EuGH, Rs. 307 / 84 v. 3.6.1986 - Kommission / Frankreich (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 3.6.1986, Rs. 307 / 84, Slg. 1986, 1725 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Französische Republik


EWG-Vertrag Art. 48

Summary

1 . POSTS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY ARE THOSE WHICH ARE TYPICAL OF THE SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE IN SO FAR AS THE EXERCISE OF POWERS CONFERRED BY PUBLIC LAW AND RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFEGUARDING THE GENERAL INTERESTS OF THE STATE ARE VESTED IN IT .

IN VIEW OF THE NATURE OF THE FUNCTIONS AND RESPONSIBILITIES WHICH THEY INVOLVE , POSTS OF NURSES IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS DO NOT FALL WITHIN THAT PROVISION .

2 . THE RESTRICTION BY A MEMBER STATE OF APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT POSTS AS NURSES IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS TO ITS OWN NATIONALS IS INCOMPATIBLE WITH ARTICLE 48 ( 2 ) OF THE TREATY UNLESS ALL POSTS AS NURSES IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS ARE EQUALLY ACCESSIBLE TO THE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES AND UNLESS SUCH NATIONALS , WHEN RECRUITED , ENJOY CONDITIONS , ADVANTAGES AND SAFEGUARDS WHICH ARE IN EVERY RESPECT EQUIVALENT TO THOSE ENJOYED BY NATIONALS OF THE SAID MEMBER STATE BY VIRTUE OF THEIR STATUS AS MEMBERS OF THE ESTABLISHED STAFF , WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE POSSIBILITY OF ACCESS TO POSTS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY .

Parties

IN CASE 307/84

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES , REPRESENTED BY ITS LEGAL ADVISER , JOSEPH GRIESMAR , ACTING AS AGENT , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE OFFICE OF GIORGIOS KREMLIS , A MEMBER OF ITS LEGAL DEPARTMENT , JEAN MONNET BUILDING , KIRCHBERG ,

APPLICANT ,

V

FRENCH REPUBLIC , REPRESENTED BY GILBERT GUILLAUME , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE FRENCH EMBASSY , 9 BOULEVARD PRINCE HENRI ,

DEFENDANT ,

Subject of the case

APPLICATION FOR A DECLARATION THAT BY MAKING THE POSSESSION OF FRENCH NATIONALITY A PRECONDITION FOR APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS , THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE EEC TREATY ,

Grounds of the judgment

1 BY AN APPLICATION LODGED AT THE COURT REGISTRY ON 21 DECEMBER 1984 , THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES BROUGHT AN ACTION UNDER ARTICLE 169 OF THE EEC TREATY FOR A DECLARATION THAT , BY MAKING POSSESSION OF FRENCH NATIONALITY A PRECONDITION FOR APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS , THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAD FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 48 OF THE EEC TREATY .

2 ARTICLES L 792 ET SEQ . OF THE FRENCH CODE DE LA SANTE PUBLIQUE ( PUBLIC HEALTH CODE ) LAY DOWN ' GENERAL RULES APPLICABLE TO STAFF IN PUBLIC HOSPITAL ESTABLISHMENTS AND IN CERTAIN ESTABLISHMENTS OF A SOCIAL NATURE ' . BY VIRTUE OF ARTICLE L 792 , THOSE RULES ' APPLY TO PERSONS ESTABLISHED IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT IN PUBLIC HOSPITAL ESTABLISHMENTS , PUBLIC HOSPICES , PUBLIC RETIREMENT HOMES , WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THOSE ATTACHED TO THE PARIS SOCIAL AID OFFICE , ESTABLISHMENTS WHICH ARE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF DEPARTMENTAL SOCIAL SERVICES FOR CHILDREN , PUBLIC ESTABLISHMENTS FOR MALADJUSTED MINORS OTHER THAN NATIONAL ESTABLISHMENTS AND SUPERVISED EDUCATION OR TEACHING ESTABLISHMENTS ' . THE RULES INCLUDE ARTICLE 809 WHICH PROVIDES THAT ' NO PERSON MAY BE APPOINTED TO A POST IN THE ESTABLISHMENTS REFERRED TO IN ARTICLE L 792 : ( 1 ) IF HE DOES NOT POSSESS FRENCH NATIONALITY . . . ' .

3 CONSIDERING THAT THAT NATIONALITY REQUIREMENT WAS CONTRARY TO ARTICLE 48 ( 2 ) OF THE TREATY WITH RESPECT TO THE EMPLOYMENT OF NURSES AND OF DENTAL PRACTITIONERS , AND THAT SUCH EMPLOYMENT WAS NOT COVERED BY ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ), ON 1 DECEMBER 1982 THE COMMISSION SENT A LETTER TO THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT CALLING UPON IT TO SUBMIT ITS OBSERVATIONS . HAVING RECEIVED NO REPLY , THE COMMISSION DELIVERED A REASONED OPINION ON 23 MARCH 1984 , STATING THAT , BY IMPOSING A NATIONALITY REQUIREMENT FOR APPOINTMENT TO OR ESTABLISHMENT IN THE PERMANENT POSTS IN QUESTION , THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAD FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE TREATY .

