EuGH, Rs. 18/87 v. 27.9.1988 - Kommission / Deutschland (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 27.9.1988, Rs. 18/87, Slg. 1988, 5427 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Bundesrepublik Deutschland


EWGV Art. 9 , 12 , 13 , 16 , 30 , 36

Summary

1 . Any pecuniary charge, whatever its designation and mode of application, which is imposed unilaterally on goods by reason of the fact that they cross a frontier and is not a customs duty in the strict sense constitutes a charge having an equivalent effect to a customs duty within the meaning of Articles 9, 12, 13 and 16 of the Treaty . However, such a charge escapes that classification if it relates to a general system of internal dues applied systematically and in accordance with the same criteria to domestic products and imported products alike or if it constitutes payment for a service in fact rendered to the economic operator of a sum in proportion to the service, or further, if it attaches to inspections carried out to fulfil obligations imposed by Community law, provided that, in the latter case, the fees do not exceed the real costs of the inspections in connection with which they are charged, that the inspections in question are obligatory and uniform for all the products concerned in the Community, that they are prescribed by Community law in the general interest of the Community and that they promote the free movement of goods, in particular by neutralizing obstacles which may arise from unilateral measures of inspection adopted in accordance with Article 36 of the Treaty .

2 . A fee charged by the authorities of a Member State payable on the importation and transit of live animals from other Member States and intended to cover the costs of veterinary inspections carried out under Directive 81/389/EEC concerning measures to be taken for the protection of animals in international transport whose amount does not exceed the actual cost of the inspections does not constitute a charge having an effect equivalent to a customs duty as prohibited under Articles 9 and 12 of the Treaty . The standardization of the inspections in question is such as to promote the free movement of goods and the contested fee, provided that its sole purpose is the financially and economically justified compensation for an obligation imposed in equal measure on all the Member States by Community law, cannot be regarded as equivalent to a customs duty . The negative effects which it may have on the free movement of goods in the Community can be eliminated only by virtue of Community provisions providing for the harmonization of fees, or imposing the obligation on the Member States to bear the costs entailed in the inspections or, finally, establishing that such costs are to be paid out of the Community budget .

Parties

In Case 18/87

Commission of the European Communities, represented by Joern Sack, a member of its Legal Department, acting as Agent, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the office of Georgios Kremlis, also a member of its Legal Department, Jean Monnet Building, Kirchberg,

applicant,

v

Federal Republic of Germany, represented by Martin Seidel, Ministerialrat at the Ministry of Economic Affairs, and by Jochim Sedemund and Dietmar Knopp, of the Cologne Bar, acting as Agents, with an address for service in Luxembourg at the German Embassy,

defendant,

APPLICATION for a declaration that the Federal Republic of Germany has failed to fulfil its obligations under Articles 9 and 12 of the EEC Treaty in so far as some Laender charge a fee on the importation of live animals from other Member States of the Community to cover the costs of veterinary inspections carried out under Council Directive 81/389/EEC of 12 May 1981,

THE COURT

composed of : Lord Mackenzie Stuart, President, O . Due, J . C . Moitinho de Almeida and G . C . Rodrí­guez Iglesias, Presidents of Chambers, T . Koopmans, U . Everling, Y . Galmot, C . N . Kakouris and T . F . O' Higgins, Judges,

Advocate General : G . F . Mancini

Registrar : B . Pastor, Administrator

having regard to the Report for the Hearing and further to the hearing on 23 March 1988,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General delivered at the sitting on 21 June 1988,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds of the judgment

1 By an application lodged at the Court Registry on 26 January 1987, the Commission of the European Communities brought an action under Article 169 of the EEC Treaty for a declaration that the Federal Republic of Germany had failed to fulfil its obligations under Articles 9 and 12 of the EEC Treaty in so far as some Laender charge a fee on the importation of live animals from other Member States to cover the costs of veterinary inspections carried out under Council Directive 81/389/EEC of 12 May 1981 ( Official Journal 1981, L 150, p . 1 ).

