS THEM TO BROADCAST THEIR SIGNALS ONLY IN THE NATURAL RECEPTION ZONE .

Decision on costs

 

23 THE COSTS INCURRED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY , THE GOVERNMENT OF THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG , THE GOVERNMENT OF THE UNITED KINGDOM , THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC AND THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES , WHICH HAVE SUBMITTED OBSERVATIONS TO THE COURT , ARE NOT RECOVERABLE . AS THESE PROCEEDINGS ARE , IN SO FAR AS THE PARTIES TO THE MAIN PROCEEDINGS ARE CONCERNED , IN THE NATURE OF A STEP IN THE PROCEEDINGS PENDING BEFORE THE NATIONAL COURT , THE DECISION ON COSTS IS A MATTER FOR THAT COURT .

Operative part

 

ON THOSE GROUNDS ,

THE COURT ,

IN ANSWER TO THE QUESTIONS REFERRED TO IT BY THE TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL , LIEGE , BY JUDGMENT OF 23 FEBRUARY 1979 , HEREBY RULES :

1 . ARTICLES 59 AND 60 OF THE EEC TREATY DO NOT PRECLUDE NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY CABLE TELEVISION - AS THEY PROHIBIT THE BROADCASTING OF ADVERTISEMENTS BY TELEVISION - IF THOSE RULES ARE APPLIED WITHOUT DISTINCTION AS REGARDS THE ORIGIN , WHETHER NATIONAL OR FOREIGN , OF THOSE ADVERTISEMENTS , THE NATIONALITY OF THE PERSON PROVIDING THE SERVICE , OR THE PLACE WHERE HE IS ESTABLISHED .

2 . NATIONAL RULES PROHIBITING THE TRANSMISSION BY CABLE TELEVISION OF ADVERTISEMENTS CANNOT BE REGARDED AS CONSTITUTING EITHER A DISPRO PORTIONATE MEASURE IN RELATION TO THE OBJECTIVE TO BE ACHIEVED , IN THAT THE PROHIBITION IN QUESTION IS RELATIVELY INEFFECTIVE IN VIEW OF THE EXISTENCE OF NATURAL RECEPTION ZONES , OR DISCRIMINATION WHICH IS PROHIBITED BY THE TREATY IN REGARD TO FOREIGN BROADCASTERS , IN THAT THEIR GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION ALLOWS THEM TO BROADCAST THEIR SIGNALS ONLY IN THE NATURAL RECEPTION ZONE .

EuGH, Rs. 52/79 v. 18.3.1980 - Debauve


EuGH, Urteil v. 18.3.1980, Rs. 52/79, Slg. 1980, 833 - Strafverfahren gegen Marc J. V. C. Debauve


EWG-Vertrag Art. 59, 60

Leitsätze

 

1 . DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN ALS SOLCHEN , EINSCHLIESSLICH JENER ZU WERBEZWECKEN , FÄLLT UNTER DIE VERTRAGSVORSCHRIFTEN íœBER DIENSTLEISTUNGEN . DAS GLEICHE GILT FíœR DIE íœBERTRAGUNG DERARTIGER MITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS .

2 . DIE VERTRAGSBESTIMMUNGEN íœBER DEN FREIEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHR SIND NICHT AUF BETÄTIGUNGEN ANWENDBAR , DEREN WESENTLICHE ELEMENTE SÄMTLICH NICHT íœBER DIE GRENZEN EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS HINAUSWEISEN . OB DIES DER FALL IST , HÄNGT VON TATSÄCHLICHEN FEST STELLUNGEN AB , DIE DAS INNERSTAATLICHE GERICHT ZU TREFFEN HAT .

3 . DIE ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 EWG-VERTRAG STEHEN EINER INNERSTAATLICHEN REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UND DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG DERARTIGER MITTEILUNGEN DURCH DAS FERNSEHEN NICHT ZULÄSSIG SIND , DANN NICHT ENTGEGEN , WENN DIESE REGELUNG OHNE UNTERSCHEIDUNG HINSICHTLICH DES - IN- ODER AUSLÄNDISCHEN - URSPRUNGS DIESER MITTEILUNGEN , DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DES ERBRINGERS DER DIENSTLEISTUNG ODER DES ORTS , AN DEM DIESER ANSÄSSIG IST , ANGEWANDT WIRD .