4 THE FRENCH REPUBLIC DID NOT RESPOND TO THE REASONED OPINION . HOWEVER , BY DECREE OF 24 FEBRUARY 1984 , IT ABOLISHED THE NATIONALITY REQUIREMENT FOR PERMANENT POSTS AS DENTAL PRACTITIONERS IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS . NEVERTHELESS , THAT REQUIREMENT WAS MAINTAINED FOR APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS . AS A RESULT , THE COMMISSION BROUGHT THE PRESENT ACTION .

5 REFERRING TO PREVIOUS DECISIONS OF THE COURT , THE COMMISSION STATES IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT THE EXCEPTION LAID DOWN IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY MUST BE INTERPRETED RESTRICTIVELY . THE CRITERION FOR DETERMINING WHETHER A POST FORMS PART OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE IS A FUNCTIONAL CRITERION TAKING ACCOUNT OF THE DUTIES WHICH THE POST IN QUESTION ENTAILS : ONLY POSTS WHICH HAVE A DIRECT CONNECTION WITH SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE FALL WITHIN THE EXCEPTION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY IN SO FAR AS THE EXERCISE OF POWERS CONFERRED BY PUBLIC LAW AND RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFEGUARDING THE GENERAL INTERESTS OF THE STATE ARE VESTED IN IT . THE COMMISSION CONCLUDES THAT , BY VIRTUE OF THE CASE-LAW OF THE COURT , EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS IS NOT COVERED BY ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY AND MUST THEREFORE BE OPEN TO NATIONALS OF THE OTHER MEMBER STATES WITHOUT DISCRIMINATION .

6 THE COMMISSION CONSIDERS THAT THE SPECIAL FEATURES OF THE FRENCH PUBLIC SERVICE ( PRINCIPLE OF UNITY , RULES APPLICABLE TO STAFF , AND SO ON ) DO NOT JUSTIFY A DIFFERENT APPROACH : THOSE SPECIAL FEATURES ARE NOT SUCH AS TO PREVENT THE APPOINTMENT OF NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES TO PERMANENT POSTS AS NURSES . THE COMMISSION RECOGNIZES , HOWEVER , THAT A FOREIGNER ESTABLISHED IN SUCH A POST WILL NOT SUBSEQUENTLY BE ABLE TO QUALIFY FOR PROMOTION TO A POST IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE TREATY , AND THAT THEREFORE THE ' CAREER PRINCIPLE ' WILL BE CALLED IN QUESTION . IT MAINTAINS , HOWEVER , THAT TO DENY THE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES ANY ACCESS TO THE PERMANENT POSTS INVOLVED IN THIS CASE ON THE GROUND THAT THEY COULD NOT BE SUBSEQUENTLY PROMOTED TO CERTAIN POSTS WOULD RESULT IN EVEN MORE SERIOUS DISCRIMINATION AGAINST THEM .

7 THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT CONSIDERS , IN THE FIRST PLACE , THAT THE EXCEPTION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY EXTENDS TO ALL EMPLOYMENT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND NOT MERELY TO CERTAIN POSTS IN IT . A COMPARISON OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY WITH ARTICLE 55 THEREOF SHOWS THAT THE CRITERION ADOPTED IN THE FIRST OF THOSE PROVISIONS IS INSTITUTIONAL AND NOT FUNCTIONAL .

8 THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT STATES , IN THAT CONNECTION , THAT BY VIRTUE OF THE PRINCIPLES GOVERNING THE ORGANIZATION AND INTERNAL FUNCTIONING OF THE FRENCH PUBLIC SERVICE IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO GRANT ACCESS THERETO TO NATIONALS OF THE OTHER MEMBER STATES . IT EMPHASIZES THAT CIVIL SERVANTS WORK IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND THAT THEIR ACTIVITY IS NOT COMPARABLE WITH THAT OF EMPLOYEES IN THE PRIVATE SECTOR . THERE ARE A NUMBER OF RULES ( PRINCIPLE OF UNITY OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE , THE FACT THAT THE CIVIL SERVICE IS GOVERNED BY PUBLIC LAW , AND SO ON ) WHICH ARE SPECIFICALLY INTENDED TO ENSURE THAT THE PUBLIC SERVICE SERVES AS AN INSTRUMENT FOR GIVING EFFECT TO THE PUBLIC INTEREST . THE CRITERION ADVOCATED BY THE COMMISSION FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY WOULD , IN PARTICULAR , JEOPARDIZE OBSERVANCE OF THE ' CAREER PRINCIPLE ' WHICH IS ONE OF THE FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES APPLICABLE TO THE FRENCH PUBLIC SERVICE : A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE ENTERING THE PUBLIC SERVICE COULD NOT IN ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BE PROMOTED TO POSTS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE TREATY . THERE WOULD THEREFORE BE TWO TYPES OF CAREER STRUCTURE : ONE FOR NATIONALS OF THE OTHER MEMBER STATES AND ONE FOR FRENCH NATIONALS , WHO COULD QUALIFY FOR PROMOTION TO ALL POSTS .

