EuGH, Rs. C-367/89 v. 4.10.1991 - Aime Richardt (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 4.10.1991, Rs. C-367/89, Slg. 1991, I-4621 - Strafverfahren gegen Aime Richardt und Les Accessoires Scientifiques SNC.


EWG-Vertrag Art. 36; Verordung Nr. 222/77 des Rates

Summary

The existence, as a consequence of the Customs Union, of a general principle of freedom of transit of goods within the Community does not, as Article 10 of Regulation No 222/77 affirms, have the effect of precluding the Member States from verifying the nature of goods in transit, pursuant to the Treaty, in particular Article 36. That article authorizes the Member States to impose restrictions on the transit of goods on grounds of public security, which covers both a Member State' s internal security and its external security, of which the latter manifestly requires to be taken into consideration in the case of goods capable of being used for strategic purposes.

Accordingly, the aforementioned regulation does not preclude the legislation of a Member State from requiring, on external security grounds, that special authorization must be obtained for the transit through its territory of goods described as strategic material, irrespective of the Community transit document issued by another Member State. However, the measures adopted by the Member State as a consequence of the failure to comply with that requirement must not be disproportionate to the objective pursued.

Parties

In Case C-367/89,

REFERENCE to the Court under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty by the Cour de Cassation, Luxembourg, for a preliminary ruling in the criminal proceedings pending before that court against

Aimé Richardt,

Les Accessoires Scientifiques SNC,

on the interpretation of the provisions of Community law on the free movement of goods and Community transit,

THE COURT,

composed of: T.F. O' Higgins, President of a Chamber, acting as President, J.C. Moitinho de Almeida, M. Dí­ez de Velasco, Presidents of Chambers, C.N. Kakouris, F.A. Schockweiler, F. Grévisse and M. Zuleeg, Judges,

Advocate General: F.G. Jacobs,

Registrar: J.A. Pompe, Deputy Registrar,

after considering the written observations submitted on behalf of

the Finance Ministry of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Director of Customs, by Alphonse Berns, Director of International Economic Relations and Cooperation, acting as Agent, assisted by Pierre Bermes, of the Luxembourg Bar,

A. Richardt, Les Accessoires Scientifiques SNC, by Ernest Arendt, of the Luxembourg Bar, and Mireille Abensour-Gibert, of the Paris Bar,

the French Government, by Edwige Belliard, Deputy Director in the Directorate of Legal Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Géraud de Bergues, Principal Deputy Secretary in the Directorate of Legal Affairs of that Ministry, acting as Agents,

the United Kingdom, by J.E. Collins, of the Treasury Solicitor' s Department, acting as Agent,

the Belgian Government, by G. Speltincx, Director of European Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, External Trade and Development Cooperation, acting as Agent,

the Commission of the European Communities, by Joern Sack, Legal Adviser, assisted by Hervé Lehman, a French official seconded to the Commission' s Legal Service under the exchange scheme with national officials, acting as Agents,

having regard to the Report for the Hearing,

after hearing the oral observations of the Finance Ministry of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Director of Customs, of A. Richardt, the French Government, the United Kingdom, represented by Derrick Wyatt, Barrister, acting as Agent, and the Commission of the European Communities at the hearing on 13 March 1991,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General at the sitting on 8 May 1991,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds of the judgment

1 By judgment of 30 November 1989, which was received at the Court on 6 December 1989, the Cour de Cassation, Luxembourg, referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty a question on the interpretation of Council Regulation (EEC) No 222/77 of 13 December 1976 on Community transit (Official Journal 1977 L 38, p. 1), in order to enable it to determine the compatibility with Community law of the restrictions imposed by Luxembourg legislation on the transit of goods of a strategic nature.

2 That question was raised in the course of criminal proceedings brought against Mr Aimé Richardt and four other persons by the Finance Ministry of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Director of Customs for attempting to effect the unlawful transit of goods in contravention of a Grand Ducal Regulation of 17 August 1963 requiring a licence for the transit of certain goods (Mémorial A, No 47, 17 August 1963, p. 764). The combined provisions of Articles 1 and 2 of that regulation require the production of a licence for the transit of the goods set out in list I annexed thereto coming from, inter alia, the United States of America or the French Republic and declared to be in transit and destined for, amongst other countries, the Soviet Union.

3 Mr Richardt, the chairman and managing director of Les Accessoires Scientifiques (hereinafter referred to as "LAS"), established in France, agreed to deliver to a Soviet central purchasing agency, Technoprominport, established in Moscow, a unit for the production of bubble memory circuits including, inter alia, a ten-inch Veeco Microetch which, on importation into France from the United States, was placed in free circulation in the Community.

4 Mr Richardt completed in France the necessary formalities for the goods to be exported by air to Moscow. Since the goods could not be loaded on board the aeroplane provided for that purpose at Roissy, owing to the cancellation of a flight by Aeroflot, they were taken by lorry on the initiative of Air France to the airport of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and presented, in transit, to the Luxembourg customs on 21 May 1985 for departure from the territory of the Grand Duchy for Moscow. The goods were accompanied, apparently in error, but without any objection by either the French or Luxembourg authorities, by the T1 document prescribed in Regulation No 222/77 for goods not in free circulation in the Community.