DENN IN ERMANGELUNG EINER HARMONISIERUNG DER AUF DIESEM GEBIET GELTENDEN EINZELSTAATLICHEN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN BEWEGT SICH EIN DERARTIGES VERBOT IM RAHMEN DER JEDEM MITGLIEDSTAAT BELASSENEN ZUSTÄNDIGKEIT , FERNSEHWERBUNG IN SEINEM HOHEITSGEBIET AUS GRíœNDEN DES ALLGEMEININTERESSES RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN ZU UNTERWERFEN , ZU BESCHRÄNKEN ODER SOGAR VÖLLIG ZU VERBIETEN , AUCH WENN SICH DIESES VERBOT AUF AUS EINEM ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAAT STAMMENDE FERNSEHWERBUNG ERSTRECKT .

4 . EINE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS NICHT ZULÄSSIG IST , KANN NICHT DESHALB ALS EINE MASSNAHME ANGESEHEN WERDEN , DIE ZU DEM ANGESTREBTEN ZIEL AUSSER VERHÄLTNIS STEHT , WEIL DAS BETREFFENDE VERBOT WEGEN DER EXISTENZ NATíœRLICHER EMPFANGSZONEN VERHÄLTNISMÄSSIG WIRKUNGSLOS BLEIBT ; EBENSOWENIG KANN IN IHR DESHALB EINE VOM VERTRAG VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG DER AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER GESEHEN WERDEN , WEIL DIESEN DIE VERBREITUNG SOLCHER MITTEILUNGEN AUFGRUND IHRES GEOGRAPHISCHEN STANDORTS NUR INNERHALB IHRES NATíœRLICHEN SENDEGEBIETS MÖGLICH IST .

5 . STANDORTUNTERSCHIEDE , DIE AUF NATíœRLICHE ERSCHEINUNGEN ZURíœCKZUFíœHREN SIND , KÖNNEN NICHT ALS ' ' DISKRIMINIERUNG ' ' IM SINNE DES EWG-VERTRAGS ANGESEHEN WERDEN , NACH DEM UNTER DIESEN BEGRIFF NUR UNGLEICHBEHANDLUNGEN FALLEN , DIE AUF MENSCHLICHES WIRKEN UND INSBESONDERE AUF MASSNAHMEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN GEWALT ZURíœCKGEHEN .

DIE GEMEINSCHAFT IST IN KEINER WEISE ZUM ERLASS VON MASSNAHMEN ZUR BESEITIGUNG VON UNTERSCHIEDEN VERPFLICHTET , DIE AUF NATíœRLICHE UNGLEICHHEITEN ZURíœCKGEHEN .

Entscheidungsgründe

 

1 DAS TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL LíœTTICH HAT DEM GERICHTSHOF MIT URTEIL VOM 23 . FEBRUAR 1979 , BEI DER KANZLEI DES GERICHTSHOFES EINGEGANGEN AM 3 . APRIL 1979 , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 177 EWG-VERTRAG ZWEI FRAGEN NACH DER AUSLEGUNG DER ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES IM HINBLICK AUF EINIGE DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBUNG DURCH KABELFERNSEHEN BETREFFENDE PROBLEME VORGELEGT .

2 DIESE FRAGEN STELLEN SICH IM RAHMEN EINES ZUNÄCHST BEIM TRIBUNAL DE POLICE LíœTTICH ANHÄNGIG GEMACHTEN STRAFVERFAHRENS GEGEN DREI PERSONEN , DENEN VORGEWORFEN WIRD , EINEM VERBOT DER íœBERTRAGUNG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN MIT WERBECHARAKTER ZUWIDERGEHANDELT ZU HABEN ; AUSSERDEM BETRIFFT DAS STRAFVERFAHREN ZWEI GESELLSCHAFTEN BELGISCHEN RECHTS , DIE ZIVILRECHTLICH FíœR DIE ANGEKLAGTEN , IHRE VERTRETER ODER ERFíœLLUNGSGEHILFEN , HAFTEN . DAS VERFAHREN WURDE UNTER ANDEREM AUF BETREIBEN DREIER VEREINIGUNGEN , DIE VERBRAUCHERINTERESSEN ODER KULTURELLE BELANGE VERTRETEN , UND EINER REIHE NATíœRLICHER PERSONEN EINGELEITET , DIE VOR DEM TRIBUNAL DE POLICE ALS ANTRAGSTELLER IM ADHÄSIONSVERFAHREN AUFTRATEN . NACHDEM DIESES GERICHT DIE ANGEKLAGTEN FREIGESPROCHEN UND EINE HAFTUNG DER BEIDEN GESELLSCHAFTEN VERNEINT HATTE , LEGTEN DIE DREI VEREINIGUNGEN UND EINIGE DER íœBRIGEN ANTRAGSTELLER IM ADHÄSIONSVERFAHREN SOWIE DIE STAATSANWALTSCHAFT BERUFUNG ZUM TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL EIN .

