EuGH, Rs. 59 / 85 v. 17.4.1986 - Reed (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 17.4.1986. Rs. 59 / 85, Slg. 1986, 1283 - Niederländischer Staat / Ann Florence Reed


EWG - Vertag Art. 7, 48; Verordnung Nr. 1612/68 des Rates

Summary

1 . ARTICLE 10 ( 1 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 CANNOT BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT THE COMPANION , IN A STABLE RELATIONSHIP , OF A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF A MEMBER STATE AND IS EMPLOYED IN THE TERRITORY OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE MUST IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES BE TREATED AS HIS ' SPOUSE ' FOR THE PURPOSES OF THAT PROVISION .

2 . THE POSSIBILITY FOR A MIGRANT WORKER OF OBTAINING PERMISSION FOR HIS UNMARRIED COMPANION TO RESIDE WITH HIM , WHERE THAT COMPANION IS NOT A NATIONAL OF THE HOST MEMBER STATE , CAN ASSIST HIS INTEGRATION IN THE HOST STATE AND THUS CONTRIBUTE TO THE ACHIEVEMENT OF FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS . CONSEQUENTLY , THAT POSSIBILITY MUST BE REGARDED AS FALLING WITHIN THE CONCEPT OF A SOCIAL ADVANTAGE FOR THE PURPOSES OF ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 .

IT MUST THEREFORE BE CONCLUDED THAT A MEMBER STATE WHICH GRANTS SUCH AN ADVANTAGE TO ITS OWN NATIONALS CANNOT REFUSE TO GRANT IT TO WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES WITHOUT BEING GUILTY OF DISCRIMINATION ON GROUNDS OF NATIONALITY , CONTRARY TO ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE TREATY .

Parties

IN CASE 59/85

REFERENCE TO THE COURT UNDER ARTICLE 177 OF THE EEC TREATY BY THE HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN ( SUPREME COURT OF THE NETHERLANDS ) FOR A PRELIMINARY RULING IN THE PROCEEDINGS PENDING BEFORE THAT COURT BETWEEN

STATE OF THE NETHERLANDS ( MINISTRY OF JUSTICE )

AND

ANN FLORENCE REED , OF SWINDON , GREAT BRITAIN ,

Subject of the case

ON THE INTERPRETATION OF ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE EEC TREATY AND ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION ( EEC ) NO 1612/68 OF THE COUNCIL OF 15 OCTOBER 1968 ON FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS WITHIN THE COMMUNITY ( OFFICIAL JOURNAL , ENGLISH SPECIAL EDITION , 1968 ( II ), P . 475 ),

Grounds of the judgment

1 BY AN ORDER OF 22 FEBRUARY 1985 , WHICH WAS RECEIVED AT THE COURT ON 1 MARCH 1985 , THE HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN REFERRED TO THE COURT FOR A PRELIMINARY RULING UNDER ARTICLE 177 OF THE TREATY THREE QUESTIONS ON THE INTERPRETATION OF ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE EEC TREATY AND ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION ( EEC ) NO 1612/68 OF THE COUNCIL OF 15 OCTOBER 1968 ON FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS WITHIN THE COMMUNITY .

2 THE QUESTIONS AROSE IN THE COURSE OF PROCEEDINGS CONCERNING THE REJECTION , BY DECISION OF THE STATE SECRETARY OF JUSTICE OF 21 OCTOBER 1982 , OF THE APPLICATION FOR A RESIDENCE PERMIT MADE BY ANN FLORENCE REED , THE APPLICANT IN THE MAIN PROCEEDINGS , AS THE COMPANION OF A WORKER FROM ANOTHER MEMBER STATE .

3 IT APPEARS FROM THE DOCUMENTS BEFORE THE COURT THAT UNDER THE VREEMDELINGENCIRCULAIRE 1982 , WHICH SETS OUT NETHERLANDS POLICY ON ALIENS , AN ALIEN WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH A NETHERLANDS NATIONAL , WITH AN ALIEN WHO HAS BEEN ADMITTED TO THE NETHERLANDS AS A REFUGEE OR AS A PERSON ENTITLED TO ASYLUM , OR WITH AN ALIEN WHO IS A HOLDER OF A PERMANENT RESIDENCE PERMIT , MAY UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS BE PERMITTED TO RESIDE IN THE NETHERLANDS . IN PARTICULAR , THE PERSONS CONCERNED MUST LIVE TOGETHER AS ONE HOUSEHOLD , OR HAVE LIVED TOGETHER AS SUCH BEFORE ARRIVING IN THE NETHERLANDS , BE UNMARRIED AND POSSESS ADEQUATE MEANS OF SUPPORT FOR THE FOREIGN PARTNER AND APPROPRIATE ACCOMMODATION .

4 MISS REED , AN UNMARRIED BRITISH NATIONAL , ARRIVED IN THE NETHERLANDS ON 5 NOVEMBER 1981 AND REGISTERED FOR EMPLOYMENT ON 22 JANUARY 1982 ; SHE DID NOT , HOWEVER , SUCCEED IN FINDING A JOB . ON 24 MARCH 1982 SHE APPLIED ON THE GROUND THAT SHE WAS LIVING WITH MR W . FOR A RESIDENCE PERMIT . MR W ., WHO IS ALSO AN UNMARRIED BRITISH NATIONAL , HAS WORKED IN THE NETHERLANDS SINCE 5 NOVEMBER 1981 AND ON 23 FEBRUARY 1982 OBTAINED A RESIDENCE PERMIT AS A NATIONAL OF A MEMBER STATE OF THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY VALID UNTIL 5 NOVEMBER 1986 . ON THE DATE OF THE CONTESTED DECISION MISS REED AND MR W . WERE LIVING TOGETHER IN THE NETHERLANDS AND HAD A STABLE RELATIONSHIP OF SOME FIVE YEARS STANDING .

5 MISS REED APPLIED FOR A REVIEW OF THE DECISION OF THE STATE SECRETARY OF JUSTICE REJECTING HER APPLICATION FOR A RESIDENCE PERMIT . SINCE THAT APPLICATION DID NOT HAVE SUSPENSORY EFFECT , MISS REED BROUGHT SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE PRESIDENT OF THE RECHTBANK ( DISTRICT COURT ), THE HAGUE , FOR AN ORDER RESTRAINING THE STATE OF THE NETHERLANDS FROM DEPORTING HER PENDING A FINAL DECISION ON HER APPLICATION FOR A RESIDENCE PERMIT . THE PRESIDENT OF THE RECHTBANK GRANTED HER APPLICATION ON THE GROUND THAT IN APPLYING ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 TO CIRCUMSTANCES SUCH AS THOSE OF THIS CASE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS MUST BE TREATED IN SO FAR AS IS POSSIBLE AS SPOUSES .