9 THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT CONSIDERS , IN THE SECOND PLACE , THAT IN ANY EVENT ARTICLE 48 OF THE TREATY DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES SHOULD BE ENTITLED TO BECOME MEMBERS OF THE ESTABLISHED STAFF . IT IS SUFFICIENT FOR THEM TO BE ENTITLED , AS IS THE POSITION IN FRANCE , TO TAKE UP EMPLOYMENT IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS ON A CONTRACTUAL BASIS . IN REPLY TO A QUESTION PUT TO IT BY THE COURT AT THE HEARING , THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT PROVIDED STATISTICS FROM WHICH IT APPEARS THAT , AS AT 31 DECEMBER 1983 , FRENCH PUBLIC HOSPITAL ESTABLISHMENTS EMPLOYED 89 000 NURSES OF WHOM 86 000 WERE ESTABLISHED IN THEIR POSTS AND 3 000 WERE EMPLOYEES UNDER CONTRACT . OF THE LATTER , FEWER THAN 5% WERE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES .

10 THE FIRST QUESTION WHICH ARISES IN THESE PROCEEDINGS IS WHETHER EMPLOYENT AS A NURSE IN A PUBLIC HOSPITAL IS TO BE REGARDED AS EMPLOYMENT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE TO WHICH THE RULE PROHIBITING DISCRIMINATION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 2 ) OF THE TREATY IS NOT APPLICABLE BY VIRTUE OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) THEREOF .

11 IN THAT CONNECTION , IT SHOULD BE NOTED IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT , AS WAS HELD IN THE JUDGMENT OF 12 FEBRUARY 1974 ( CASE 152/73 SOTGIU V DEUTSCHE BUNDESPOST ( 1974 ) ECR 153 ), THE SCOPE OF THE EXCEPTION PROVIDED FOR IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY CANNOT BE DETERMINED BY REFERENCE TO THE NATURE OF THE LEGAL RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE EMPLOYEE AND THE EMPLOYING ADMINISTRATION AND THAT ' IN THE ABSENCE OF A DISTINCTION IN THE PROVISION REFERRED TO , IT IS OF NO INTEREST WHETHER A WORKER IS ENGAGED AS A WORKMAN ( OUVRIER ), A CLERK ( EMPLOYE ) OR AN OFFICIAL ( FONCTIONNAIRE ), OR EVEN WHETHER THE TERMS ON WHICH HE IS EMPLOYED COME UNDER PUBLIC OR PRIVATE LAW . THESE LEGAL DESIGNATIONS CAN BE VARIED AT THE WHIM OF NATIONAL LEGISLATURES AND CANNOT THEREFORE PROVIDE A CRITERION FOR INTERPRETATION APPROPRIATE TO THE REQUIREMENTS OF COMMUNITY LAW ' . ACCESS TO CERTAIN POSTS CANNOT BE LIMITED BY REASON OF THE FACT THAT IN A GIVEN MEMBER STATE THE PERSONS APPOINTED TO SUCH POSTS ARE GOVERNED BY STAFF REGULATIONS WHICH PROVIDE FOR ESTABLISHMENT . TO MAKE THE APPLICATION OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY DEPENDENT UPON THE LEGAL NATURE OF THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE EMPLOYEE AND THE ADMINISTRATION WOULD , IN PRACTICE , ENABLE THE MEMBER STATES TO EXTEND AT WILL THE NUMBER OF POSTS COVERED BY THE EXCEPTION LAID DOWN IN THAT PROVISION .

12 MORE PARTICULARLY , IT WAS HELD IN THE JUDGMENT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 ( CASE 149/79 COMMISSION V KINGDOM OF BELGIUM ( 1980 ) ECR 3881 ) THAT IN ORDER TO DETERMINE WHETHER POSTS ARE POSTS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY , IT IS NECESSARY TO CONSIDER ' WHETHER OR NOT THE POSTS IN QUESTION ARE TYPICAL OF THE SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE IN SO FAR AS THE EXERCISE OF POWERS CONFERRED BY PUBLIC LAW AND RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFEGUARDING THE GENERAL INTERESTS OF THE STATE ARE VESTED IN IT ' . AS THE COURT ALSO STATED IN THAT JUDGMENT , THAT INTERPRETATION - TO THE EFFECT THAT THE CRITERION FOR DETERMINING WHETHER ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY IS APPLICABLE MUST BE FUNCTIONAL AND MUST TAKE ACCOUNT OF THE NATURE OF THE TASKS AND RESPONSIBILITIES INHERENT IN THE POST - IS NECESSARY IN ORDER TO ENSURE ' THAT THE EFFECTIVENESS AND SCOPE OF THE PROVISIONS OF THE TREATY ON FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS AND EQUALITY OF TREATMENT OF NATIONALS OF ALL MEMBER STATES SHALL NOT BE RESTRICTED BY INTERPRETATIONS OF THE CONCEPT OF PUBLIC SERVICE WHICH ARE BASED ON DOMESTIC LAW ALONE AND WHICH WOULD OBSTRUCT THE APPLICATION OF COMMUNITY RULES ' .

