EuGH, Rs. 149 / 79 v. 26.5.1982 - Zwischenurteil Belgien (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 26.5.1982, Rs. 149 / 79, Slg. 1982, 1845 - Komission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Königreich Belgien


EWG-Vetrag Art. 48

Summary

EMPLOYMENT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE EEC TREATY MUST BE CONNECTED WITH THE SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE IN SO FAR AS IT IS ENTRUSTED WITH THE EXERCISE OF POWERS CONFERRED BY PUBLIC LAW AND WITH RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFEGUARDING THE GENERAL INTERETS OF THE STATE , TO WHICH THE SPECIFIC INTERESTS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES SUCH AS MUNICIPALITIES MUST BE ASSIMILATED .

Parties

IN CASE 149/79

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES , REPRESENTED BY ITS LEGAL ADVISER , JEAN AMPHOUX , ACTING AS AGENT , ASSISTED BY LOUIS DUBOUIS , A PROFESSOR AT THE FACULTY OF LAW AND POLITICAL SCIENCE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF AIX- MARSEILLE III , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE OFFICE OF ORESTE MONTALTO , A MEMBER OF ITS LEGAL DEPARTMENT , JEAN MONNET BUILDING , PLATEAU DU KIRCHBERG ,

APPLICANT ,

V

KINGDOM OF BELGIUM , REPRESENTED BY THE MINISTER FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS , WHOSE AGENT IS ROBERT HOEBAER , DIRECTOR AT THE MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS , FOREIGN TRADE AND COOPERATION WITH DEVELOPING COUNTRIES , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE BELGIAN EMBASSY , RESIDENCE CHAMPAGNE , 4 RUE DES GIRONDINS ,

DEFENDANT ,

SUPPORTED BY

FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY , REPRESENTED BY MARTIN SEIDEL AND EBERHARDT GRABITZ , ACTING AS AGENTS , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE CHANCELLERY OF THE EMBASSY OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY , 20 AND 22 AVENUE EMILE REUTER ,

FRENCH REPUBLIC , REPRESENTED BY G . GUILLAUME , ACTING AS AGENT , AND P . MOREAU DEFARGES , ACTING AS DEPUTY AGENT , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE FRENCH EMBASSY , 2 RUE BERTHOLET , AND

UNITED KINGDOM , REPRESENTED BY W . H . GODWIN , ASSISTANT TREASURY SOLICITOR , ACTING AS AGENT , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE BRITISH EMBASSY , 28 BOULEVARD ROYAL ,

INTERVENERS ,

Subject of the case

APPLICATION FOR A DECLARATION THAT THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 48 OF THE EEC TREATY AS WELL AS UNDER REGULATION ( EEC ) NO 1612/68 OF THE COUNCIL OF 15 OCTOBER 1968 ON FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS WITHIN THE COMMUNITY BY MAKING BELGIAN NATIONALITY A CONDITION OF ENTRY FOR POSTS WHICH DO NOT COME UNDER ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE EEC TREATY ,

Grounds of the judgment

1 BY APPLICATION LODGED AT THE COURT REGISTRY ON 28 SEPTEMBER 1979 THE COMMISSION BROUGHT AN ACTION UNDER ARTICLE 169 OF THE EEC TREATY FOR A DECLARATION THAT BY REQUIRING OR PERMITTING TO BE REQUIRED THE POSSESSION OF BELGIAN NATIONALITY AS A CONDITION OF RECRUITMENT TO POSTS NOT COVERED BY ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY , THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 48 OF THE TREATY AND REGULATION ( EEC ) NO 1612/68 ON FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS WITHIN THE COMMUNITY ( OFFICIAL JOURNAL , ENGLISH SPECIAL EDITION 1969 ( II ), P . 475 ).

2 BY AN INTERIM JUDGMENT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 (( 1980 ) ECR 3881 ) THE COURT DEFINED A NUMBER OF CRITERIA ENABLING THE SCOPE OF THE EXCEPTION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY TO BE DETERMINED WITH REGARD TO POSTS SUCH AS THOSE AT ISSUE WHICH ARE OFFERED BY PUBLIC AUTHORITIES .