2 In the Federal Republic of Germany, the authorities in the Laender Bremen, Hessen, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen and Rheinland-Pfalz charge a fee, payable on the importation and transit, even in the course of intra-Community trade, of live animals, to cover the costs of official veterinary inspections carried out only once on the territory of the Federal Republic of Germany in accordance with Article 2 ( 1 ) of Council Directive 81/389/EEC of 12 May 1981 establishing measures necessary for the implementation of Directive 77/489/EEC on the protection of animals during international transport ( Official Journal L 150, p . 1 ).

3 According to the Commission, this fee is a charge having an effect equivalent to a customs duty and as such prohibited under Articles 9 and 12 of the Treaty . The Federal Republic of Germany disputes this .

4 Reference is made to the Report for the Hearing for the facts of the case, the course of the procedure and the arguments of the parties which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court .

5 It should be observed in the first place that, as the Court has held on a number of occasions, the justification for the prohibition of customs duties and any charges having an equivalent effect lies in the fact that any pecuniary charge, however small, imposed on goods by reason of the fact that they cross a frontier, constitutes an obstacle to the movement of goods which is aggravated by the resulting administrative formalities . It follows that any pecuniary charge, whatever its designation and mode of application, which is imposed unilaterally on goods by reason of the fact that they cross a frontier and is not a customs duty in the strict sense constitutes a charge having an equivalent effect to a customs duty within the meaning of Articles 9, 12, 13 and 16 of the Treaty .

6 However, the Court has held that such a charge escapes that classification if it relates to a general system of internal dues applied systematically and in accordance with the same criteria to domestic products and imported products alike ( judgment of 31 May 1979 in Case 132/78 Denkavit v France (( 1979 )) ECR 1923 ), if it constitutes payment for a service in fact rendered to the economic operator of a sum in proportion to the service ( judgment of 9 November 1983 in Case 158/82 Commission v Denmark (( 1983 )) ECR 3573 ), or again, subject to certain conditions, if it attaches to inspections carried out to fulfil obligations imposed by Community law ( judgment of 25 January 1977 in Case 46/76 Bauhuis v Netherlands (( 1977 )) ECR 5 ).

7 The contested fee, which is payable on importation and transit, cannot be regarded as relating to a general system of internal dues . Nor does it constitute payment for a service rendered to the operator, because this condition is satisfied only if the operator in question obtains a definite specific benefit ( see judgment of 1 July 1969 in Case 24/68 Commission v Italy (( 1969 )) ECR 193 ), which is not the case if the inspection serves to guarantee, in the public interest, the health and life of animals in international transport ( see judgment of 20 March 1984 in Case 314/82 Commission v Belgium (( 1984 )) ECR 1543 ).

8 Since the contested fee was charged in connection with inspections carried out pursuant to a Community provision, it should be noted that according to the case-law of the Court ( judgment of 25 January 1977 in Bauhuis, cited above; judgment of 12 July 1977 Commission v Netherlands (( 1977 )) ECR 1355; judgment of 31 January 1984 in Case 1/83 IFG v Freistaat Bayern (( 1984 )) ECR 349 ) such fees may not be classified as charges having an effect equivalent to a customs duty if the following conditions are satisfied :

( a ) they do not exceed the actual costs of the inspections in connection with which they are charged;

( b ) the inspections in question are obligatory and uniform for all the products concerned in the Community;

( c ) they are prescribed by Community law in the general interest of the Community;

( d ) they promote the free movement of goods, in particular by neutralizing obstacles which could arise from unilateral measures of inspection adopted in accordance with Article 36 of the Treaty .

9 In this instance these conditions are satisfied by the contested fee . In the first place it has not been contested that it does not exceed the real cost of the inspections in connection with which it is charged .

10 Moreover, all the Member States of transit and destination are required, under, inter alia, Article 2 ( 1 ) of Directive 81/389/EEC, cited above, to carry out the veterinary inspections in question when the animals are brought into their territories, and therefore the inspections are obligatory and uniform for all the animals concerned in the Community .