13 FINALLY , IT FOLLOWS FROM THE JUDGMENT OF 26 MAY 1982 ( CASE 149/79 COMMISSION V KINGDOM OF BELGIUM ( 1982 ) ECR 1845 ) THAT , IN VIEW OF THE NATURE OF THE FUNCTIONS AND RESPONSIBILITIES WHICH THEY INVOLVE , POSTS OF NURSES IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS DO NOT CONSTITUTE EMPLOYMENT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY .

14 THE SECOND QUESTION WHICH ARISES IN THESE PROCEEDINGS IS WHETHER THE CONTESTED PROVISION OF THE FRENCH PUBLIC HEALTH CODE LEADS TO DISCRIMINATION OF THE KIND PROHIBITED BY ARTICLE 48 ( 2 ) OF THE TREATY .

15 THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT CLAIMS THAT ACCESS TO EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS IS NOT SUBJECT TO ANY NATIONALITY REQUIREMENT AND THAT SUCH EMPLOYMENT IS OPEN TO THE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES WHEN IT COMES TO RECRUITING EMPLOYEES UNDER CONTRACT AS OPPOSED TO MEMBERS OF THE ESTABLISHED STAFF .

16 THAT ARGUMENT MUST BE REJECTED , SINCE THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAS NOT ESTABLISHED THAT ALL POSTS AS NURSES OFFERED IN PUBLIC HOSPITALS WERE EQUALLY ACCESSIBLE TO THE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES AND THAT WHEN SUCH NATIONALS WERE RECRUITED THEY ENJOYED CONDITIONS - WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE POSSIBILITY OF PROMOTION TO POSTS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE TREATY - ADVANTAGES AND SAFEGUARDS WHICH WERE IN EVERY RESPECT EQUIVALENT TO THOSE DERIVING FROM THE STATUS OF MEMBERS OF THE ESTABLISHED STAFF , WHICH IS RESERVED TO FRENCH NATIONALS .

17 IN THOSE CIRCUMSTANCES , IT MUST BE CONCLUDED THAT BY RESTRICTING TO ITS OWN NATIONALS APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN A PUBLIC HOSPITAL , THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 48 OF THE EEC TREATY .

Decision on costs

COSTS

18 UNDER ARTICLE 69 ( 2 ) OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE THE UNSUCCESSFUL PARTY IS TO BE ORDERED TO PAY THE COSTS . SINCE THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAS FAILED IN ITS SUBMISSIONS , IT MUST BE ORDERED TO PAY THE COSTS .

Operative part of the judgment

ON THOSE GROUNDS ,

THE COURT

HEREBY :

( 1 ) DECLARES THAT BY RESTRICTING TO ITS OWN NATIONALS APPOINTMENT AND ESTABLISHMENT IN PERMANENT EMPLOYMENT AS A NURSE IN A PUBLIC HOSPITAL , THE FRENCH REPUBLIC HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 48 OF THE EEC TREATY ;

( 2 ) ORDERS THE FRENCH REPUBLIC TO PAY THE COSTS .

EuGH, Rs. 307 / 84 v. 3.6.1986 - Kommission / Frankreich


EuGH, Urteil v. 3.6.1986, Rs. 307 / 84, Slg. 1986, 1725 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Französische Republik


EWG-Vertrag Art. 48
Leitsätze

1 . DIE BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG UMFASST DIE STELLEN , DIE INSOWEIT TYPISCH FíœR DIE SPEZIFISCHEN TÄTIGKEITEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG SIND , ALS DIESE MIT DER AUSíœBUNG HOHEITLICHER BEFUGNISSE UND MIT DER VERANTWORTUNG FíœR DIE WAHRUNG DER ALLGEMEINEN BELANGE DES STAATES BETRAUT IST .

DIE TÄTIGKEIT ALS KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTER IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRAN KENHÄUSERN FÄLLT ANGESICHTS DER NATUR DER DAMIT VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN UND VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN NICHT UNTER DIESEN BEGRIFF .

2 . DIE BESCHRÄNKUNG DER EINWEISUNG IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN UND DER ERNENNUNG VON INHABERN SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT AUF INLÄNDER IST MIT ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 2 EWG-VERTRAG NUR VEREINBAR , WENN DEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN ALLE STELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN OFFENSTEHEN UND WENN SIE IM FALLE IHRER EINSTELLUNG EINER REGELUNG UNTERLIEGEN , DIE ABGESEHEN VON DER MÖGLICHKEIT DES ZUGANGS ZU STELLEN IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN UND GARANTIEN ENTHÄLT , DIE IN ALLEN PUNKTEN DENEN ENTSPRECHEN , DIE SICH AUS DEM DEN INLÄNDERN VORBEHALTENEN BEAMTENVERHÄLTNIS ERGEBEN .