6 ON APPEAL BY THE STATE OF THE NETHERLANDS THE GERECHTSHOF ( REGIONAL COURT OF APPEAL ), THE HAGUE , UPHELD THE ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE RECHTBANK , BUT ON DIFFERENT GROUNDS . ACCORDING TO THE JUDGMENT OF THE HOGE RAAD , THE GERECHTSHOF CONSIDERED THAT IN VIEW OF THE FACT THAT DISCRIMINATION ON GROUNDS OF NATIONALITY BETWEEN WORKERS OF THE MEMBER STATES WAS PROHIBITED BY ARTICLES 7 AND 48 ( 2 ) OF THE EEC TREATY THE POLICY OF THE NETHERLANDS STATE WITH REGARD TO ALIENS , SET OUT IN THE VREEMDELINGENCIRCULAIRE , MUST PERMIT THE COMPANION OF A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE AND IS EMPLOYED IN THE NETHERLANDS TO RESIDE WITH THAT WORKER UNDER THE SAME CONDITIONS AS THOSE APPLIED TO THE COMPANION OF A WORKER OF NETHERLANDS NATIONALITY . THE NETHERLANDS STATE BROUGHT A FURTHER APPEAL TO THE HOGE RAAD AGAINST THE DECISION OF THE GERECHTSHOF .

7 THE HOGE RAAD CONSIDERED THAT THE PROCEEDINGS RAISED QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE INTERPRETATION OF COMMUNITY LAW . IT THEREFORE STAYED THE PROCEEDINGS UNTIL SUCH TIME AS THE COURT OF JUSTICE SHOULD HAVE DELIVERED A PRELIMINARY RULING ON THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS :

' ( 1 ) IN THE LIGHT OF THE PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 , DOES DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED BY ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE EEC TREATY ARISE WHERE , AS PART OF ITS POLICY ON ALIENS , A MEMBER STATE TREATS A PERSON WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF THAT MEMBER STATE AS THE SPOUSE OF SUCH A WORKER , BUT DOES NOT GRANT THE SAME TREATMENT TO A PERSON WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE BUT IS EMPLOYED AND RESIDES IN THE FIRST-NAMED MEMBER STATE?

( 2 ) DOES IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE TO THE ANSWER TO QUESTION 1 IF THE MEMBER STATE TREATS AS SPOUSES NOT ONLY A PERSON WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH A NATIONAL OF THAT STATE BUT ALSO A PERSON WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH ANOTHER PERSON WHO ENJOYS IN PRINCIPLE AN UNRESTRICTED RIGHT OF RESIDENCE IN THAT MEMBER STATE?

( 3 ) MUST ARTICLE 10 ( 1 ) ( A ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES A PERSON WHO HAS A STABLE RELATIONSHIP WITH A WORKER WITHIN THE MEANING OF THAT PROVISION IS TO BE TREATED AS HIS ' ' SPOUSE ' ' ?

'

THE THIRD QUESTION

8 THE THIRD QUESTION SHOULD BE DEALT WITH FIRST .

9 MISS REED ARGUES THAT , IN THE LIGHT OF LEGAL AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENTS , IN APPLYING ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 , AND IN PARTICULAR THE WORD ' SPOUSE ' IN THAT ARTICLE , TO CIRCUMSTANCES SUCH AS THOSE OF THIS CASE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS MUST IN SO FAR AS IS POSSIBLE BE TREATED AS SPOUSES .

10 THE NETHERLANDS GOVERNMENT POINTS OUT THAT THE THIRD QUESTION CONCERNS THE INTERPRETATION OF A PROVISION OF A REGULATION WHICH HAS DIRECT EFFECT IN ALL THE MEMBER STATES ; THAT PROVISION MUST THEREFORE BE INTERPRETED IN THE COMMUNITY CONTEXT . THE COMMUNITY LEGISLATURE USED THE WORD ' SPOUSE ' IN THE SENSE GIVEN TO THAT WORD IN FAMILY LAW . WHEN , IN SUPPORT OF A DYNAMIC INTERPRETATION , REFERENCE IS MADE TO DEVELOPMENTS IN SOCIAL AND LEGAL CONCEPTIONS , THOSE DEVELOPMENTS MUST BE VISIBLE IN THE WHOLE OF THE COMMUNITY ; SUCH AN ARGUMENT CANNOT BE BASED ON SOCIAL AND LEGAL DEVELOPMENTS IN ONLY ONE OR A FEW MEMBER STATES . THERE IS NO REASON , THEREFORE , TO GIVE THE TERM ' SPOUSE ' AN INTERPRETATION WHICH GOES BEYOND THE LEGAL IMPLICATIONS OF THAT TERM , WHICH EMBRACE RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS WHICH DO NOT EXIST BETWEEN UNMARRIED COMPANIONS .

11 THE COMMISSION POINTS OUT THAT THERE IS NO PROVISION OF COMMUNITY LAW WHICH DEFINES THE TERMS ' SPOUSE ' AND ' MARITAL RELATIONS ' . IN THE COMMUNITY AS IT NOW STANDS IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SPEAK OF ANY CONSENSUS THAT UNMARRIED COMPANIONS SHOULD BE TREATED AS SPOUSES . ACCORDING TO THE COMMISSION , THEREFORE , THE PROBLEM CANNOT BE RESOLVED BY MEANS OF A BROAD CONSTRUCTION OF ARTICLE 10 OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 .

12 ACCORDING TO ARTICLE 189 OF THE EEC TREATY , REGULATION NO 1612/68 HAS GENERAL APPLICATION , IS BINDING IN ITS ENTIRETY AND IS DIRECTLY APPLICABLE IN ALL MEMBER STATES .

13 IT FOLLOWS THAT AN INTERPRETATION GIVEN BY THE COURT TO A PROVISION OF THAT REGULATION HAS EFFECTS IN ALL OF THE MEMBER STATES , AND THAT ANY INTERPRETATION OF A LEGAL TERM ON THE BASIS OF SOCIAL DEVELOPMENTS MUST TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE SITUATION IN THE WHOLE COMMUNITY , NOT MERELY IN ONE MEMBER STATE .

14 ARTICLE 10 ( 1 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 PROVIDES THAT CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE ' FAMILY ' OF A WORKER , INCLUDING HIS ' SPOUSE ' , IRRESPECTIVE OF THEIR NATIONALITY , ' HAVE THE RIGHT TO INSTALL THEMSELVES WITH A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF ONE MEMBER STATE AND WHO IS EMPLOYED IN THE TERRITORY OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE ' .

15 IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY INDICATION OF A GENERAL SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT WHICH WOULD JUSTIFY A BROAD CONSTRUCTION , AND IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY INDICATION TO THE CONTRARY IN THE REGULATION , IT MUST BE HELD THAT THE TERM ' SPOUSE ' IN ARTICLE 10 OF THE REGULATION REFERS TO A MARITAL RELATIONSHIP ONLY .

16 THE ANSWER TO THE THIRD QUESTION MUST THEREFORE BE THAT ARTICLE 10 ( 1 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 CANNOT BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT THE COMPANION , IN A STABLE RELATIONSHIP , OF A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF A MEMBER STATE AND IS EMPLOYED IN THE TERRITORY OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE MUST IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES BE TREATED AS HIS ' SPOUSE ' FOR THE PURPOSES OF THAT PROVISION .

THE FIRST AND SECOND QUESTIONS

17 SINCE THE FIRST AND SECOND QUESTIONS REFERRED TO THE COURT BY THE HOGE RAAD ARE CLOSELY RELATED , THEY MAY BE DEALT WITH TOGETHER .