3 WIE AUS DEN AKTEN HERVORGEHT , BETREIBEN DIE BEIDEN BETROFFENEN GESELLSCHAFTEN MIT GENEHMIGUNG DER BELGISCHEN VERWALTUNG EINEN KABELFERNSEHDIENST , DER SICH AUF EINEN TEIL BELGIENS ERSTRECKT . DIE FERNSEHEMPFANGSGERÄTE DER DIESEM SYSTEM ANGESCHLOSSENEN ABONNENTEN SIND DURCH KABEL MIT EINER ZENTRALEN ANTENNE VERBUNDEN , DIE BESONDERE TECHNISCHE EIGENSCHAFTEN AUFWEIST . DIESE ERMÖGLICHEN DEN EMPFANG BELGISCHER UND BESTIMMTER AUSLÄNDISCHER SENDUNGEN , DIE DER ABONNENT NICHT IN ALLEN FÄLLEN íœBER EINE EINZELANTENNE EMPFANGEN KÖNNTE ; AUSSERDEM VERBESSERN SIE DIE BILD- UND TONQUALITÄT DER VOM ABONNENTEN EMPFANGENEN SENDUNGEN .

4 DAS STRAFVERFAHREN BETRIFFT DIE WEITERíœBERTRAGUNG VON SENDUNGEN , DIE VON AUSSERHALB BELGIENS GELEGENEN SENDERN AUSGESTRAHLT WERDEN , MIT HILFE DIESES KABELFERNSEHSYSTEMS IN BELGIEN , SOWEIT DIESE SENDUNGEN WERBUNG ENTHALTEN . NACH DEN BELGISCHEN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN IST ES DEN STAATLICHEN RADIO- UND FERNSEHANSTALTEN , DIE íœBER EIN GESETZLICHES SENDEMONOPOL VERFíœGEN , VERBOTEN , SENDUNGEN MIT WERBECHARAKTER AUSZUSTRAHLEN . ARTIKEL 21 DES ARRETE ROYAL VOM 24 . DEZEMBER 1966 ( MONITEUR BELGE VOM 24 . 1 . 1967 ) VERBIETET AUCH DEN KABELFERNSEHGESELLSCHAFTEN DIE WEITERíœBERTRAGUNG VON SENDUNGEN MIT WERBECHARAKTER .

5 NACH DEN FESTSTELLUNGEN DES VORLAGEURTEILS HABEN DIE KABELFERNSEHGESELLSCHAFTEN DIESES VERBOT NICHT BEACHTET UND DIE AUSLÄNDISCHEN PROGRAMME WEITERíœBERTRAGEN , OHNE DIE WERBESENDUNGEN HERAUSZUSCHNEIDEN ; DIESES VORGEHEN IST VON DER BELGISCHEN REGIERUNG GEDULDET WORDEN , DIE KEINERLEI SANKTIONEN VERHÄNGT UND DIE GENEHMIGUNGEN IN KEINEM FALL WIDERRUFEN HAT ; EIN GROSSER TEIL DER BELGISCHEN FERNSEHZUSCHAUER KANN DIE AUSLÄNDISCHEN PROGRAMME OHNE INANSPRUCHNAHME DER VON DEN KABELFERNSEHGESELLSCHAFTEN GESCHAFFENEN RELAISSTATIONEN EMPFANGEN .