11 Those inspections are prescribed by Directive 81/389/EEC, which establishes the measures necessary for the implementation of Council Directive 77/489/EEC of 18 July 1977 on the protection of animals during international transport, with a view to the protection of live animals, an objective which is pursued in the general interest of the Community and not a specific interest of individual States .

12 Finally, it appears from the preambles to the two abovementioned directives that they are intended to harmonize the laws of the Member States regarding the protection of animals in international transport in order to eliminate technical barriers resulting from disparities in the national laws ( see third, fourth and fifth recitals in the preamble to Directive 77/489/EEC and third recital in the preamble to Directive 81/389/EEC ). In addition, failing such harmonization, each Member State was entitled to maintain or introduce, under the conditions laid down in Article 36 of the Treaty, measures restricting trade which were justified on grounds of the protection of the health and life of animals . It follows that the standardization of the inspections in question is such as to promote the free movement of goods .

13 The Commission has claimed, however, that the contested fee is to be regarded as a charge having equivalent effect to a customs duty because, in so far as fees of this type have not been harmonized, such harmonization, moreover, being unattainable in practice - their negative effect on the free movement of goods could not be compensated or, consequently, justified by the positive effects of the Community standardization of inspections .

14 In this respect, it should be noted that since the fee in question is intended solely as the financially and economically justified compensation for an obligation imposed in equal measure on all the Member States by Community law, it cannot be regarded as equivalent to a customs duty; nor, consequently, can it fall within the ambit of the prohibition laid down in Articles 9 and 12 of the Treaty .

15 The negative effects which such a fee may have on the free movement of goods in the Community can be eliminated only by virtue of Community provisions providing for the harmonization of fees, or imposing the obligation on the Member States to bear the costs entailed in the inspections or, finally, establishing that the costs in question are to be paid out of the Community budget .

16 It follows from the foregoing that the Commission' s application must be dismissed .

Decision on costs

Costs

17 Under Article 69 ( 2 ) of the Rules of Procedure, the unsuccessful party is to be ordered to pay the costs . Since the Commission has failed in its submissions, it must be ordered to pay the costs .

Operative part of the judgment

On those grounds,

THE COURT

hereby :

( 1 ) Dismisses the application;

( 2 ) Orders the Commission to pay the costs .

EuGH, Rs. 18/87 v. 27.9.1988 - Kommission / Deutschland


EuGH, Urteil v. 27.9.1988, Rs. 18/87, Slg. 1988, 5427 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Bundesrepublik Deutschland


EWGV Art. 9 , 12 , 13 , 16 , 30 , 36
Leitsätze:

1 . Eine den Waren wegen des íœberschreitens der Grenze einseitig auferlegte finanzielle Belastung stellt, wenn sie kein Zoll im eigentlichen Sinne ist, unabhängig von ihrer Bezeichnung und der Art ihrer Erhebung eine Abgabe zollgleicher Wirkung im Sinne der Artikel 9, 12, 13 und 16 EWG-Vertrag dar . Dies gilt jedoch dann nicht, wenn die fragliche Belastung Teil einer allgemeinen inländischen Gebührenregelung ist, die systematisch sämtliche inländischen und eingeführten Waren nach gleichen Kriterien erfasst, wenn sie ein der Höhe nach angemessenes Entgelt für einen dem Wirtschaftsteilnehmer tatsächlich geleisteten Dienst darstellt oder aber wenn sie sich auf Kontrollen bezieht, die zur Erfüllung von Verpflichtungen, die sich aus dem Gemeinschaftsrecht ergeben, durchgeführt werden, im letzteren Fall unter der Voraussetzung, daß die Gebühren nicht die tatsächlichen Kosten der Kontrollen, anläßlich deren sie erhoben werden, übersteigen, daß die fraglichen Kontrollen für alle betroffenen Erzeugnisse in der Gemeinschaft obligatorisch und einheitlich sind, daß die Gebühren vom Gemeinschaftsrecht im allgemeinen Interesse der Gemeinschaft vorgesehen sind und daß sie den freien Warenverkehr begünstigen, insbesondere indem sie die Wirkung der Hindernisse aufheben, die sich aus einseitigen Kontrollmaßnahmen ergeben können, die im Einklang mit Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag getroffen werden .