3 HOWEVER , THE INFORMATION AVAILABLE IN THE CASE , WHICH WAS PROVIDED BY THE PARTIES DURING THE WRITTEN AND ORAL PROCEDURE , DID NOT ENABLE THE COURT ACCURATELY TO APPRAISE THE ACTUAL NATURE OF THE DUTIES INVOLVED IN THE POSTS IN QUESTION AND TO DETERMINE WHICH OF THOSE POSTS WERE NOT WITHIN THE AMBIT OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ). CONSEQUENTLY IT INVITED THE PARTIES TO RE-EXAMINE THE ISSUE BETWEEN THEM , TAKING ACCOUNT OF THE PRINCIPLES OF INTERPRETATION DEFINED BY THE COURT AND HAVING REGARD TO THE CHARACTERISTICS OF EACH POST .

4 THE OPERATIVE PART OF THE AFORESAID JUDGMENT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 PROVIDES AS FOLLOWS :

' ' THE COURT . . . HEREBY ORDERS THE COMMISSION AND THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM TO RE-EXAMINE THE ISSUE BETWEEN THEM IN THE LIGHT OF THE LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS CONTAINED IN THIS JUDGMENT AND TO REPORT TO THE COURT ON THE RESULT OF THAT EXAMINATION BEFORE 1 JULY 1981 , AFTER WHICH DATE THE COURT WILL GIVE A FINAL DECISION . ' '

5 THE COMMISSION AND THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO AGREE ON A SINGLE REPORT TO BE SUBMITTED JOINTLY TO THE COURT AND AFTER THE PERIOD PRESCRIBED , ORIGINALLY ENDING ON 1 JULY 1981 , HAD BEEN EXTENDED THEY SUBMITTED TWO SEPARATE REPORTS ON 29 AND 30 OCTOBER RESPECTIVELY . THOSE REPORTS SHOW THAT THE PARTIES STILL DISAGREE ON THE QUESTION WHETHER , IN THE LIGHT OF THE LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS CONTAINED IN THE JUDGMENT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 , SOME OR ALL OF THE POSTS AT ISSUE ARE OF THE KIND TO WHICH THE RESERVATION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY APPLIES . HOWEVER , THE PARTIES DO NOT DISAGREE ON THE NATURE OF THE DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES INVOLVED IN EACH OF THE POSTS AT ISSUE , WHICH BOTH REPORTS DESCRIBE IN BASICALLY THE SAME TERMS .

6 THE TASK THEREFORE FALLS ON THE COURT TO SETTLE THE DISPUTE BY EXAMINING WHETHER AND TO WHAT EXTENT THE POSTS AT ISSUE , AS DESCRIBED IN THE TWO REPORTS AFORESAID , MUST BE REGARDED AS POSTS WHICH FALL WITHIN THE AMBIT OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ), AS DEFINED IN THE JUDGMENT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 .

7 IT FOLLOWS FROM THAT JUDGMENT , IN PARTICULAR FROM PARAGRAPHS 12 AND 19 , THAT EMPLOYMENT WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY MUST BE CONNECTED WITH THE SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE IN SO FAR AS IT IS ENTRUSTED WITH THE EXERCISE OF POWERS CONFERRED BY PUBLIC LAW AND WITH RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFEGUARDING THE GENERAL INTERESTS OF THE STATE , TO WHICH THE SPECIFIC INTERESTS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES SUCH AS MUNICIPALITIES MUST BE ASSIMILATED .

8 THE COMMISSION HAS RIGHTLY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT , REGARD BEING HAD TO THE DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES ATTACHED TO SOME OF THE POSTS AT ISSUE DESCRIBED IN THE AFORESAID REPORTS , THEY MAY HAVE CHARACTERISTICS WHICH BRING THEM WITHIN THE SCOPE OF THE EXCEPTION CONTAINED IN ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY IN THE LIGHT OF THE CRITERIA ESTABLISHED IN THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF 17 DECEMBER 1980 . THE POSTS ARE THOSE DESCRIBED AS HEAD TECHNICAL OFFICE SUPERVISOR , PRINCIPAL SUPERVISOR , WORKS SUPERVISOR , STOCK CONTROLLER AND NIGHT WATCHMAN WITH THE MUNICIPALITY OF BRUSSELS AND ARCHITECT WITH THE MUNICIPALITIES OF BRUSSELS AND AUDERGHEM . THOSE MATTERS MAY THEREFORE BE REGARDED AS BEING NO LONGER AT ISSUE .