6 IM HINBLICK AUF DIESEN SACHVERHALT STELLT DAS TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL SEINE DIE ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES BETREFFENDEN FRAGEN . NACH ANSICHT DES GERICHTS KÖNNTE DIE ANWENDUNG DES IN FRAGE STEHENDEN VERBOTS AUSWIRKUNGEN AUF DEN FREIEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHR AUF GEMEINSCHAFTSEBENE HABEN . DEN AUSFíœHRUNGEN DES GERICHTS ZUFOLGE ERZIELEN DIE AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDEANSTALTEN EINEN BETRÄCHTLICHEN TEIL IHRER EINKíœNFTE MIT DER BEI IHNEN IN AUFTRAG GEGEBENEN WERBUNG , SO DASS DAS HERAUSSCHNEIDEN DER WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IN BELGIEN DIE AUFTRAGGEBER VERANLASSEN KÖNNTE , IHRE WERBUNG EINZUSCHRÄNKEN ODER EINZUSTELLEN ; AUSSERDEM WíœRDEN DIE IN DEN NACHBARLÄNDERN ANSÄSSIGEN AUFTRAGGEBER - HÄNDLER ODER HERSTELLER - DEN BELGISCHEN MARKT , AUF DEN SIE BISHER IHRE MITTEILUNGEN AUSGERICHTET UND FíœR DEN SIE IHRE DIENSTLEISTUNGEN BISHER ANGEBOTEN HÄTTEN , IN EINGESCHRÄNKTEREM UMFANG ERREICHEN .

7 DIE VOM TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL GESTELLTEN FRAGEN LAUTEN WIE FOLGT :

' ' 1 . IST ARTIKEL 59 DES VERTRAGES VON ROM IM HINBLICK AUF DAS URTEIL DES GERICHTSHOFES VOM 30 . APRIL 1974 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 155/73 ( SACCHI ) DAHIN AUSZULEGEN , DASS ER JEDE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG VERBIETET , DURCH DIE DEN KABELFERNSEHGESELLSCHAFTEN DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN UNTERSAGT WIRD , OBGLEICH ES MÖGLICH UND ZULÄSSIG BLEIBT , DERARTIGE MITTEILUNGEN IN DEN EMPFANGSBEREICHEN DER AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER AUF NORMALEM WEGE ZU EMPFANGEN? HIERBEI IST INSBESONDERE ZU BERíœCKSICHTIGEN ,

A ) DASS EINE SOLCHE REGELUNG ZU EINER AUF DEM GEOGRAPHISCHEN STANDORT BERUHENDEN DISKRIMINIERUNG DES AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDERS , DER NUR IN SEINEM NATíœRLICHEN EMPFANGSBEREICH WERBEMITTEILUNGEN AUSSTRAHLEN KÖNNTE , FíœHREN WíœRDE , DA DIESE BEREICHE AUFGRUND DER UNTERSCHIEDLICHEN BEVÖLKERUNGSDICHTE FíœR DIE WERBUNG VON GANZ UNTERSCHIEDLICHEM INTERESSE SEIN KÖNNEN ;

B ) DASS EINE SOLCHE REGELUNG ZU EINER BESCHRÄNKUNG FíœHREN WíœRDE , DIE ZU DEM ANGESTREBTEN ZIEL AUSSER VERHÄLTNIS STíœNDE , DA DIESES ZIEL - NÄMLICH DAS VERBOT DER FERNSEHWERBUNG - WEGEN DER NATíœRLICHEN EMPFANGSZONEN NIEMALS VOLL VERWIRKLICHT WERDEN KÖNNTE .

2.SIND DIE ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES VON ROM IM HINBLICK AUF DAS URTEIL DES GERICHTSHOFES VOM 3 . DEZEMBER 1974 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 33/74 ( VAN BINSBERGEN ) DAHIN AUSZULEGEN , DASS SIE GEGENíœBER INNERSTAATLICHEN REGELUNGEN AUCH INSOWEIT UNMITTELBARE WIRKUNG HABEN , ALS EINE SOLCHE REGELUNG KEINE AUSDRíœCKLICHE DISKRIMINIERUNG DES LEISTUNGSERBRINGERS AUS GRíœNDEN SEINER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT ODER WEGEN SEINES AUFENTHALTS ENTHÄLT ( HIER : VERBOT DER WEITERíœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN)?

' '

8 VOR DER PRíœFUNG DIESER FRAGEN IST DARAN ZU ERINNERN , DASS DER GERICHTSHOF BEREITS IN SEINEM URTEIL VOM 30 . APRIL 1974 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 155/73 ( SACCHI - SLG . 1974 , 409 ) FíœR RECHT ERKANNT HAT , DASS DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN ALS SOLCHEN , EINSCHLIESSLICH JENER ZU WERBEZWECKEN , UNTER DIE VERTRAGSVORSCHRIFTEN íœBER DIENSTLEISTUNGEN FÄLLT . ES GIBT KEINEN GRUND , DIE íœBERTRAGUNG DERARTIGER MITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS ANDERS ZU BEHANDELN .