18 THE APPLICANT IN THE MAIN PROCEEDINGS CONSIDERS THAT NETHERLANDS POLICY WITH REGARD TO THE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS OF WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE IS INCOMPATIBLE WITH THE EEC TREATY ; IT ALSO RESULTS IN DISCRIMINATION IN RELATION TO REGULATION NO 1612/68 , INASMUCH AS IT AUTHORIZES A NETHERLANDS NATIONAL TO BRING TO THE NETHERLANDS A COMPANION OF FOREIGN NATIONALITY WHEREAS THAT POSSIBILITY IS NOT OPEN TO A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE .

19 THE NETHERLANDS GOVERNMENT ARGUES IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT THE RIGHT OF EEC NATIONALS , WHO HAVE A RIGHT OF RESIDENCE UNDER COMMUNITY LAW , TO BRING WITH THEM THEIR FAMILY , AS SET OUT IN ARTICLE 10 ET SEQ . OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 , IS NOT BASED ON A SITUATION COMPARABLE TO THAT OF WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF THE HOST STATE , AND THUS IS NOT A RESULT OF THE PRINCIPLE OF NON-DISCRIMINATION BUT RATHER AN INDEPENDENT RIGHT GRANTED UNDER COMMUNITY LAW , THE CONTENT AND SCOPE OF WHICH MUST BE FOUND WITHIN THE FOUR CORNERS OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 . SECONDLY , IT WAS NOT BECAUSE OF A DIFFERENCE OF NATIONALITY THAT THE APPLICANT IN THE MAIN PROCEEDINGS AND MR W . WERE NOT TREATED IN THE SAME MANNER AS NETHERLANDS NATIONALS , BUT BECAUSE OF THEIR LEGAL POSITION WITH REGARD TO THE RIGHT OF RESIDENCE ; THAT IS CONFIRMED BY THE FACT THAT NETHERLANDS POLICY IN THAT RESPECT MAKES NO DISTINCTION BETWEEN NETHERLANDS NATIONALS AND ALIENS WHO HOLD A PERMANENT RESIDENCE PERMIT .

20 THE COMMISSION OBSERVES THAT THE NETHERLANDS POLICY WITH REGARD TO ALIENS CONSTITUTES DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED BY ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE EEC TREATY IN SO FAR AS A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE AND IS EMPLOYED IN THE NETHERLANDS IS NOT FORMALLY TREATED IN THE SAME MANNER AS A WORKER OF NETHERLANDS NATIONALITY WITH REGARD TO THE ADMISSION TO THE NETHERLANDS OF HIS COMPANION , WHERE THE LATTER DOES NOT HAVE NETHERLANDS NATIONALITY . ANY MEMBER STATE WHICH AUTHORIZES THE ENTRY OF THE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS OF ITS NATIONALS ON THE GROUND THAT IN THE CONTEXT OF A STABLE RELATIONSHIP SUCH A COMPANION SHOULD BE TREATED AS A SPOUSE , MUST PLACE WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES AND ARE EMPLOYED IN ITS TERRITORY IN THE SAME POSITION AS ITS OWN NATIONALS IN THAT REGARD . FURTHERMORE , IT DOES NOT APPEAR FROM THE DOCUMENTS PLACED BEFORE THE COURT THAT THE STATE OF THE NETHERLANDS HAS ARGUED THAT THE DISCRIMINATION IN QUESTION IS JUSTIFIED ON OBJECTIVE GROUNDS .

21 THE COURT NOTES THAT ARTICLE 7 OF THE TREATY PROVIDES THAT ' WITHIN THE SCOPE OF APPLICATION OF THIS TREATY , AND WITHOUT PREJUDICE TO ANY SPECIAL PROVISIONS CONTAINED THEREIN , ANY DISCRIMINATION ON GROUNDS OF NATIONALITY SHALL BE PROHIBITED ' . THAT PRINCIPLE , LAID DOWN IN A GENERAL MANNER IN ARTICLE 7 OF THE TREATY , IS APPLIED SPECIFICALLY WITH REGARD TO FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS WITHIN THE COMMUNITY IN ARTICLE 48 OF THE TREATY .

22 IT MUST THEREFORE BE ASCERTAINED WHETHER THE RIGHT TO BE ACCOMPANIED BY AN UNMARRIED COMPANION FALLS WITHIN THE SCOPE OF THE TREATY AND IS THUS GOVERNED BY THE PRINCIPLE OF NON-DISCRIMINATION LAID DOWN IN THE PROVISIONS REFERRED TO ABOVE .

23 IN VIEW OF THE FACT THAT MR W . IS A WORKER , AS APPEARS FROM THE JUDGMENT OF THE NATIONAL COURT , THAT QUESTION MUST BE EXAMINED IN THE LIGHT MORE SPECIFICALLY OF ARTICLES 48 AND 49 OF THE TREATY AND THE PROVISIONS OF SECONDARY LEGISLATION IMPLEMENTING THOSE ARTICLES , IN PARTICULAR REGULATION NO 1612/68 OF THE COUNCIL .

24 ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 PROVIDES THAT IN THE HOST STATE A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE MUST ' ENJOY THE SAME SOCIAL AND TAX ADVANTAGES AS NATIONAL WORKERS ' .

25 THE COURT HAS EMPHASIZED , IN PARTICULAR IN ITS JUDGMENT OF 30 SEPTEMBER 1975 IN CASE 32/75 ( CRISTINI V SNCF ( 1975 ) ECR 1085 ), THAT THE PHRASE ' SOCIAL ADVANTAGES ' IN ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) MUST NOT BE INTERPRETED RESTRICTIVELY .

26 AS THE COURT HAS REPEATEDLY HELD , THE PURPOSE OF ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 IS TO ACHIEVE EQUAL TREATMENT , AND THEREFORE THE CONCEPT OF SOCIAL ADVANTAGE , EXTENDED BY THAT PROVISION TO WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES , MUST INCLUDE ALL ADVANTAGES ' WHICH , WHETHER OR NOT LINKED TO A CONTRACT OF EMPLOYMENT , ARE GENERALLY GRANTED TO NATIONAL WORKERS PRIMARILY BECAUSE OF THEIR OBJECTIVE STATUS AS WORKERS OR BY VIRTUE OF THE MERE FACT OF THEIR RESIDENCE ON THE NATIONAL TERRITORY AND THE EXTENSION OF WHICH TO WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER COUNTRIES THEREFORE SEEMS SUITABLE TO FACILITATE THEIR MOBILITY WITHIN THE COMMUNITY ' ( JUDGMENTS OF 31 MAY 1979 IN CASE 207/78 MINISTERE PUBLIC V EVEN ( 1979 ) ECR 2019 , AND 20 JUNE 1985 IN CASE 94/84 OFFICE NATIONAL DE L ' EMPLOI V DEAK ( 1985 ) ECR 1873 ).