Entscheidungsgründe

1 DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN HAT MIT KLAGESCHRIFT , DIE AM 21 . DEZEMBER 1984 BEI DER KANZLEI DES GERICHTSHOFES EINGEGANGEN IST , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 169 EWG-VERTRAG KLAGE ERHOBEN AUF FESTSTELLUNG , DASS DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK DURCH DEN ERLASS DER BESTIMMUNG , DASS NUR FRANZÖSISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN EINGEWIESEN UND ALS INHABER SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT ERNANNT WERDEN KÖNNEN , GEGEN IHRE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN HAT .

2 DER FRANZÖSISCHE CODE DE LA SANTE PUBLIQUE ( GESETZ íœBER DAS GESUNDHEITSWESEN ) ENTHÄLT IN DEN ARTIKELN L 792 FF . DAS ' ' ALLGEMEINE STATUT DES PERSONALS DER ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENANSTALTEN UND BESTIMMTER SOZIALER EINRICHTUNGEN ' ' . NACH ARTIKEL L 792 GILT DIESES STATUT ' ' FíœR DIE INHABER VON DAUERPLANSTELLEN IN DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENANSTALTEN , DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN PFLEGEHEIMEN , DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN ALTERSHEIMEN MIT AUSNAHME DERER , DIE DEM PARISER SOZIALHILFEBíœRO UNTERSTEHEN , DEN ANSTALTEN , DIE DEN DIENSTSTELLEN DER DEPARTEMENTS DER SOZIALHILFE FíœR KINDER UNTERSTEHEN , DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN ANSTALTEN FíœR VERHALTENSGESTÖRTE MINDERJÄHRIGE MIT AUSNAHME DER NATIONALEN ANSTALTEN UND DER FíœRSORGEERZIEHUNGSANSTALTEN ' ' . ZU DEN BESTIMMUNGEN DES GENANNTEN STATUTS GEHÖRT AUCH ARTIKEL L 809 , WONACH ' ' NIEMAND IN EINE PLANSTELLE IN EINER DER IN ARTIKEL L 792 GENANNTEN ANSTALTEN EINGEWIESEN WERDEN KANN , 1 ) WENN ER NICHT DIE FRANZÖSISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT BESITZT ... ' ' .

3 DIE KOMMISSION WAR DER AUFFASSUNG , DASS DIESES STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEITSERFORDERNIS FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN SOWIE FíœR ZAHNÄRZTE GEGEN ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 2 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSE UND NICHT DURCH ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 GEDECKT SEI . SIE GAB DER FRANZÖSISCHEN REGIERUNG DESHALB MIT SCHREIBEN VOM 1 . DEZEMBER 1982 GELEGENHEIT ZUR ÄUSSERUNG . NACHDEM SIE DARAUF KEINE ANTWORT ERHALTEN HATTE , GAB SIE AM 23 . MÄRZ 1984 EINE MIT GRíœNDEN VERSEHENE STELLUNGNAHME AB , IN DER SIE DIE AUFFASSUNG VERTRAT , DASS DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK DURCH DIE AUFSTELLUNG EINES STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEITSERFORDERNISSES FíœR DIE EINWEISUNG IN DIE ENTSPRECHENDEN DAUERPLANSTELLEN UND FíœR DIE ERNENNUNG VON INHABERN SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT GEGEN IHRE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS DEM EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN HABE .

4 DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK ÄUSSERTE SICH ZU DIESER MIT GRíœNDEN VERSEHENEN STELLUNGNAHME NICHT . SIE BESEITIGTE JEDOCH DURCH DEKRET VOM 24 . FEBRUAR 1984 DAS STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEITSERFORDERNIS FíœR DIE DAUERPLANSTELLEN VON ZAHNÄRZTEN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN . DA DIESES ERFORDERNIS JEDOCH FíœR DIE EINWEISUNG IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN UND FíœR DIE ERNENNUNG VON INHABERN SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT AUFRECHTERHALTEN WURDE , HAT DIE KOMMISSION DIE VORLIEGENDE KLAGE ERHOBEN .