9 ES IST JEDOCH DARAUF HINZUWEISEN , DASS DIE VERTRAGSBESTIMMUNGEN íœBER DEN FREIEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHR NICHT AUF BETÄTIGUNGEN ANWENDBAR SIND , DEREN WESENTLICHE ELEMENTE SÄMTLICH NICHT íœBER DIE GRENZEN EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS HINAUSWEISEN . OB DIES DER FALL IST , HÄNGT VON TATSÄCHLICHEN FESTSTELLUNGEN AB , DIE DAS INNERSTAATLICHE GERICHT ZU TREFFEN HAT . NACH ANSICHT DES TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL FALLEN DIE DIENSTLEISTUNGEN , UM DIE ES IN DEM BEI IHM ANHÄNGIGEN STRAFVERFAHREN GEHT , UNTER DEN GEGEBENEN UMSTÄNDEN IHRER ART NACH UNTER DIE VERTRAGSBESTIMMUNGEN íœBER DEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHR ; DAVON IST BEI DER PRíœFUNG DER GESTELLTEN FRAGEN AUSZUGEHEN .

10 DIE KERNFRAGE DES VORLEGENDEN GERICHTS GEHT DAHIN , OB DIE ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES SO AUSZULEGEN SIND , DASS SIE JEDE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG VERBIETEN , DURCH DIE DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UNTERSAGT WIRD , AUCH SOWEIT IN EINER SOLCHEN REGELUNG NICHT NACH DEM URSPRUNG DER WERBEMITTEILUNGEN , DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DES ERBRINGERS DER DIENSTLEISTUNG ODER DEM ORT , AN DEM ER ANSÄSSIG IST , UNTERSCHIEDEN WIRD .

11 NACH ARTIKEL 59 ABSATZ 1 DES VERTRAGES WERDEN DIE BESCHRÄNKUNGEN DES FREIEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHRS INNERHALB DER GEMEINSCHAFT FíœR ANGEHÖRIGE IHRER MITGLIEDSTAATEN WÄHREND DER íœBERGANGSZEIT SCHRITTWEISE AUFGEHOBEN . DIESE VORSCHRIFT GEBIETET DIE BESEITIGUNG ALLER DISKRIMINIERUNGEN DES LEISTUNGSERBRINGERS , DIE AUF SEINER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT ODER AUF DEM UMSTAND BERUHEN , DASS ER IN EINEM ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAAT ALS DEMJENIGEN ANSÄSSIG IST , IN DEM DIE LEISTUNG ERBRACHT WERDEN SOLL .

12 IN ANBETRACHT DER BESONDERHEITEN BESTIMMTER DIENSTLEISTUNGEN , WIE ETWA DER AUSSTRAHLUNG UND íœBERTRAGUNG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN , DíœRFEN ALLERDINGS SOLCHE AN DEN LEISTUNGSERBRINGER GESTELLTEN BESONDEREN ANFORDERUNGEN NICHT ALS MIT DEM VERTRAG UNVEREINBAR ANGESEHEN WERDEN , DIE SICH AUS DER ANWENDUNG VON FíœR BESTIMMTE ARTEN VON TÄTIGKEITEN ERLASSENEN VORSCHRIFTEN ERGEBEN , WELCHE DURCH DAS ALLGEMEININTERESSE GERECHTFERTIGT SIND UND FíœR ALLE IM GEBIET DES BETREFFENDEN MITGLIEDSTAATS ANSÄSSIGEN PERSONEN ODER UNTERNEHMEN GELTEN ; DIES GILT INSOWEIT , ALS EIN IN EINEM ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAAT ANSÄSSIGER LEISTUNGSERBRINGER DORT ÄHNLICHEN VORSCHRIFTEN NICHT UNTERWORFEN IST .