27 THE COURT HELD IN ITS JUDGMENT OF 30 SEPTEMBER 1975 , REFERRED TO ABOVE , AND IN ITS JUDGMENT OF 11 JULY 1985 IN CASE 137/84 ( MINISTERE PUBLIC V MUTSCH ( 1985 ) ECR 2681 ), THAT THE POSSIBILITY FOR A MIGRANT WORKER OF OBTAINING FARE REDUCTIONS GRANTED TO LARGE FAMILIES OR OF USING HIS OWN LANGUAGE IN PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE COURTS OF THE MEMBER STATE WHERE HE RESIDES FALL WITHIN THE CONCEPT OF A SOCIAL ADVANTAGE FOR THE PURPOSES OF ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 .

28 IN THE SAME WAY IT MUST BE RECOGNIZED THAT THE POSSIBILITY FOR A MIGRANT WORKER OF OBTAINING PERMISSION FOR HIS UNMARRIED COMPANION TO RESIDE WITH HIM , WHERE THAT COMPANION IS NOT A NATIONAL OF THE HOST MEMBER STATE , CAN ASSIST HIS INTEGRATION IN THE HOST STATE AND THUS CONTRIBUTE TO THE ACHIEVEMENT OF FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT FOR WORKERS . CONSEQUENTLY , THAT POSSIBILITY MUST ALSO BE REGARDED AS FALLING WITHIN THE CONCEPT OF A SOCIAL ADVANTAGE FOR THE PURPOSES OF ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 .

29 IT MUST THEREFORE BE CONCLUDED THAT THE MEMBER STATE WHICH GRANTS SUCH AN ADVANTAGE TO ITS OWN NATIONALS CANNOT REFUSE TO GRANT IT TO WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES WITHOUT BEING GUILTY OF DISCRIMINATION ON GROUNDS OF NATIONALITY , CONTRARY TO ARTICLES 7 AND 48 OF THE TREATY .

30 THE ANSWER TO THE FIRST AND SECOND QUESTIONS MUST THEREFORE BE THAT ARTICLE 7 OF THE TREATY , IN CONJUNCTION WITH ARTICLE 48 OF THE TREATY AND ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 , MUST BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT A MEMBER STATE WHICH PERMITS THE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS OF ITS NATIONALS , WHO ARE NOT THEMSELVES NATIONALS OF THAT MEMBER STATE , TO RESIDE IN ITS TERRITORY CANNOT REFUSE TO GRANT THE SAME ADVANTAGE TO MIGRANT WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES .

Decision on costs

COSTS

31 THE COSTS INCURRED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF THE NETHERLANDS AND BY THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES , WHICH SUBMITTED OBSERVATIONS TO THE COURT , ARE NOT RECOVERABLE . SINCE THESE PROCEEDINGS ARE , IN SO FAR AS THE PARTIES TO THE MAIN PROCEEDINGS ARE CONCERNED , IN THE NATURE OF A STEP IN THE ACTION PENDING BEFORE THE NATIONAL COURT , THE DECISION ON COSTS IS A MATTER FOR THAT COURT .

Operative part of the judgment

ON THOSE GROUNDS ,

THE COURT ,

IN ANSWER TO THE QUESTIONS REFERRED TO IT BY THE HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN BY AN ORDER OF 22 FEBRUARY 1985 , HEREBY RULES :

( 1 ) ARTICLE 10 ( 1 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 CANNOT BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT THE COMPANION , IN A STABLE RELATIONSHIP , OF A WORKER WHO IS A NATIONAL OF A MEMBER STATE AND IS EMPLOYED IN THE TERRITORY OF ANOTHER MEMBER STATE MUST IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES BE TREATED AS HIS ' SPOUSE ' FOR THE PURPOSES OF THAT PROVISION .

( 2)ARTICLE 7 OF THE TREATY , IN CONJUNCTION WITH ARTICLE 48 OF THE TREATY AND ARTICLE 7 ( 2 ) OF REGULATION NO 1612/68 , MUST BE INTERPRETED AS MEANING THAT A MEMBER STATE WHICH PERMITS THE UNMARRIED COMPANIONS OF ITS NATIONALS , WHO ARE NOT THEMSELVES NATIONALS OF THAT MEMBER STATE , TO RESIDE IN ITS TERRITORY CANNOT REFUSE TO GRANT THE SAME ADVANTAGE TO MIGRANT WORKERS WHO ARE NATIONALS OF OTHER MEMBER STATES .

EuGH, Rs. 59 / 85 v. 17.4.1986 - Reed


EuGH, Urteil v. 17.4.1986. Rs. 59 / 85, Slg. 1986, 1283 - Niederländischer Staat / Ann Florence Reed


EWG - Vertag Art. 7, 48; Verordnung Nr. 1612/68 des Rates
Leitsätze

1 . ARTIKEL 10 ABSATZ 1 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 KANN NICHT DAHIN AUSGELEGT WERDEN , DASS EIN PARTNER , DER EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM ARBEITNEHMER UNTERHÄLT , DER DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS BESITZT UND IM HOHEITSGEBIET EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESCHÄFTIGT IST , UNTER BESTIMMTEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN DEM ' ' EHEGATTEN ' ' IM SINNE DIESER BESTIMMUNG GLEICHGESTELLT WERDEN MUSS .

2 . DIE EINEM WANDERARBEITNEHMER EINGERÄUMTE MÖGLICHKEIT , ZU ERREICHEN , DASS ES SEINEM LEDIGEN PARTNER , DER NICHT STAATSANGEHÖRIGER DES AUFNAHMESTAATS IST , GESTATTET WIRD , SICH DORT BEI IHM AUFZUHALTEN , KANN ZU SEINER EINGLIEDERUNG IN DEN AUFNAHMESTAAT UND SOMIT ZUR VERWIRKLICHUNG DES ZIELS DER FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER BEITRAGEN . UNTER DIESEN UMSTÄNDEN IST DAVON AUSZUGEHEN , DASS DIESE MÖGLICHKEIT UNTER DEN BEGRIFF DER SOZIALEN VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 FÄLLT .

DARAUS IST ZU SCHLIESSEN , DASS EIN MITGLIEDSTAAT , DER DEN INLÄNDISCHEN ARBEIT NEHMERN EINE DERARTIGE VERGíœNSTIGUNG EINRÄUMT , DIESE NICHT DEN ARBEITNEHMERN VERWEIGERN KANN , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN SIND , OHNE SICH EINER NACH DEN ARTIKELN 7 UND 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERBOTENEN DISKRIMINIERUNG AUFGRUND DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT SCHULDIG ZU MACHEN .

Entscheidungsgründe

1 DER HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN HAT MIT URTEIL VOM 22 . FEBRUAR 1985 , BEIM GERICHTSHOF EINGEGANGEN AM 1 . MÄRZ 1985 , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 177 EWG-VERTRAG DREI FRAGEN NACH DER AUSLEGUNG DER ARTIKEL 7 UND 48 EWG-VERTRAG SOWIE DES ARTIKELS 10 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 DES RATES VOM 15 . OKTOBER 1968 íœBER DIE FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER INNERHALB DER GEMEINSCHAFT ( ABL . L 257 , S . 2 ) ZUR VORABENTSCHEIDUNG VORGELEGT .