9 HOWEVER , AS FAR AS THE OTHER POSTS DEALT WITH IN THE TWO REPORTS IN QUESTION ARE CONCERNED , IT DOES NOT APPEAR FORM THE NATURE OF THE DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES WHICH THEY INVOLVE THAT THEY CONSTITUTE ' ' EMPLOYMENT IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE ' ' WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY .

10 THE ARGUMENTS PUT FORWARD BY THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM WITH REGARD TO CERTAIN POSTS WITH THE SOCIETE NATIONALE DES CHEMINS DE FER BELGES ( BELGIAN NATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY ) AND THE SOCIETE NATIONALE DES CHEMINS DE FER VICINAUX ( NATIONAL LOCAL RAILWAY COMPANY ) ACCORDING TO WHICH THE QUESTION OF THE ADMISSION OF FOREIGN STAFF MUST BE CONSIDERED ABOVE ALL IN TERMS OF THE POSSIBILITY THAT A SITUATION MAY ARISE IN WHICH THE SECURITY OF THE STATE IS JEOPARDIZED CANNOT BE ACCEPTED IN THE CONTEXT OF ARTICLE 48 ( 4 ) OF THE TREATY . SUCH A LINE OF ARGUMENT IS BASED ON AN HYPOTHESIS WHICH HAS NO CONNECTION WITH THE LEGAL CONTEXT OF THAT PROVISION .

11 FOR THOSE REASONS IT MUST BE DECLARED THAT BY MAKING BELGIAN NATIONALITY OR ALLOWING IT TO BE MADE A CONDITION OF ENTRY FOR THE POSTS REFERRED TO IN THE REPORTS LODGED BY THE PARTIES ON 29 AN 30 OCTOBER 1981 , OTHER THAN THOSE OF HEAD TECHNICAL OFFICE SUPERVISOR , PRINCIPAL SUPERVISOR , WORKS SUPERVISOR , STOCK CONTROLLER AND NIGHT WATCHMAN WITH THE MUNICIPALITY OF BRUSSELS AND THAT OF ARCHITECT WITH THE MUNICIPALITIES OF BRUSSELS AND AUDERGHEM , THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE EEC TREATY .

Decision on costs

COSTS

12 UNDER THE FIRST SUBPARAGRAPH OF ARTICLE 69 ( 3 ) OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE THE COURT MAY ORDER THAT THE PARTIES BEAR THEIR OWN COSTS IN WHOLE OR IN PART WHERE EACH PARTY SUCCEEDS ON SOME AND FAILS ON OTHER HEADS .

13 SINCE THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAS FAILED ON A NUMBER OF HEADS OF ITS DEFENCE IT MUST BE ORDERED TO BEAR HALF THE COSTS INCURRED BY THE COMMISSION . THE INTERVENERS SHOULD BE ORDERED TO BEAR THEIR OWN COSTS .

Operative part of the judgment

ON THOSE GROUNDS ,

THE COURT

HEREBY :

1 . DECLARES THAT BY MAKING BELGIAN NATIONALITY OR ALLOWING IT TO BE MADE A CONDITION OF ENTRY FOR THE POSTS REFERRED TO IN THE REPORTS LODGED BY THE PARTIES ON 29 AND 30 OCTOBER 1981 , OTHER THAN THOSE OF HEAD TECHNICAL OFFICE SUPERVISOR , PRINCIPAL SUPERVISOR , WORKS SUPERVISOR , STOCK CONTROLLER AND NIGHT WATCHMAN WITH THE MUNICIPALITY OF BRUSSELS AND THAT OF ARCHITECT WITH THE MUNICIPALITIES OF BRUSSELS AND AUDERGHEM , THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE EEC TREATY ;

2.ORDERS THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM TO BEAR HALF THE COSTS INCURRED BY THE COMMISSION AND THE INTERVENERS TO BEAR THEIR OWN COSTS .