13 DIE DEM GERICHTSHOF IM VERLAUF DIESES VERFAHRENS ERTEILTEN AUSKíœNFTE LASSEN ERKENNEN , DASS FíœR DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG VON WERBESENDUNGEN IM FERNSEHEN IN DEN EINZELNEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN SEHR UNTERSCHIEDLICHE REGELUNGEN GELTEN , DIE VON EINEM NAHEZU VOLLSTÄNDIGEN VERBOT , WIE ES IN BELGIEN GILT , íœBER VORSCHRIFTEN MIT MEHR ODER WENIGER EINSCHRÄNKENDEM CHARAKTER BIS ZU REGELUNGEN REICHEN , DIE DURCH EINE WEITGEHENDE GESCHÄFTLICHE FREIHEIT GEKENNZEICHNET SIND . IN ERMANGELUNG EINER HARMONISIERUNG DER EINZELSTAATLICHEN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN UND UNTER BERíœCKSICHTIGUNG DER AUF DAS ALLGEMEININTERESSE ABSTELLENDEN ERWAEGUNGEN , DIE DEN EINSCHRÄNKENDEN REGELUNGEN AUF DIESEM GEBIET ZUGRUNDE LIEGEN , KANN DIE ANWENDUNG DIESER RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN NICHT ALS BESCHRÄNKUNG DES FREIEN DIENSTLEISTUNGSVERKEHRS ANGESEHEN WERDEN , SOWEIT DIESE VORSCHRIFTEN ALLE DIENSTLEISTUNGEN AUF DIESEM GEBIET GLEICH BEHANDELN , UNABHÄNGIG DAVON , WO SIE IHREN URSPRUNG HABEN UND WELCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DER ERBRINGER DER DIENSTLEISTUNG BESITZT ODER WO ER ANSÄSSIG IST .

14 EIN VERBOT , WIE ES DIE VOM VORLEGENDEN GERICHT ANGEFíœHRTE BELGISCHE REGELUNG ENTHÄLT , IST IM LICHTE DIESER ERWAEGUNGEN ZU BEURTEILEN . ES IST DARAUF HINZUWEISEN , DASS DAS IN DEM GENANNTEN ARRETE ROYAL ENTHALTENE VERBOT DER WEITERíœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBESENDUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS NICHT ISOLIERT BETRACHTET WERDEN DARF . DER GESAMTHEIT DER BELGISCHEN RUNDFUNKRECHTLICHEN VORSCHRIFTEN LÄSST SICH ENTNEHMEN , DASS DIESES VERBOT DIE UNMITTELBARE FOLGE DES FíœR DIE BELGISCHEN RUNDFUNKANSTALTEN BESTEHENDEN VERBOTS IST , WERBESENDUNGEN AUSZUSTRAHLEN . DIES ENTSPRICHT AUCH DER DARSTELLUNG DER ANWENDBAREN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN DURCH DAS VORLEGENDE GERICHT , NACH DESSEN ANGABEN DAS DURCH DEN ARRETE ROYAL AUFGESTELLTE VERBOT DER WEITERíœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBESENDUNGEN DAZU DIENT , DIE íœBEREINSTIMMUNG MIT DER FíœR DIE STAATLICHEN RUNDFUNKANSTALTEN GELTENDEN REGELUNG ZU WAHREN .

15 IN ERMANGELUNG EINER HARMONISIERUNG DER GELTENDEN VORSCHRIFTEN BEWEGT SICH EIN DERARTIGES VERBOT IM RAHMEN DER JEDEM MITGLIEDSTAAT BELASSENEN ZUSTÄNDIGKEIT , FERNSEHWERBUNG IN SEINEM HOHEITSGEBIET AUS GRíœNDEN DES ALLGEMEININTERESSES RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN ZU UNTERWERFEN , ZU BESCHRÄNKEN ODER SOGAR VÖLLIG ZU VERBIETEN . NICHTS ANDERES GILT , WENN SICH DERARTIGE BESCHRÄNKUNGEN ODER VERBOTE AUF DIE AUS ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN STAMMENDEN FERNSEHSENDUNGEN ERSTRECKEN , SOWEIT SIE TATSÄCHLICH IN GLEICHER WEISE AUF DIE INNERSTAATLICHEN FERNSEHANSTALTEN ANGEWANDT WERDEN .

16 ES IST DAHER ZU ANTWORTEN , DASS DIE ARTKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES EINER INNERSTAATLICHEN REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UND DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG DERARTIGER MITTEILUNGEN DURCH DAS FERNSEHEN NICHT ZULÄSSIG SIND , DANN NICHT ENTGEGENSTEHEN , WENN DIESE REGELUNG OHNE UNTERSCHEIDUNG HINSICHTLICH DES - IN- ODER AUSLÄNDISCHEN - URSPRUNGS DIESER MITTEILUNGEN , DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DES ERBRINGERS DER DIENSTLEISTUNG ODER DES ORTS , AN DEM DIESER ANSÄSSIG IST , ANGEWANDT WIRD .