2 DIESE FRAGEN STELLEN SICH IN EINEM RECHTSSTREIT , IN DEM ES UM DIE DURCH ENTSCHEIDUNG DES STAATSSEKRETÄRS IM JUSTIZMINISTERIUM VOM 21 . OKTOBER 1982 ERFOLGTE ABLEHNUNG DES ANTRAGS DER KLÄGERIN DES AUSGANGSVERFAHRENS ( IM FOLGENDEN : KLÄGERIN ), DIE DIE LEBENSGEFÄHRTIN EINES AUS EINEM ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAAT STAMMENDEN ARBEITNEHMERS IST , AUF ERTEILUNG EINER AUFENTHALTSERLAUBNIS GEHT .

3 WIE AUS DEN AKTEN HERVORGEHT , WIRD NACH DEM VREEMDELINGENCIRCULAIRE VON 1982 , DURCH DAS DIE NIEDERLANDE DIE AUSLÄNDERPOLITIK BEKANNTGEGEBEN HABEN , DIE SIE ZU FíœHREN BEABSICHTIGEN , EINEM AUSLÄNDER , DER EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG ZU EINEM NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN ODER ZU EINEM AUSLÄNDER UNTERHÄLT , DER ALS FLíœCHTLING ODER ASYLBERECHTIGTER IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN ANERKANNT IST , ODER ZU EINEM AUSLÄNDER , DER EINE NIEDERLASSUNGSERLAUBNIS BESITZT , DER AUFENTHALT IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN UNTER BESTIMMTEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN GESTATTET . DIE PARTNER MíœSSEN NAMENTLICH ZUSAMMENLEBEN UND EINEN GEMEINSAMEN HAUSHALT FíœHREN ODER BEREITS VOR IHRER ANKUNFT IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN GEFíœHRT HABEN , LEDIG SEIN UND íœBER AUSREICHENDE MITTEL FíœR DEN UNTERHALT DES AUSLÄNDISCHEN PARTNERS SOWIE EINE ANGEMESSENE WOHNUNG VERFíœGEN .

4 DIE KLÄGERIN , DIE BRITISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE UND LEDIG IST , KAM AM 5 . NOVEMBER 1981 IN DIE NIEDERLANDE UND MELDETE SICH AM 22 . JANUAR 1982 ALS ARBEITSSUCHENDE , FAND JEDOCH KEINE ARBEIT . AM 24 . MÄRZ 1982 BEANTRAGTE SIE DIE ERTEILUNG EINER AUFENTHALTSERLAUBNIS MIT DER BEGRíœNDUNG , SIE HABE BEI HERRN W . WOHNUNG GENOMMEN . HERR W ., DER EBENFALLS BRITISCHER STAATSANGEHÖRIGER UND LEDIG IST , ARBEITET SEIT DEM 5 . NOVEMBER 1981 IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN . IHM WURDE AM 23 . FEBRUAR 1982 EINE BIS ZUM 5 . NOVEMBER 1986 GíœLTIGE AUFENTHALTSBESCHEINIGUNG FíœR ANGEHÖRIGE EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS DER EWG ERTEILT . ZUM ZEITPUNKT DES ERLASSES DER ANGEFOCHTENEN ENTSCHEIDUNG WOHNTEN DIE KLÄGERIN DES AUSGANGSVERFAHRENS UND HERR W . ZUSAMMEN IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN UND UNTERHIELTEN BEREITS SEIT FíœNF JAHREN EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG .

5 DIE KLÄGERIN LEGTE GEGEN DIE ABLEHNUNG IHRES ANTRAGS AUF ERTEILUNG EINER AUFENTHALTSERLAUBNIS DURCH DEN STAATSSEKRETÄR IM JUSTIZMINISTERIUM WIDERSPRUCH EIN . DA DIESER KEINE AUFSCHIEBENDE WIRKUNG HATTE , BEANTRAGTE SIE BEIM PRÄSIDENTEN DER RECHTBANK DEN HAAG , DEN NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN STAAT IM WEGE DER EINSTWEILIGEN ANORDNUNG ANZUWEISEN , VOR ERLASS EINER ENDGíœLTIGEN ENTSCHEIDUNG íœBER IHREN ANTRAG AUF ERTEILUNG EINER AUFENTHALTSERLAUBNIS KEINE AUSWEISUNGSMASSNAHME GEGEN SIE ZU ERGREIFEN . DER PRÄSIDENT DER RECHTBANK GAB DIESEM ANTRAG MIT DER BEGRíœNDUNG STATT , DIE RECHTLICHE ENTWICKLUNG HABE DAZU GEFíœHRT , DASS NICHT VERHEIRATETE PARTNER IN EINEM FALL WIE DEM HIER VORLIEGENDEN FíœR DIE ANWENDUNG DES ARTIKELS 10 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 SOWEIT WIE MÖGLICH EHEGATTEN GLEICHGESTELLT WERDEN MíœSSTEN .

6 DER GERECHTSHOF DEN HAAG BESTÄTIGTE AUF DIE KASSATIONSBESCHWERDE DES NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN STAATS DEN BESCHLUSS DES PRÄSIDENTEN DER RECHTBANK , STíœTZTE SICH DABEI JEDOCH AUF ANDERE GRíœNDE . DER GERECHTSHOF STELLT IN DEM VORLAGEURTEIL FEST , DAS IN DEN ARTIKELN 7 UND 48 ABSATZ 2 EWG-VERTRAG ENTHALTENE VERBOT JEDER AUF DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT BERUHENDEN UNTERSCHIEDLICHEN BEHANDLUNG DER ARBEITNEHMER DER MITGLIEDSTAATEN MíœSSE DAZU FíœHREN , DASS ES DEM PARTNER EINES IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN BESCHÄFTIGTEN , JEDOCH AUS EINEM ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAAT STAMMENDEN ARBEITNEHMERS NACH DER SICH AUS DEM VREEMDELINGENCIRCULAIRE ERGEBENDEN AUSLÄNDERPOLITIK GESTATTET SEIN MíœSSE , BEI DIESEM ARBEITNEHMER UNTER DENSELBEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN WOHNUNG ZU NEHMEN , DIE FíœR DEN PARTNER EINES ARBEITNEHMERS NIEDERLÄNDISCHER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT GÄLTEN . DER NIEDERLÄNDISCHE STAAT LEGTE GEGEN DAS URTEIL DES GERECHTSHOF KASSATIONSBESCHWERDE BEIM HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN EIN .

7 DER HOGE RAAD IST DER AUFFASSUNG , DASS DER RECHTSSTREIT FRAGEN NACH DER AUSLEGUNG DES GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHTS AUFWIRFT . ER HAT DESHALB DAS VERFAHREN AUSGESETZT , BIS DER GERICHTSHOF íœBER DIE FOLGENDEN VORABENTSCHEIDUNGSFRAGEN ENTSCHIEDEN HAT :

' ' 1 ) HANDELT ES SICH - AUCH UNTER BERíœCKSICHTIGUNG VON ARTIKEL 10 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 - UM EINE VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG IM SINNE DER ARTIKEL 7 UND 48 EWG-VERTRAG , WENN EIN MITGLIEDSTAAT IM RAHMEN SEINER AUSLÄNDERPOLITIK EINE PERSON , DIE EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM ARBEITNEHMER UND STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN DIESES MITGLIEDSTAATS UNTERHÄLT , DEM EHEGATTEN EINES SOLCHEN ARBEITNEHMERS GLEICHSTELLT , EINE DERARTIGE GLEICHSTELLUNG ABER EINER PERSON VERWEIGERT , DIE EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS UNTERHÄLT , DER ALS ARBEITNEHMER IM ERSTGENANNTEN MITGLIEDSTAAT BESCHÄFTIGT IST UND SICH DORT AUFHÄLT?