5 DIE KOMMISSION MACHT ZUNÄCHST UNTER BERUFUNG AUF DIE RECHTSPRECHUNG DES GERICHTSHOFES GELTEND , DASS DER AUSNAHMETATBESTAND DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG ENG AUSZULEGEN SEI . DAS KRITERIUM , NACH DEM BESTIMMT WERDEN KÖNNE , OB EINE BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG VORLIEGE , SEI EIN FUNKTIONELLES KRITERIUM , DAS AUF DIE MIT DEM FRAGLICHEN POSTEN VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN ABSTELLE : NUR DIEJENIGEN POSTEN , DIE INSOWEIT IN UNMITTELBAREM ZUSAMMENHANG MIT SPEZIFISCHEN TÄTIGKEITEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG STíœNDEN , ALS DIESE MIT DER AUSíœBUNG HOHEITLICHER BEFUGNISSE UND MIT DER VERANTWORTUNG FíœR DIE WAHRUNG DER ALLGEMEINEN BELANGE DES STAATES BETRAUT SEI , FIELEN UNTER DEN AUSNAHMETATBESTAND DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG . SOMIT WERDE DIE BESCHÄFTIGUNG ALS KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTER AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN NACH DER RECHTSPRECHUNG DES GERICHTSHOFES NICHT VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG ERFASST ; DER ZUGANG ZU DIESER BESCHÄFTIGUNG MíœSSE DEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER íœBRIGEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN DAHER OHNE DISKRIMINIERUNG GEWÄHRT WERDEN .

6 DIE KOMMISSION VERTRITT FERNER DEN STANDPUNKT , DASS DIE BESONDERHEITEN DES ÖFFENTLICHEN DIENSTES IN FRANKREICH ( GRUNDSATZ DER EINHEIT , DIENSTRECHT USW .) KEIN ANDERES ERGEBNIS RECHTFERTIGTEN , DENN SIE STíœNDEN IHRER NATUR NACH DER EINWEISUNG VON STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN ANDERER MITGLIEDSTAATEN IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTERN NICHT ENTGEGEN . DIE KOMMISSION RÄUMT ALLERDINGS EIN , DASS EIN AUSLÄNDER , DER ALS INHABER EINER SOLCHEN DAUERPLANSTELLE ZUM BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT ERNANNT WERDE , SPÄTER NICHT AUF EINE STELLE IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES EWG-VERTRAGES BEFÖRDERT WERDEN KÖNNE , WODURCH DER LAUFBAHNGRUNDSATZ IN FRAGE GESTELLT WERDE . SIE MEINT JEDOCH , WENN DEN STAATSAN GEHÖRIGEN DER íœBRIGEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN DER ZUGANG ZU DEN HIER IN REDE STEHENDEN PLANSTELLEN MIT DER BEGRíœNDUNG GANZ VERWEIGERT WERDE , DASS SIE SPÄTER NICHT AUF BESTIMMTE STELLEN BEFÖRDERT WERDEN KÖNNTEN , SO WíœRDEN SIE DADURCH LETZTLICH NOCH STÄRKER DISKRIMINIERT .

7 DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REGIERUNG FíœHRT IN ERSTER LINIE AUS , ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG BETREFFE ALLE BESCHÄFTIGUNGEN IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG UND NICHT NUR EINIGE DAVON . AUS DEM VERGLEICH ZWISCHEN ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG MIT ARTIKEL 55 EWG-VERTRAG ERGEBE SICH , DASS DAS IN DER ERSTGENANNTEN VORSCHRIFT VERWENDETE KRITERIUM INSTITUTIONELLEN UND NICHT FUNKTIONELLEN CHARAKTER HABE .

8 DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REGIERUNG MACHT DAZU GELTEND , ES SEI WEGEN DER GRUNDSÄTZE DER ORGANISATION UND DER INTERNEN ARBEITSWEISE DES FRANZÖSISCHEN ÖFFENTLICHEN DIENSTES UNMÖGLICH , DIESEN FíœR DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER íœBRIGEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN ZU ÖFFNEN . DER BEAMTE SEI IM DIENST DES STAATES TÄTIG , SEINE TÄTIGKEIT KÖNNE NICHT MIT DER EINES ARBEITNEHMERS IN DER PRIVATWIRTSCHAFT VERGLICHEN WERDEN . EINE REIHE VON GRUNDSÄTZEN ( EINHEIT DES ÖFFENTLICHEN DIENSTES , ÖFFENTLICH-RECHTLICHES DIENSTRECHT USW .) BEZWECKTEN GERADE , DIE ÖFFENTLICHE VERWALTUNG ZU EINEM INSTRUMENT DER VERWIRKLICHUNG DES GEMEINWOHLS ZU MACHEN . DAS VON DER KOMMISSION FíœR DIE ANWENDUNG DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG BEFíœRWORTETE KRITERIUM WíœRDE INSBESONDERE DEN LAUFBAHNGRUNDSATZ BEEINTRÄCHTIGEN , DER EIN WESENTLICHER GRUNDSATZ DES FRANZÖSISCHEN ÖFFENTLICHEN DIENSTES SEI : STAATSANGEHÖRIGE EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS , DIE ZUM ÖFFENTLICHEN DIENST ZUGELASSEN WíœRDEN , KÖNNTEN KEINESFALLS AUF DIENSTPOSTEN IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES EWG-VERTRAGES BEFÖRDERT WERDEN . DANN ABER GÄBE ES ZWEI ARTEN VON LAUFBAHNEN : EINE FíœR DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN UND EINE ANDERE , DIE DEN FRANZÖSISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN OFFENSTíœNDE , DIE AUF ALLE DIENSTPOSTEN BEFÖRDERT WERDEN KÖNNTEN .