17 DIE FRAGE NACH DEN FOLGEN , DIE SICH MÖGLICHERWEISE AUS DER UNMITTELBAREN ANWENDBARKEIT DER ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 DES VERTRAGES IM FALLE EINES KONFLIKTS ZWISCHEN DIESEN BESTIMMUNGEN UND DEN INNERSTAATLICHEN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN ERGEBEN , IST ANGESICHTS DIESER ANTWORT GEGENSTANDSLOS .

18 DAS VORLEGENDE GERICHT FRAGT FERNER , OB EINE REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UNTERSAGT IST , NICHT EINE ZUM ANGESTREBTEN ZIEL AUSSER VERHÄLTNIS STEHENDE MASSNAHME SEI , DA DAS VERBOT DER AUSSTRAHLUNG VON FERNSEHWERBUNG WEGEN DES BESTEHENS NATíœRLICHER EMPFANGSBEREICHE BESTIMMTER AUSLÄNDISCHER SENDER VERHÄLTNISMÄSSIG WIRKUNGSLOS BLEIBE .

19 DA DIE íœBERTRAGUNG IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS EINE GRÖSSERE VERBREITUNG DER SENDUNGEN UND EINE BESSERE DURCHDRINGUNG ERMÖGLICHT , VERLIEREN DIE VON EINEM MITGLIEDSTAAT IN SEINEM GEBIET FíœR DEN BEREICH DER FERNSEHWERBUNG AUFGESTELLTEN BESCHRÄNKUNGEN ODER VERBOTE IHRE BERECHTIGUNG NICHT DADURCH , DASS DIE AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER AUCH OHNE INANSPRUCHNAHME EINES KABELFERNSEHSYSTEMS IM GANZEN STAATSGEBIET ODER IN BESTIMMTEN ZONEN DESSELBEN EMPFANGEN WERDEN KÖNNEN . DIESE FRAGE IST DAHER ZU VERNEINEN .

20 SCHLIESSLICH MÖCHTE DAS VORLEGENDE GERICHT WISSEN , OB EINE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UNTERSAGT IST , DESHALB ZU EINER DISKRIMINIERUNG DER AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER FíœHRT , WEIL DIESEN DIE VERBREITUNG SOLCHER MITTEILUNGEN AUFGRUND IHRES GEOGRAPHISCHEN STANDORTS NUR INNERHALB IHRES NATíœRLICHEN SENDEGEBIETS MÖGLICH IST .

21 DIESE FRAGE DES VORLEGENDEN GERICHTS BEZIEHT SICH AUF DIE RÄUMLICHEN GRENZEN FíœR DIE VERBREITUNG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN , DIE SICH ZUM EINEN AUS DEM NATíœRLICHEN LANDSCHAFTSRELIEF SOWIE DER STÄDTISCHEN BEBAUUNG UND ZUM ANDEREN AUS DEN ANGEWANDTEN íœBERTRAGUNGSTECHNIKEN ERGEBEN . ANGESICHTS DES ZUSAMMENHANGS ZWISCHEN DEN STANDORTEN DER SENDER UND JENEN DER EMPFÄNGER FíœHREN DIESE NATíœRLICHEN UND TECHNISCHEN GEGEBENHEITEN ZWEIFELLOS ZU UNTERSCHIEDEN BEIM EMPFANG VON FERNSEHSENDUNGEN . DERARTIGE , AUF NATíœRLICHE ERSCHEINUNGEN ZURíœCKZUFíœHRENDE UNTERSCHIEDE KÖNNEN JEDOCH NICHT ALS ' ' DISKRIMINIERUNG ' ' IM SINNE DES VERTRAGES ANGESEHEN WERDEN , NACH DEM UNTER DIESEN BEGRIFF NUR UNGLEICHBEHANDLUNGEN FALLEN , DIE AUF MENSCHLICHES WIRKEN UND INSBESONDERE AUF MASSNAHMEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN GEWALT ZURíœCKGEHEN . IM íœBRIGEN IST DARAUF HINZUWEISEN , DASS DIE GEMEINSCHAFT , AUCH WENN SIE VERSCHIEDENTLICH ZUR AUFHEBUNG NATíœRLICHER UNGLEICHHEITEN TÄTIG GEWORDEN IST , IN KEINER WEISE ZUM ERLASS VON MASSNAHMEN VERPFLICHTET IST , DIE ZUR BESEITIGUNG VON STANDORTUNTERSCHIEDEN DER VOM VORLEGENDEN GERICHT BESCHRIEBENEN ART BESTIMMT SIND .