2 . Eine Gebühr, die von den Behörden eines Mitgliedstaats bei der Ein - und Durchfuhr von lebenden Tieren aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten zur Deckung der Kosten der tierärztlichen Kontrollen erhoben wird, die aufgrund der Richtlinie 81/389 betreffend die zum Schutz von Tieren beim internationalen Transport erforderlichen Maßnahmen vorgenommen werden, und die die tatsächlichen Kosten der Kontrollen nicht übersteigt, stellt keine nach den Artikeln 9 und 12 EWG-Vertrag verbotene Abgabe mit zollgleicher Wirkung dar . Die Vereinheitlichung der fraglichen Kontrollen ist nämlich geeignet, den freien Warenverkehr zu begünstigen, und die streitige Gebühr kann, da sie nur den finanziell und wirtschaftlich gerechtfertigten Ausgleich für eine Verpflichtung bezweckt, die allen Mitgliedstaaten vom Gemeinschaftsrecht in gleicher Weise auferlegt worden ist, nicht einem Zoll gleichgestellt werden . Die ungünstigen Auswirkungen, die sie auf den freien Warenverkehr in der Gemeinschaft haben kann, können nur auf der Grundlage von Gemeinschaftsbestimmungen beseitigt werden, die entweder die Harmonisierung der Gebühren oder die Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten, die durch die Kontrollen entstandenen Kosten zu tragen, oder schließlich die íœbernahme dieser Kosten durch den Gemeinschaftshaushalt vorsehen .

Gründe:

1 Die Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften hat mit Klageschrift, die am 26 . Januar 1987 in der Kanzlei des Gerichtshofes eingegangen ist, gemäß Artikel 169 EWG-Vertrag Klage erhoben auf Feststellung, daß die Bundesrepublik Deutschland dadurch gegen ihre Verpflichtungen aus den Artikeln 9 und 12 EWG-Vertrag verstossen hat, daß einige Bundesländer bei der Einfuhr von lebenden Tieren aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten der Gemeinschaft eine Gebühr zur Deckung der Kosten amtstierärztlicher Kontrollen nach der Richtlinie 81/389 des Rates vom 12 . Mai 1981 ( ABl . L 150, S . 1 ) erheben .

2 In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland erheben die Behörden in den Ländern Bremen, Hessen, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen und Rheinland-Pfalz bei der Ein - und Durchfuhr von lebenden Tieren, auch im innergemeinschaftlichen Handel, eine Gebühr zur Deckung der Kosten der amtstierärztlichen Kontrollen, die ein einziges Mal im Hoheitsgebiet der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 der Richtlinie 81/389 des Rates vom 12 . Mai 1981 zur Festlegung von Maßnahmen für die Durchführung der Richtlinie 77/489 über den Schutz von Tieren beim internationalen Transport ( ABl . L 150, S . 1 ) vorgenommen werden .

3 Nach Ansicht der Kommission ist diese Gebühr eine nach den Artikeln 9 und 12 EWG-Vertrag verbotene Maßnahme zollgleicher Wirkung . Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland wendet sich gegen diese Qualifizierung .

4 Wegen des Sachverhalts, des Verfahrensablaufs und des Parteivorbringens wird auf den Sitzungsbericht verwiesen . Der Akteninhalt wird im folgenden nur insoweit wiedergegeben, als die Begründung des Urteils dies erfordert .