2 ) KOMMT ES FíœR DIE BEANTWORTUNG DER FRAGE 1 DARAUF AN , OB DER MITGLIEDSTAAT EINEM EHEGATTEN NICHT NUR PERSONEN GLEICHSTELLT , DIE MIT EINEM EIGENEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG UNTERHALTEN , SONDERN AUCH SOLCHE PERSONEN , DIE EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINER ANDEREN PERSON MIT GRUNDSÄTZLICH UNBESCHRÄNKTEM AUFENTHALTSRECHT IN DIESEM MITGLIEDSTAAT UNTERHALTEN?

3 ) IST ARTIKEL 10 ABSATZ 1 BUCHSTABE A DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 SO AUSZULEGEN , DASS EINE PERSON , DIE EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM ARBEITNEHMER IM SINNE DIESER BESTIMMUNG UNTERHÄLT , UNTER BESTIMMTEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN EINEM , EHEGATTEN ' GLEICHGESTELLT WIRD?

' '

ZUR DRITTEN FRAGE

8 ZUNÄCHST IST DIE DRITTE FRAGE ZU BEANTWORTEN .

9 DIE KLÄGERIN VERTRITT DIE AUFFASSUNG , DIE RECHTLICHE UND SOZIALE ENTWICKLUNG HABE DAZU GEFíœHRT , DASS DER BEGRIFF ' ' EHEGATTE ' ' IN ARTIKEL 10 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 FíœR DIE ANWENDUNG DIESER BESTIMMUNG DAHIN AUSZULEGEN SEI , DASS NICHT VERHEIRATETE PARTNER IN EINEM FALL WIE DEM HIER VORLIEGENDEN SOWEIT WIE MÖGLICH EHEGATTEN GLEICHGESTELLT WERDEN MíœSSTEN .

10 DIE NIEDERLÄNDISCHE REGIERUNG FíœHRT AUS , DIE DRITTE FRAGE BETREFFE DIE AUSLEGUNG EINER BESTIMMUNG EINER VERORDNUNG , DIE IN ALLEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN UNMITTELBAR GELTE . DIESE BESTIMMUNG KÖNNE SOMIT NUR AUF GEMEINSCHAFTSEBENE AUSGELEGT WERDEN . DER GEMEINSCHAFTSGESETZGEBER HABE DEN BEGRIFF ' ' EHEGATTE ' ' VERWANDT , UM EINEN EHEGATTEN IM SINNE DES FAMILIENRECHTS ZU BEZEICHNEN . WOLLE MAN SICH IM WEGE EINER DYNAMISCHEN AUSLEGUNG AUF DIE ENTWICKLUNG DER GESELLSCHAFTLICHEN AUFFASSUNG ODER DER RECHTSAUFFASSUNG BERUFEN , SO SEI ES ERFORDERLICH , DASS EINE PARALLELE ENTWICKLUNG IN DER GESAMTEN GEMEINSCHAFT UND NICHT NUR IN EINEM EINZIGEN MITGLIEDSTAAT ODER LEDIGLICH IN EINIGEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN FESTGESTELLT WERDEN KÖNNE . SOMIT BESTEHE KEIN GRUND , DEN BEGRIFF DES EHEGATTEN IN EINER WEISE AUSZULEGEN , DIE íœBER DEN RECHTLICHEN BEGRIFF DES EHEGATTEN MIT DEN DAMIT VERBUNDENEN RECHTEN UND PFLICHTEN , DIE ZWISCHEN NICHT VERHEIRATETEN PARTNERN NICHT BESTíœNDEN , HINAUSGEHE .

11 DIE KOMMISSION STELLT FEST , DASS ES KEINE GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHTLICHE DEFINITION DER BEGRIFFE ' ' EHEGATTE ' ' UND ' ' EHELICHE BEZIEHUNGEN ' ' GEBE . IN DER GEGENWÄRTIGEN GEMEINSCHAFT KÖNNE MAN KAUM VON EINEM KONSENSUS íœBER DIE EVENTíœLLE GLEICHSTELLUNG VON NICHT VERHEIRATETEN PARTNERN MIT EHEGATTEN SPRECHEN . DIE KOMMISSION SCHLIESST DESHALB DIE MÖGLICHKEIT , DAS VORLIEGENDE PROBLEM DURCH EINE WEITE AUSLEGUNG DES ARTIKELS 10 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 ZU LÖSEN , NACHDRíœCKLICH AUS .

12 NACH ARTIKEL 189 EWG-VERTRAG HAT DIE VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 ALLGEMEINE GELTUNG , IST IN ALLEN IHREN TEILEN VERBINDLICH UND GILT UNMITTELBAR IN JEDEM MITGLIEDSTAAT .

13 DARAUS FOLGT , DASS DIE AUSLEGUNG EINER BESTIMMUNG DIESER VERORDNUNG DURCH DEN GERICHTSHOF KONSEQUENZEN IN ALLEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN HAT UND DASS EINE AUSLEGUNG VON RECHTSBEGRIFFEN , DIE AUF DIE GESELLSCHAFTLICHE ENTWICKLUNG GESTíœTZT WIRD , AUFGRUND EINER UNTERSUCHUNG DER LAGE IN DER GESAMTEN GEMEINSCHAFT UND NICHT NUR IN EINEM EINZIGEN MITGLIEDSTAAT ERFOLGEN MUSS .

14 NACH ARTIKEL 10 ABSATZ 1 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 DíœRFEN ' ' BEI DEM ARBEITNEHMER , DER DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS BESITZT UND IM HOHEITSGEBIET EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESCHÄFTIGT IST ' ' , BESTIMMTE ' ' FAMILIEN ' ' ANGEHÖRIGE , DARUNTER DER ' ' EHEGATTE ' ' , UNGEACHTET IHRER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT WOHNUNG NEHMEN .

15 MANGELS EINES HINWEISES AUF EINE ALLGEMEINE GESELLSCHAFTLICHE ENTWICKLUNG , DIE EINE WEITE AUSLEGUNG RECHTFERTIGEN WíœRDE , UND MANGELS EINES GEGENTEILIGEN HINWEISES IN DER VERORDNUNG IST FESTZUSTELLEN , DASS ARTIKEL 10 DER VERORDNUNG DURCH DIE VERWENDUNG DES WORTES ' ' EHEGATTE ' ' AUSSCHLIESSLICH AUF EINE BEZIEHUNG VERWEIST , DIE AUF DER EHE BERUHT .

16 DIE DRITTE FRAGE IST SOMIT DAHIN ZU BEANTWORTEN , DASS ARTIKEL 10 ABSATZ 1 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 NICHT DAHIN AUSGELEGT WERDEN KANN , DASS EIN PARTNER , DER EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM ARBEITNEHMER UNTERHÄLT , DER DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS BESITZT UND IM HOHEITSGEBIET EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESCHÄFTIGT IST , UNTER BESTIMMTEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN DEM ' ' EHEGATTEN ' ' IM SINNE DIESER BESTIMMUNG GLEICHGESTELLT WERDEN MUSS .