22 ES IST DAHER ZU ANTWORTEN , DASS EINE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS NICHT ZULÄSSIG IST , NICHT DESHALB ALS EINE MASSNAHME ANGESEHEN WERDEN KANN , DIE ZU DEM ANGESTREBTEN ZIEL AUSSER VERHÄLTNIS STEHT , WEIL DAS BETREFFENDE VERBOT WEGEN DER EXISTENZ NATíœRLICHER EMPFANGSZONEN VERHÄLTNISMÄSSIG WIRKUNGSLOS BLEIBT , UND DASS IN IHR NICHT DESHALB EINE VOM VERTRAG VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG DER AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER GESEHEN WERDEN KANN , WEIL DIESEN DIE VERBREITUNG SOLCHER MITTEILUNGEN AUFGRUND IHRES GEOGRAPHISCHEN STANDORTS NUR INNERHALB IHRES NATíœRLICHEN SENDEGEBIETS MÖGLICH IST .

Kostenentscheidung

 

23 DIE AUSLAGEN DER REGIERUNGEN DER BUNDESREPUBLIK DEUTSCHLAND , DES GROSSHERZOGTUMS LUXEMBURG , DES VEREINIGTEN KÖNIGREICHS UND DER FRANZÖSISCHEN REPUBLIK SOWIE DER KOMMISSION , DIE ERKLÄRUNGEN VOR DEM GERICHTSHOF ABGEGEBEN HABEN , SIND NICHT ERSTATTUNGSFÄHIG . FíœR DIE BETEILIGTEN DES AUSGANGSVERFAHRENS IST DAS VERFAHREN VOR DEM GERICHTSHOF EIN TEIL DES VOR DEM VORLEGENDEN GERICHT ANHÄNGIGEN STRAFVERFAHRENS ; DIE KOSTENENTSCHEIDUNG IST DAHER SACHE DIESES GERICHTS .

AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN

Tenor

 

HAT

DER GERICHTSHOF

AUF DIE IHM VOM TRIBUNAL CORRECTIONNEL LíœTTICH MIT URTEIL VOM 23 . FEBRUAR 1979 VORGELEGTEN FRAGEN FíœR RECHT ERKANNT :

1 . DIE ARTIKEL 59 UND 60 EWG-VERTRAG STEHEN EINER INNERSTAATLICHEN REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS UND DIE AUSSTRAHLUNG DERARTIGER MITTEILUNGEN DURCH DAS FERNSEHEN NICHT ZULÄSSIG SIND , DANN NICHT ENTGEGEN , WENN DIESE REGELUNG OHNE UNTERSCHEIDUNG HINSICHTLICH DES - IN- ODER AUSLÄNDISCHEN - URSPRUNGS DIESER MITTEILUNGEN , DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DES ERBRINGERS DER DIENSTLEISTUNG ODER DES ORTS , AN DEM DIESER ANSÄSSIG IST , ANGEWANDT WIRD .

2 . EINE INNERSTAATLICHE REGELUNG , NACH DER DIE íœBERTRAGUNG VON WERBEMITTEILUNGEN IM WEGE DES KABELFERNSEHENS NICHT ZULÄSSIG IST , KANN NICHT DESHALB ALS EINE MASSNAHME ANGESEHEN WERDEN , DIE ZU DEM ANGESTREBTEN ZIEL AUSSER VERHÄLTNIS STEHT , WEIL DAS BETREFFENDE VERBOT WEGEN DER EXISTENZ NATíœRLICHER EMPFANGSZONEN VERHÄLTNISMÄSSIG WIRKUNGSLOS BLEIBT ; EBENSOWENIG KANN IN IHR DESHALB EINE VOM VERTRAG VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG DER AUSLÄNDISCHEN SENDER GESEHEN WERDEN , WEIL DIESEN DIE VERBREITUNG SOLCHER MITTEILUNGEN AUFGRUND IHRES GEOGRAPHISCHEN STANDORTS NUR INNERHALB IHRES NATíœRLICHEN SENDEGEBIETS MÖGLICH IST .