EuGH, Rs. 149 / 79 v. 26.5.1982 - Zwischenurteil Belgien


EuGH, Urteil v. 26.5.1982, Rs. 149 / 79, Slg. 1982, 1845 - Komission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Königreich Belgien


EWG-Vetrag Art. 48
Leitsätze

EINE BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG LIEGT IM FALLE VON STELLEN VOR , DIE EINEN ZUSAMMENHANG MIT DEN SPEZIFISCHEN TÄTIGKEITEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG AUFWEISEN , SOWEIT DIESE MIT DER AUSíœBUNG HOHEITLICHER BE FUGNISSE UND MIT DER VERANTWORTUNG FíœR DIE WAHRUNG DER ALLGEMEINEN BELANGE DES STAATES BETRAUT IST ; DIESEN BELANGEN SIND DIEJENIGEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN KÖRPERSCHAFTEN WIE ETWA DER GEMEINDEN GLEICHZUSTELLEN .

Entscheidungsgründe

1 DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN HAT MIT KLAGESCHRIFT , DIE AM 28 . SEPTEMBER 1979 BEI DER KANZLEI DES GERICHTSHOFES EINGEGANGEN IST , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 169 EWG-VERTRAG KLAGE AUF FESTSTELLUNG ERHOBEN , DASS DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN ' ' GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG UND AUS DER VERORDNUNG ( EWG ) NR . 1612/68 íœBER DIE FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER INNERHALB DER GEMEINSCHAFT ( ABL . L 257 , S . 2 ) VERSTOSSEN HAT , INDEM ES DEN BESITZ DER BELGISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT ZUR VORAUSSETZUNG FíœR DIE EINSTELLUNG IN NICHT UNTER ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG FALLENDE STELLEN GEMACHT ODER DIE AUFSTELLUNG DIESER VORAUSSETZUNG ZUGELASSEN HAT ' ' .

2 MIT URTEIL VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 ( SLG . 1980 , 3881 ) HAT DER GERICHTSHOF DIE ENTSCHEIDUNG íœBER DIE VERTRAGSVERLETZUNGSKLAGE AUSGESETZT UND BESTIMMTE KRITERIEN AUFGESTELLT , ANHAND DEREN SICH DIE TRAGWEITE DES IN ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG ENTHALTENEN VORBEHALTES IM HINBLICK AUF STELLEN BESTIMMEN LÄSST , DIE - WIE DIE IM VORLIEGENDEN FALL IN STREIT STEHENDEN STELLEN - VON ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNGEN ANGEBOTEN WERDEN .

3 DIE IN DEN AKTEN ENTHALTENEN UND VON DEN PARTEIEN IM LAUFE DES SCHRIFTLICHEN UND MíœNDLICHEN VERFAHRENS GEMACHTEN ANGABEN ERLAUBTEN ES DEM GERICHTSHOF JEDOCH NICHT , DIE WIRKLICHE NATUR DER MIT DEN STREITIGEN STELLEN VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN MIT SICHERHEIT ZU BEURTEILEN UND FESTZUSTELLEN , WELCHE DIESER STELLEN NICHT IN DEN ANWENDUNGSBEREICH VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 FALLEN . ER HAT DIE PARTEIEN DESHALB AUFGEFORDERT , DIE STREITFRAGE UNTER BERíœCKSICHTIGUNG DER VOM GERICHTSHOF FESTGELEGTEN AUSLEGUNGSGRUNDSÄTZE UND IM HINBLICK AUF DIE MERKMALE DER EINZELNEN STELLEN ERNEUT ZU PRíœFEN .

4 DIE URTEILSFORMEL DES VORGENANNTEN URTEILS VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 LAUTET WIE FOLGT :

' ' DIE PARTEIEN WERDEN DEN STREITGEGENSTAND IM LICHTE DER RECHTLICHEN ERWÄGUNGEN DIESES URTEILS ERNEUT PRíœFEN UND DEM GERICHTSHOF íœBER DAS ERZIELTE ERGEBNIS BIS ZUM 1 . JULI 1981 BERICHTEN . IM ANSCHLUSS DARAN WIRD DER GERICHTSHOF ENDGíœLTIG ENTSCHEIDEN . ' '