ZUR ERSTEN UND ZWEITEN FRAGE

17 DIE BEIDEN ERSTEN VOM HOGE RAAD GESTELLTEN FRAGEN SIND AUFGRUND DES ZWISCHEN IHNEN BESTEHENDEN ZUSAMMENHANGS ZUSAMMEN ZU BEHANDELN .

18 DIE KLÄGERIN VERTRITT DIE AUFFASSUNG , DIE POLITIK DER NIEDERLANDE GEGENíœBER DEN LEDIGEN PARTNERN DER ARBEITNEHMER , DIE DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESÄSSEN , SEI MIT DEM EWG-VERTRAG UNVEREINBAR UND BEWIRKE EINE DISKRIMINIERUNG UNTER DEM GESICHTSPUNKT DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 , DA ES EINEM NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN GESTATTET WERDE , EINEN AUSLÄNDISCHEN PARTNER IN DIE NIEDERLANDE KOMMEN ZU LASSEN , WÄHREND DIESELBE MÖGLICHKEIT DEM ANGEHÖRIGEN EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS NICHT EINGERÄUMT WERDE .

19 DIE NIEDERLÄNDISCHE REGIERUNG TRÄGT ERSTENS VOR , DAS NAMENTLICH IN DEN ARTIKELN 10 FF . DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 VERANKERTE RECHT DER EWG-ANGEHÖRIGEN , DIE EIN IM GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHT BEGRíœNDETES AUFENTHALTSRECHT BESÄSSEN , IHRE FAMILIENANGEHÖRIGEN MITZUBRINGEN , BERUHE NICHT AUF EINER LAGE , DIE MIT DERJENIGEN DER INLÄNDISCHEN ARBEITNEHMER VERGLEICHBAR SEI , UND STELLE SOMIT NICHT EINE WIRKUNG DES DISKRIMINIERUNGSVERBOTS DAR , SONDERN EIN DURCH DAS GEMEINSCHAFTSRECHT VERLIEHENES AUTONOMES RECHT , DESSEN INHALT UND UMFANG IN DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 ERSCHÖPFEND FESTGELEGT SEIEN . ZWEITENS SEIEN DIE KLÄGERIN UND HERR W . NICHT AUFGRUND IHRER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT , SONDERN AUFGRUND IHRER AUFENTHALTSRECHTLICHEN SITUATION ANDERS BEHANDELT WORDEN ALS NIEDERLÄNDISCHE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE . DIES WERDE DADURCH BESTÄTIGT , DASS DIE INSOWEIT IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN GEFíœHRTE POLITIK NICHT ZWISCHEN NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN UND AUSLÄNDERN , DIE IM BESITZ EINER NIEDERLASSUNGSERLAUBNIS SEIEN , UNTERSCHEIDE .

20 DIE KOMMISSION STELLT FEST , DASS DIE AUSLÄNDERPOLITIK DER NIEDERLANDE , UM DIE ES IM VORLIEGENDEN FALL GEHE , INSOWEIT EINE DURCH DIE ARTIKEL 7 UND 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERBOTENE DISKRIMINIERUNG ENTHALTE , ALS DER IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN BESCHÄFTIGTE ARBEITNEHMER , DER DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESITZE , IM HINBLICK AUF DIE ZULASSUNG SEINES NICHT NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN PARTNERS IN DEN NIEDERLANDEN EINEM ARBEITNEHMER NIEDERLÄNDISCHER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT NICHT FÖRMLICH GLEICHGESTELLT SEI . EIN MITGLIEDSTAAT , DER DEN ZUZUG DER LEDIGEN PARTNER SEINER STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN GESTATTE , DA DIESE PARTNER IM RAHMEN EINER FESTEN BEZIEHUNG EINEM EHEPARTNER GLEICHZUSTELLEN SEIEN , MíœSSE INSOWEIT DIE IN SEINEM HOHEITSGEBIET BESCHÄFTIGTEN ARBEITNEHMER , DIE DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN BESÄSSEN , SEINEN EIGENEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN VÖLLIG GLEICHSTELLEN . IM íœBRIGEN HABE DER NIEDERLÄNDISCHE STAAT NACH DEN DEM GERICHTSHOF íœBERSANDTEN UNTERLAGEN NICHT GELTEND GEMACHT , DASS DIE HIER IN REDE STEHENDE UNTERSCHEIDUNG DURCH OBJEKTIVE GRíœNDE GERECHTFERTIGT SEI .

21 ZUNÄCHST IST AN DEN WORTLAUT DES ARTIKELS 7 EWG-VERTRAG ZU ERINNERN . DIESER BESTIMMT : ' ' UNBESCHADET BESONDERER BESTIMMUNGEN DIESES VERTRAGES IST IN SEINEM ANWENDUNGSBEREICH JEDE DISKRIMINIERUNG AUS GRíœNDEN DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT VERBOTEN . ' ' DIESER IN ARTIKEL 7 EWG-VERTRAG ALLGEMEIN AUSGESPROCHENE GRUNDSATZ HAT IN ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG EINE BESONDERE AUSPRÄGUNG IM HINBLICK AUF DIE FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER INNERHALB DER GEMEINSCHAFT ERFAHREN .

22 DESHALB IST ZU PRíœFEN , OB DAS RECHT , SICH VON SEINEM LEDIGEN PARTNER BEGLEITEN ZU LASSEN , IN DEN ANWENDUNGSBEREICH DES EWG-VERTRAGS FÄLLT UND FOLGLICH UNTER DEM GESICHTSPUNKT DES IN DEN VORGENANNTEN BESTIMMUNGEN VERANKERTEN DISKRIMINIERUNGSVERBOTS BEURTEILT WERDEN MUSS .

23 DA HERR W . NACH DEM VORLAGEURTEIL DIE EIGENSCHAFT EINES ARBEITNEHMERS HAT , IST DIE GESTELLTE FRAGE NAMENTLICH UNTER BERíœCKSICHTIGUNG DER ARTIKEL 48 UND 49 EWG-VERTRAG SOWIE DER ZU IHRER DURCHFíœHRUNG ERLASSENEN BESTIMMUNGEN DES ABGELEITETEN RECHTS , NAMENTLICH DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 DES RATES , ZU UNTERSUCHEN .

24 NACH ARTIKEL 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 GENIESST EIN ARBEITNEHMER , DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGER EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS IST , IM AUFNAHMESTAAT ' ' DIE GLEICHEN SOZIALEN UND STEUERLICHEN VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN WIE DIE INLÄNDISCHEN ARBEITNEHMER ' ' .

25 DER GERICHTSHOF HAT UNTER ANDEREM IN SEINEM URTEIL VOM 30 . SEPTEMBER 1975 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 32/75 ( CRISTINI , SLG . 1975 , 1085 ) ENTSCHIEDEN , DASS DER BEGRIFF ' ' SOZIALE VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN ' ' IN ARTIKEL 7 ABSATZ 2 NICHT ENG AUSGELEGT WERDEN DARF .