9 DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REGIERUNG TRÄGT FERNER VOR , ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG SCHREIBE JEDENFALLS NICHT VOR , DASS DIE ARBEITNEHMER , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE ANDERER MITGLIEDSTAATEN SEIEN , DIE MÖGLICHKEIT HABEN MíœSSTEN , BEAMTE AUF LEBENSZEIT ZU WERDEN . ES REICHE VIELMEHR AUS , DASS SIE , WIE ES IN FRANKREICH DER FALL SEI , AUFGRUND VON ARBEITSVERTRÄGEN STELLEN IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN BEKLEIDEN KÖNNTEN . DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REGIERUNG HAT AUF EINE FRAGE DES GERICHTSHOFES IN DER MíœNDLICHEN VERHANDLUNG STATISTIKEN VORGELEGT , AUS DENEN HERVORGEHT , DASS DIE ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENANSTALTEN AM 31 . DEZEMBER 1983 89 000 KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN BESCHÄFTIGTEN , VON DENEN 86 000 BEAMTE WAREN UND 3 000 AUFGRUND VON VERTRÄGEN BESCHÄFTIGT WURDEN . VON LETZTEREN WAREN WENIGER ALS 5 % STAATSANGEHÖRIGE ANDERER MITGLIEDSTAATEN .

10 DIE ERSTE MIT DER VORLIEGENDEN KLAGE AUFGEWORFENE FRAGE GEHT DAHIN , OB DIE DIENSTPOSTEN DES KRANKENPFLEGERS UND DER KRANKENSCHWESTER IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN ALS BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG ANZUSEHEN SIND , FíœR DIE DAS DISKRIMINIERUNGSVERBOT DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 2 EWG-VERTRAG GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG NICHT GILT .

11 DAZU IST ZUNÄCHST DARAUF HINZUWEISEN , DASS DIE TRAGWEITE DER AUSNAHMEBESTIMMUNG DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 GEMÄSS DEM URTEIL VOM 12 . FEBRUAR 1974 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 152/73 ( SOTGIU/DEUTSCHE BUNDESPOST , SLG . 1974 , 163 ) NICHT NACH DER ART DES RECHTSVERHÄLTNISSES ZWISCHEN DEM ARBEITNEHMER UND DER IHN BESCHÄFTIGENDEN VERWALTUNG BESTIMMT WERDEN KANN . IN DEM GENANNTEN URTEIL HEISST ES : ' ' MANGELS JEGLICHER UNTERSCHEIDUNG IN DER GENANNTEN BESTIMMUNG IST ES OHNE BEDEUTUNG , OB EIN ARBEITNEHMER ALS ARBEITER , ANGESTELLTER ODER BEAMTER BESCHÄFTIGT WIRD ODER OB SEIN BESCHÄFTIGUNGSVERHÄLTNIS ÖFFENTLICHEM ODER PRIVATEM RECHT UNTERLIEGT . DIESE RECHTLICHEN QUALIFIZIERUNGEN KÖNNEN JE NACH DEN EINZELSTAATLICHEN RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN VERSCHIEDENEN INHALT HABEN UND SIND DESWEGEN FíœR DIE BEDíœRFNISSE DES GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHTS ALS AUSLEGUNGSMERKMAL UNGEEIGNET . ' ' DER ZUGANG ZU EINZELNEN STELLEN KANN NICHT DESHALB EINGESCHRÄNKT WERDEN , WEIL IN EINEM BESTIMMTEN MITGLIEDSTAAT DIE PERSONEN , DIE DIESE STELLEN BEKLEIDEN SOLLEN , NACH DEM FíœR SIE GELTENDEN DIENSTRECHT ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT ERNANNT WERDEN . WíœRDE MAN NÄMLICH DIE ANWENDUNG DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG VON DER RECHTSNATUR DES VERHÄLTNISSES ZWISCHEN DEM BEDIENSTETEN UND DER VERWALTUNG ABHÄNGIG MACHEN , SO GÄBE MAN DAMIT DEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN DIE MÖGLICHKEIT , NACH BELIEBEN DIE STELLEN ZU VERMEHREN , DIE UNTER DIESE AUSNAHMEBESTIMMUNG FALLEN .