5 Wie der Gerichtshof bereits mehrfach festgestellt hat, liegt die Rechtfertigung für das Verbot von Zöllen und Abgaben gleicher Wirkung darin, daß finanzielle Belastungen, die ihren Grund im íœberschreiten der Grenzen haben, auch wenn sie noch so geringfügig sind, eine Behinderung des freien Warenverkehrs darstellen, die durch die damit verbundenen Verwaltungsformalitäten noch erschwert wird . Eine den Waren wegen des íœberschreitens der Grenze einseitig auferlegte finanzielle Belastung stellt sonach, wenn sie kein Zoll im eigentlichen Sinne ist, unabhängig von ihrer Bezeichnung und der Art ihrer Erhebung eine Abgabe zollgleicher Wirkung im Sinne der Artikel 9, 12, 13 und 16 EWG-Vertrag dar .

6 Nach der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes gilt das jedoch dann nicht, wenn die fragliche Belastung Teil einer allgemeinen inländischen Gebührenregelung ist, die systematisch sämtliche inländischen und eingeführten Waren nach gleichen Kriterien erfasst ( Urteil vom 31 . Mai 1979 in der Rechtssache 132/78, Denkavit/Frankreich, Slg . 1979, 1923 ), wenn sie ein der Höhe nach angemessenes Entgelt für einen dem Wirtschaftsteilnehmer tatsächlich geleisteten Dienst darstellt ( Urteil vom 9 . November 1983 in der Rechtssache 158/82, Kommission/Dänemark, Slg . 1983, 3573 ) oder aber - unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen - wenn sie sich auf Kontrollen bezieht, die zur Erfüllung von Verpflichtungen, die sich aus dem Gemeinschaftsrecht ergeben, durchgeführt werden ( Urteil vom 25 . Januar 1977 in der Rechtssache 46/76, Bauhuis/Niederlande, Slg . 1977, 5 ).

7 Die streitige Gebühr, die bei der Einfuhr und Durchfuhr erhoben wird, kann nicht als Teil einer allgemeinen inländischen Gebührenregelung angesehen werden . Sie stellt auch nicht das Entgelt für einen dem Wirtschaftsteilnehmer geleisteten Dienst dar, da diese Voraussetzung nur erfüllt ist, wenn der Wirtschaftsteilnehmer einen bestimmten, tatsächlich gewährten Vorteil erhält ( vgl . Urteil vom 1 . Juli 1969 in der Rechtssache 24/68, Kommission/Italien, Slg . 1969, 193 ); dies ist nicht der Fall, wenn die Kontrolle dazu dient, im allgemeinen Interesse die Gesundheit von lebenden Tieren beim internationalen Transport zu gewährleisten ( vgl . Urteil vom 20 . März 1984 in der Rechtssache 314/82, Kommission/Belgien, Slg . 1984, 1543 ).

8 Da die streitige Gebühr anläßlich solcher Kontrollen erhoben wird, die aufgrund einer Gemeinschaftsbestimmung durchgeführt werden, ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß derartige Gebühren nach der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes ( Urteil vom 25 . Januar 1977, a . a . O ., Urteil vom 12 . Juli 1977, Kommission/Niederlande, Slg . 1977, 1355, Urteil vom 31 . Januar 1984 in der Rechtssache 1/83, IFG/Freistaat Bayern, Slg . 1984, 349 ) nicht als Abgaben zollgleicher Wirkung qualifiziert werden können, wenn folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind :

- Die Gebühren übersteigen nicht die tatsächlichen Kosten der Kontrollen, anläßlich deren sie erhoben werden;

- die fraglichen Kontrollen sind für alle betroffenen Erzeugnisse in der Gemeinschaft obligatorisch und einheitlich;

- sie sind vom Gemeinschaftsrecht im allgemeinen Interesse der Gemeinschaft vorgesehen;

- sie begünstigen den freien Warenverkehr, insbesondere indem sie die Wirkung der Hindernisse aufheben, die sich aus einseitigen Kontrollmaßnahmen ergeben können, die im Einklang mit Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag getroffen werden .

9 Im vorliegenden Fall erfüllt die streitige Gebühr diese Voraussetzungen . Wie zunächst festzustellen ist, ist nämlich nicht bestritten worden, daß sie die tatsächlichen Kosten der Kontrollen, anläßlich deren sie erhoben wird, nicht übersteigt .