26 WIE DER GERICHTSHOF WIEDERHOLT AUSGEFíœHRT HAT , ERGIBT SICH AUS DEM MIT ARTIKEL 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 VERFOLGTEN ZIEL DER GLEICHBEHANDLUNG , DASS DER BEGRIFF DER SOZIALEN VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN , DIE DURCH DIESE VORSCHRIFT AUF DIE ARBEITNEHMER , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN SIND , ERSTRECKT WURDEN , ALLE VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN UMFASST , ' ' DIE , OB SIE AN EINEN ARBEITSVERTRAG ANKNíœPFEN ODER NICHT , DEN INLÄNDISCHEN ARBEITNEHMERN IM ALLGEMEINEN HAUPTSÄCHLICH WEGEN DEREN OBJEKTIVER ARBEITNEHMEREIGENSCHAFT ODER EINFACH WEGEN IHRES WOHNSITZES IM INLAND GEWÄHRT WERDEN UND DEREN AUSDEHNUNG AUF DIE ARBEITNEHMER , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS SIND , DESHALB ALS GEEIGNET ERSCHEINT , DEREN MOBILITÄT INNERHALB DER GEMEINSCHAFT ZU FÖRDERN ' ' ( URTEILE VOM 31 . MAI 1979 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 207/78 , EVEN , SLG . 1979 , 2019 , UND VOM 20 . JUNI 1985 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 94/84 , DEAK , SLG . 1985 , 1873 ).

27 DER GERICHTSHOF HAT FERNER IN DEM VORGENANNTEN URTEIL VOM 30 . SEPTEMBER 1975 UND IN DEM URTEIL VOM 11 . JULI 1985 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 137/84 ( MUTSCH , SLG . 1985 , 2681 ) ENTSCHIEDEN , DASS DAS RECHT EINES WANDERARBEITNEHMERS , IN DEN GENUSS ERMÄSSIGTER FAHRPREISE FíœR KINDERREICHE FAMILIEN ZU GELANGEN ODER SICH IN VERFAHREN VOR DEN GERICHTEN DES WOHNORTSTAATS SEINER EIGENEN SPRACHE ZU BEDIENEN , UNTER DEN BEGRIFF DER SOZIALEN VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 FÄLLT .

28 UNTER DEMSELBEN GESICHTSPUNKT IST ANZUNEHMEN , DASS DIE EINEM WANDERARBEITNEHMER EINGERÄUMTE MÖGLICHKEIT , ZU ERREICHEN , DASS ES SEINEM LEDIGEN PARTNER , DER NICHT STAATSANGEHÖRIGER DES AUFNAHMESTAATS IST , GESTATTET WIRD , SICH DORT BEI IHM AUFZUHALTEN , ZU SEINER EINGLIEDERUNG IN DEN AUFNAHMESTAAT UND SOMIT ZUR VERWIRKLICHUNG DES ZIELS DER FREIZUEGIGKEIT DER ARBEITNEHMER BEITRAGEN KANN . UNTER DIESEN UMSTÄNDEN IST DAVON AUSZUGEHEN , DASS DIESE MÖGLICHKEIT EBENFALLS UNTER DEN BEGRIFF DER SOZIALEN VERGíœNSTIGUNGEN IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 FÄLLT .

29 DARAUS IST ZU SCHLIESSEN , DASS EIN MITGLIEDSTAAT , DER DEN INLÄNDISCHEN ARBEITNEHMERN EINE DERARTIGE VERGíœNSTIGUNG EINRÄUMT , DIESE NICHT DEN ARBEITNEHMERN VERWEIGERN KANN , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE DER ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN SIND , OHNE SICH EINER NACH DEN ARTIKELN 7 UND 48 EWG-VERTRAG VERBOTENEN DISKRIMINIERUNG AUFGRUND DER STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT SCHULDIG ZU MACHEN .

30 SOMIT IST AUF DIE ERSTE UND DIE ZWEITE FRAGE ZU ANTWORTEN , DASS ARTIKEL 7 EWG-VERTRAG IN VERBINDUNG MIT ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG UND MIT ARTIKEL 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 DAHIN AUSZULEGEN IST , DASS EIN MITGLIEDSTAAT , DER ES SEINEN EIGENEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN ERMÖGLICHT , ZU ERREICHEN , DASS IHRE LEDIGEN PARTNER , DIE NICHT STAATSANGEHÖRIGE DIESES MITGLIEDSTAATS SIND , SICH IN SEINEM HOHEITSGEBIET AUFHALTEN , WANDERARBEITNEHMERN , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE ANDERER MITGLIEDSTAATEN SIND , DIESE VERGíœNSTIGUNG NICHT VERSAGEN DARF .

Kostenentscheidung

KOSTEN

31 DIE AUSLAGEN DER NIEDERLÄNDISCHEN REGIERUNG UND DER KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN , DIE ERKLÄRUNGEN VOR DEM GERICHTSHOF ABGEGEBEN HABEN , SIND NICHT ERSTATTUNGSFÄHIG . FíœR DIE PARTEIEN DES AUSGANGSVERFAHRENS IST DAS VERFAHREN EIN ZWISCHENSTREIT IN DEM VOR DEM NATIONALEN GERICHT ANHÄNGIGEN RECHTSSTREIT . DIE KOSTENENTSCHEIDUNG IST DAHER SACHE DIESES GERICHTS .

Urteilstenor

AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN

HAT

DER GERICHTSHOF

AUF DIE IHM VOM HOGE RAAD DER NEDERLANDEN MIT URTEIL VOM 22 . FEBRUAR 1985 VORGELEGTEN FRAGEN FíœR RECHT ERKANNT :

1 ) ARTIKEL 10 ABSATZ 1 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 KANN NICHT DAHIN AUSGELEGT WERDEN , DASS EIN PARTNER , DER EINE FESTE BEZIEHUNG MIT EINEM ARBEITNEHMER UNTERHÄLT , DER DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGKEIT EINES MITGLIEDSTAATS BESITZT UND IM HOHEITSGEBIET EINES ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATS BESCHÄFTIGT IST , UNTER BESTIMMTEN VORAUSSETZUNGEN DEM ' ' EHEGATTEN ' ' IM SINNE DIESER BESTIMMUNG GLEICHGESTELLT WERDEN MUSS .

2 ) ARTIKEL 7 EWG-VERTRAG IST IN VERBINDUNG MIT ARTIKEL 48 EWG-VERTRAG UND MIT ARTIKEL 7 ABSATZ 2 DER VERORDNUNG NR . 1612/68 DAHIN AUSZULEGEN , DASS EIN MIT GLIEDSTAAT , DER ES SEINEN EIGENEN STAATSANGEHÖRIGEN ERMÖGLICHT , ZU ERREICHEN , DASS IHRE LEDIGEN PARTNER , DIE NICHT STAATSANGEHÖRIGE DIESES MITGLIEDSTAATS SIND , SICH IN SEINEM HOHEITSGEBIET AUFHALTEN , WANDERARBEITNEHMERN , DIE STAATSANGEHÖRIGE ANDERER MITGLIEDSTAATEN SIND , DIESE VERGíœNSTIGUNG NICHT VERSAGEN DARF .