5 DIE KOMMISSION UND DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN KONNTEN SICH NICHT AUF EINEN EINHEITLICHEN , DEM GERICHTSHOF GEMEINSAM VORZULEGENDEN BERICHT EINIGEN UND HABEN - NACH VERLÄNGERUNG DER BIS ZUM 1 . JULI 1981 BEMESSENEN FRIST - AM 29 . BZW . 30 . OKTOBER 1981 ZWEI GETRENNTE BERICHTE VORGELEGT . WIE AUS DIESEN BERICHTEN HERVORGEHT , BESTEHT ZWISCHEN DEN PARTEIEN NACH WIE VOR KEINE EINIGKEIT íœBER DIE FRAGE , OB DIE STREITIGEN STELLEN UNTER ZUGRUNDELEGUNG DER IM URTEIL DES GERICHTSHOFES VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 ENTHALTENEN RECHTLICHEN ERWÄGUNGEN INSGESAMT ODER TEILWEISE UNTER DEN VORBEHALT DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG FALLEN . DAGEGEN BESTEHEN KEINE MEINUNGSVERSCHIEDENHEITEN MEHR HINSICHTLICH DER NATUR DER AUFGABEN UND DER VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN , DIE MIT DEN STREITIGEN STELLEN JEWEILS VERBUNDEN SIND ; DIE IN DEN BEIDEN BERICHTEN ENTHALTENEN BESCHREIBUNGEN DIESER STELLEN STIMMEN IM WESENTLICHEN íœBEREIN .

6 UNTER DIESEN UMSTÄNDEN HAT DER GERICHTSHOF FíœR DIE ENTSCHEIDUNG DES RECHTSSTREITS ZU PRíœFEN , OB UND IN WELCHEM UMFANG DIE IN DEN BEIDEN VORGENANNTEN BERICHTEN BESCHRIEBENEN STREITIGEN STELLEN ALS STELLEN ANZUSEHEN SIND , DIE IN DEN ANWENDUNGSBEREICH VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 IN DER IHM DURCH DAS URTEIL VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 GEGEBENEN AUSLEGUNG FALLEN .

7 WIE AUS DIESEM URTEIL , NAMENTLICH AUS SEINEN RANDNUMMERN 12 UND 19 , HERVORGEHT , LIEGT EINE BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG IM SINNE VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG IM FALLE VON STELLEN VOR , DIE EINEN ZUSAMMENHANG MIT DEN SPEZIFISCHEN TÄTIGKEITEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG AUFWEISEN , SOWEIT DIESE MIT DER AUSíœBUNG HOHEITLICHER BEFUGNISSE UND MIT DER VERANTWORTUNG FíœR DIE WAHRUNG DER ALLGEMEINEN BELANGE DES STAATES BETRAUT IST ; DIESEN BELANGEN SIND DIEJENIGEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN KÖRPERSCHAFTEN WIE ETWA DER GEMEINDEN GLEICHZUSTELLEN .

8 ZU RECHT HAT DIE KOMMISSION ANERKANNT , DASS EINIGE DER IN DEN VORGENANNTEN BERICHTEN BESCHRIEBENEN STREITIGEN STELLEN IM HINBLICK AUF DIE MIT IHNEN VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN UND VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN DIE MERKMALE AUFWEISEN KÖNNEN , DIE SIE IM LICHTE DER IM URTEIL DES GERICHTSHOFES VOM 17 . DEZEMBER 1980 AUFGESTELLTEN KRITERIEN UNTER DEN VORBEHALT DES ARTIKELS 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG FALLEN LASSEN . ES HANDELT SICH UM DIE STELLEN MIT DEN BEZEICHNUNGEN ' ' LEITER DER TECHNISCHEN KONTROLLE ' ' , ' ' HAUPTKONTROLLEUR ' ' , ' ' ARBEITSKONTROLLEUR ' ' , ' ' INVENTARKONTROLLEUR ' ' UND ' ' NACHTWÄCHTER ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG VON BRíœSSEL SOWIE UM DIE STELLEN MIT DER BEZEICHNUNG ' ' ARCHITEKT ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG VON BRíœSSEL UND DER GEMEINDEVERWALTUNG VON AUDERGHEM . FOLGLICH KÖNNEN DIESE STREITPUNKTE ALS ERLEDIGT ANGESEHEN WERDEN .

9 HINGEGEN HANDELT ES SICH BEI DEN ANDEREN IN DIESEN BEIDEN BERICHTEN AUFGEFíœHRTEN STELLEN ANGESICHTS DER NATUR DER MIT IHNEN VERBUNDENEN AUFGABEN UND VERANTWORTLICHKEITEN NICHT UM EINE ' ' BESCHÄFTIGUNG IN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN VERWALTUNG ' ' IM SINNE VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRG .

10 DEM VORBRINGEN DES KÖNIGREICHS BELGIEN BEZUEGLICH BESTIMMTER STELLEN BEI DEN EISENBAHNGESELLSCHAFTEN SOCIETE NATIONALE DES CHEMINS DE FER BELGES ( SNCB ) UND SOCIETE NATIONALE DES CHEMINS DE FER VICINAUX ( SNCV ), WONACH DIE FRAGE DER ZULASSUNG VON AUSLÄNDERN VOR ALLEM UNTER DEM GESICHTSPUNKT DER MÖGLICHEN ENTSTEHUNG EINER GEFAHRENLAGE FíœR DIE SICHERHEIT DES STAATES ZU BEURTEILEN SEI , KANN IM RAHMEN VON ARTIKEL 48 ABSATZ 4 EWG-VERTRAG NICHT GEFOLGT WERDEN . EIN SOLCHES VORBRINGEN BEZIEHT SICH AUF EINEN AUSSERHALB DES RECHTLICHEN RAHMENS DIESER BESTIMMUNG LIEGENDEN FALL .

11 AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN IST FESTZUSTELLEN , DASS DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS DEM EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN HAT , INDEM ES DEN ZUGANG ZU DEN STELLEN , DIE IN DEN VON DEN PARTEIEN AM 29 . UND 30 . OKTOBER 1981 VORGELEGTEN BERICHTEN GENANNT SIND , VON DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT ABHÄNGIG GEMACHT ODER DIE AUFSTELLUNG DIESER VORAUSSETZUNG ZUGELASSEN HAT ; DIESE FESTSTELLUNG GILT NICHT FíœR DIE STELLEN EINES ' ' LEITERS DER TECHNISCHEN KONTROLLE ' ' , ' ' HAUPTKONTROLLEURS ' ' , ' ' ARBEITSKONTROLLEURS ' ' , ' ' INVENTARKONTROLLEURS ' ' UND ' ' NACHTWÄCHTERS ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG BRíœSSEL SOWIE EINES ' ' ARCHITEKTEN ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG BRíœSSEL UND DER GEMEINDEVERWALTUNG AUDERGHEM .

Kostenentscheidung

KOSTEN

12 NACH ARTIKEL 69 PAR 3 ABSATZ 1 DER VERFAHRENSORDNUNG KANN DER GERICHTSHOF DIE KOSTEN GANZ ODER TEILWEISE GEGENEINANDER AUFHEBEN , WENN JEDE PARTEI TEILS OBSIEGT , TEILS UNTERLIEGT .

13 DA DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN MIT EINEM TEIL SEINES VORBRINGENS UNTERLEGEN IST , IST IHM DIE HÄLFTE DER KOSTEN DER KOMMISSION AUFZUERLEGEN . DIE STREITHELFER TRAGEN IHRE EIGENEN KOSTEN .

AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN

Urteilstenor

HAT

DER GERICHTSHOF

FíœR RECHT ERKANNT UND ENTSCHIEDEN :

1 . DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN HAT GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS DEM EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN , INDEM ES DEN ZUGANG ZU DEN STELLEN , DIE IN DEN VON DEN PARTEIEN AM 29 . UND 30 . OKTOBER 1981 VORGELEGTEN BERICHTEN GENANNT SIND , VON DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT ABHÄNGIG GEMACHT ODER DIE AUFSTELLUNG DIESER VORAUSSETZUNG ZUGELASSEN HAT ; DIESE FESTSTELLUNG GILT NICHT FíœR DIE STELLEN EINES ' ' LEITERS DER TECHNISCHEN KONTROLLE ' ' , ' ' HAUPTKONTROLLEURS ' ' , ' ' ARBEITSKONTROLLEURS ' ' , ' ' INVENTARKONTROLLEURS ' ' UND ' ' NACHTWÄCHTERS ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG BRíœSSEL SOWIE EINES ' ' ARCHITEKTEN ' ' DER STADTVERWALTUNG BRíœSSEL UND DER GEMEINDEVERWALTUNG AUDERGHEM .

2.DAS KÖNIGREICH BELGIEN TRÄGT DIE HÄLFTE DER KOSTEN DER KOMMISSION . DIE STREITHELFER TRAGEN IHRE EIGENEN KOSTEN .