10 Ferner sind alle Durchfuhr - und Bestimmungsmitgliedstaaten insbesondere aufgrund von Artikel 2 Absatz 1 der erwähnten Richtlinie 81/389 verpflichtet, die fraglichen amtstierärztlichen Kontrollen zum Zeitpunkt der Einfuhr der Tiere in ihr Hoheitsgebiet durchzuführen, so daß die Kontrollen für alle betroffenen Tiere in der Gemeinschaft obligatorisch und einheitlich sind .

11 Diese Kontrollen sind von der Richtlinie 81/389, die Maßnahmen für die Durchführung der Richtlinie 77/489 über den Schutz von Tieren beim internationalen Transport festlegt, vorgesehen, um den Schutz der lebenden Tiere zu gewährleisten, ein Ziel, das im allgemeinen Interesse der Gemeinschaft und nicht im besonderen Interesse einiger Staaten liegt .

12 Schließlich ist den Begründungserwägungen der beiden genannten Richtlinien zu entnehmen, daß mit diesen Richtlinien die Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten auf dem Gebiet des Schutzes von Tieren beim internationalen Transport harmonisiert werden sollen, um die sich aus den Unterschieden zwischen den nationalen Rechtsvorschriften ergebenden technischen Hemmnisse im Handel mit lebenden Tieren zu beseitigen ( vgl . dritte bis fünfte Begründungserwägung der Richtlinie 77/489 und dritte Begründungserwägung der Richtlinie 81/389 ). Im übrigen war mangels einer solchen Harmonisierung jeder Mitgliedstaat berechtigt, unter den Voraussetzungen des Artikels 36 EWG-Vertrag handelsbeschränkende Maßnahmen, die zum Schutze der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Tieren gerechtfertigt waren, beizubehalten oder einzuführen . Infolgedessen ist die Vereinheitlichung der fraglichen Kontrollen geeignet, den freien Warenverkehr zu begünstigen .

13 Die Kommission hat jedoch geltend gemacht, die streitige Gebühr sei als Abgabe gleicher Wirkung anzusehen, weil mangels einer Harmonisierung derartiger Gebühren - die übrigens in der Praxis nicht durchführbar sei - ihre negative Auswirkung auf den freien Warenverkehr durch die günstigen Auswirkungen der gemeinschaftlichen Vereinheitlichung der Kontrollen nicht ausgeglichen und folglich auch nicht gerechtfertigt werden könne .

14 Dazu ist zu bemerken, daß die fragliche Gebühr, da sie nur den finanziell und wirtschaftlich gerechtfertigen Ausgleich für eine Verpflichtung bezweckt, die allen Mitgliedstaaten vom Gemeinschaftsrecht in gleicher Weise auferlegt worden ist, nicht einem Zoll gleichgestellt werden und daher auch nicht unter das in den Artikeln 9 und 12 EWG-Vertrag aufgestellte Verbot fallen kann .

15 Die ungünstigen Auswirkungen, die eine solche Gebühr auf den freien Warenverkehr in der Gemeinschaft haben kann, können nur auf der Grundlage von Gemeinschaftsbestimmungen beseitigt werden, die entweder die Harmonisierung der Gebühren oder die Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten, die durch die Kontrollen entstandenen Kosten zu tragen, oder schließlich die íœbernahme dieser Kosten durch den Gemeinschaftshaushalt vorsehen .

16 Sonach ist die Klage der Kommission abzuweisen .

Kosten:

17 Nach Artikel 69 § 2 der Verfahrensordnung ist die unterliegende Partei zur Tragung der Kosten zu verurteilen . Da die Kommission unterlegen ist, sind ihr die Kosten aufzuerlegen .

Tenor:

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF

für Recht erkannt und entschieden :

1 ) Die Klage wird abgewiesen .

2 ) Die Kommission trägt die Kosten des Verfahrens .