12 WIE DER GERICHTSHOF INSBESONDERE IN DEM URTEIL VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 149/79 ( KOMMISSION/KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN , SLG . 1980 , 3881 ) AUSGEFíœHRT HAT , IST BEI DER PRíœFUNG DER FRAGE , OB BESTIMMTE TÄTIGKEITEN UNTER DEN BEGRIFF DER BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG FALLEN , ZU UNTERSUCHEN , ' ' OB DIE BETREFFENDEN STELLEN TYPISCH FíœR DIE SPEZIFISCHEN TÄTIGKEITEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG INSOWEIT SIND , ALS DIESE MIT DER AUSíœBUNG HOHEITLICHER BEFUGNISSE UND MIT DER VERANTWORTUNG FíœR DIE WAHRUNG DER ALLGEMEINEN BELANGE DES STAATES BETRAUT IST ' ' . WIE DER GERICHTSHOF IN DIESEM URTEIL WEITER AUSGEFíœHRT HAT , IST DIESE AUSLEGUNG , NACH DER DAS KRITERIUM FíœR DIE ANWENDUNG DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 FUNKTIONELL SEIN UND AUF DIE NATUR DER MIT DER STELLE VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN UND VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN ABSTELLEN MUSS , GEBOTEN , UM ZU VERHINDERN , DASS ' ' DIE PRAKTISCHE WIRKSAMKEIT UND DIE TRAGWEITE DER VERTRAGSBESTIMMUNGEN íœBER DIE FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER UND íœBER DIE GLEICHBEHANDLUNG DER ANGEHÖRIGEN ALLER MITGLIEDSTAATEN DURCH AUSLEGUNGEN DES BEGRIFFS DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG BEGRENZT WERDEN , DIE ALLEIN AUS DEM NATIONA LEN RECHT GEWONNEN WERDEN UND DIE ANWENDUNG DES GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHTS VEREITELN WíœRDEN ' ' .

13 WIE SICH SCHLIESSLICH AUS DEM URTEIL VOM 26 . MAI 1982 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 149/79 ( KOMMISSION/KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN , SLG . 1982 , 1845 ) ERGIBT , HANDELT ES SICH BEI DER TÄTIGKEIT ALS KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTER IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN ANGESICHTS DER NATUR DER DAMIT VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN UND VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN NICHT UM EINE BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG .

14 DIE ZWEITE MIT DER VORLIEGENDEN KLAGE AUFGEWORFENE FRAGE GEHT DAHIN , OB DIE BEANSTANDETE VORSCHRIFT DES FRANZÖSISCHEN CODE DE LA SANTE PUBLIQUE EINE DURCH ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 2 EWG-VERTRAG VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG ENTHÄLT .

15 DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REGIERUNG FíœHRT DAZU AUS , FíœR DEN ZUGANG ZUR TÄTIGKEIT ALS KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTER IN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN GEBE ES KEIN STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEITSERFORDERNIS . DIESE STELLEN STíœNDEN DEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN OFFEN , SOWEIT ES DARUM GEHE , BEDIENSTETE AUF DER GRUNDLAGE VON ARBEITSVERTRÄGEN UND NICHT ALS BEAMTE EINZUSTELLEN .

16 DIESES VORBRINGEN IST ZURíœCKZUWEISEN , DA DER BEKLAGTE MITGLIEDSTAAT NICHT DARGETAN HAT , DASS ALLE AN DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN AUSGESCHRIEBENEN STELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER ODER KRANKENSCHWESTERN AUCH DEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN OFFENSTEHEN UND DASS DIESE , WENN SIE EINGESTELLT WERDEN , EINER REGELUNG UNTERLIEGEN , DIE ABGESEHEN VON DER MÖGLICHKEIT EINER BEFÖRDERUNG AUF STELLEN IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE DES VERTRAGES VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN UND GARANTIEN ENTHÄLT , DIE IN ALLEN PUNKTEN DENEN ENTSPRECHEN , DIE SICH AUS DEM DEN FRANZÖSISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN VORBEHALTENEN BEAMTENVERHÄLTNIS ERGEBEN .

17 SOMIT IST FESTZUSTELLEN , DASS DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK DURCH DEN ERLASS DER BESTIMMUNG , DASS NUR FRANZÖSISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN EINGEWIESEN UND ALS INHABER SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT ERNANNT WERDEN KÖNNEN , GEGEN IHRE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN HAT .

Kostenentscheidung

KOSTEN

18 NACH ARTIKEL 69 PAR 2 DER VERFAHRENSORDNUNG HAT DIE UNTERLIEGENDE PARTEI DIE KOSTEN ZU TRAGEN . DA DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK MIT IHREM VORBRINGEN UNTERLEGEN IST , SIND IHR DIE KOSTEN AUFZUERLEGEN .

Urteilstenor

AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN

HAT

DER GERICHTSHOF

FíœR RECHT ERKANNT UND ENTSCHIEDEN :

1 ) DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK HAT DURCH DEN ERLASS DER BESTIMMUNG , DASS NUR FRANZÖSISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE IN DAUERPLANSTELLEN FíœR KRANKENPFLEGER UND KRANKENSCHWESTERN AN ÖFFENTLICHEN KRANKENHÄUSERN EINGEWIESEN UND ALS INHABER SOLCHER STELLEN ZU BEAMTEN AUF LEBENSZEIT ERNANNT WERDEN KÖNNEN , GEGEN IHRE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN .

2 ) DIE FRANZÖSISCHE REPUBLIK TRÄGT DIE KOSTEN DES VERFAHRENS .