5 The customs check carried out at Luxembourg airport resulted in the seizure of, inter alia, the manufacturing machine, which, according to the Luxembourg authorities, was accompanied by inaccurate declarations in order to conceal its strategic nature and to permit its transit to the USSR in contravention of the Luxembourg legislation, which requires a special transit licence in such cases. Mr Richardt and four other persons were therefore charged with attempting to effect the unlawful transit of goods subject to a licence requirement.

6 At first instance, the Tribunal Correctionnel (Criminal Court) dismissed the charges against Mr Richardt and his co-accused but ordered the machine to be confiscated.

7 On appeal by LAS and Mr Richardt against the operative part of the judgment in so far as it ordered the confiscation of the machine, the Cour d' Appel de Luxembourg held that there was no ground for its confiscation, since the accompanying T1 document was to be regarded as a valid certificate of authorization for transit issued by France, exempting the person concerned from production of a licence issued by the authorities of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. In those circumstances, according to the Cour d' Appel, the transit had taken place in accordance with the law.

8 In their appeal in cassation, the Finance Ministry of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Director of Customs challenged the judgment of the Cour d' Appel on the ground that it ascribed too general a scope to the T1 document. They contended essentially that Article 10 of Regulation No 222/77 applied only to goods described as ordinary, whilst the transit of goods of a strategic nature could be made subject, inter alia, to authorization justified by the dictates of external security.

9 Taking the view that the outcome of the proceedings depended on the interpretation of Regulation No 222/77, the Cour de Cassation, Luxembourg, decided, by judgment of 30 November 1989, to stay the proceedings pending a preliminary ruling by the Court on the following question:

"Is Council Regulation (EEC) No 222/77 to be interpreted as laying down the mandatory obligation for the T1 document provided for therein to be recognized without reservation as a valid authorization for transit in the territory of any Member State of the European Economic Community, irrespective of the nature of the goods transported and even if they endanger the external security of the State concerned, or conversely does the regulation allow a Member State the possibility of refusing to recognize the T1 document as equivalent to a transit authorization when the national legislation of that State considers the goods transported to be strategic equipment and, on external security grounds, makes transit through its territory subject to the grant of special permission?"

10 Reference is made to the Report for the Hearing for a fuller account of the facts of the case before the national court, the Community and national provisions at issue, the course of the procedure and the written observations submitted to the Court, which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court.

11 It should be pointed out at the outset that at the time of seizure the goods in question had not been imported into the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, but were there solely for the purpose of being transported to a non-member country, that is to say, they were in transit. In this case, the role of the customs authorities of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg therefore corresponds to that of an "office of transit" within the meaning of the second indent of Article 11(d) of Regulation No 222/77. It follows that the export in question must be regarded as effected not from the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg but from the Member State of initial departure, namely the French Republic, where the export formalities appear moreover to have been completed, as provided for in Council Regulation (EEC) No 2102/77 of 20 September 1977 introducing a Community export declaration form (Official Journal 1977 L 246, p. 1). Consequently, Regulation (EEC) No 2603 of the Council of 20 December 1969 establishing common rules for exports (Official Journal English Special Edition 1969 (II), p. 590), last amended by Regulation (EEC) No 1934/82 (Official Journal 1982 L 211, p. 1), is not applicable in the main proceedings and the only relevant provisions are those contained in Regulation No 222/77, which, moreover, is the subject of the question referred for a preliminary ruling.

12 The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the French Republic, the Kingdom of Belgium and the Commission consider that Regulation No 222/77 does not preclude a Member State from requiring, in addition to the transit document accompanying the goods, special authorization where such authorization, which is justified on external security grounds, relates to goods described as strategic material.

13 On the other hand, Mr Richardt and LAS take the view that the licence requirement provided for in the Luxembourg legislation, together with the transit document T1 accompanying the goods in question, is contrary to the EEC Treaty and to Regulation No 222/77 because, pursuant to Article 37 of that regulation, the T1 document is a transit permit which, in all the Member States, is to have the same legal effects as a transit certificate, irrespective of the strategic nature or otherwise of the goods.

14 Having regard to those opposing points of view, it should first be recalled that, as the Court held in its judgment in Case 266/81 SIOT v Ministero delle Finanze [1983] ECR 731, paragraph 16, it is necessary, as a consequence of the Customs Union and in the mutual interest of the Member States, to acknowledge the existence of a general principle of freedom of transit of goods within the Community. That principle is, moreover, confirmed by the reference to "transit" in Article 36 of the Treaty.

15 As the Court stated in its judgment in Case C-117/88 Trend-Moden Textilhandels GmbH v Hauptzollamt Emmerich [1990] ECR I-631, paragraph 16, the purpose of Regulation No 222/77 is to facilitate the transport of goods within the Community by simplifying and standardizing the formalities to be carried out when internal frontiers are crossed.

16 Finally, the tenth recital in the preamble to Regulation No 222/77 states that the Community transit procedure should, in principle, be applied to all movements of goods within the Community. That procedure thus covers all goods, irrespective of their possible strategic nature.

17 However, that situation does not preclude the Member States from verifying goods in transit, in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty. Article 10 of Regulation No 222/77 provides that prohibitions and restrictions on importation, exportation and transit issued by the Member States are to apply to the extent to which they are compatible with the three Treaties establishing the European Communities.

18 It must therefore be considered whether the rules of the Treaty, in particular Article 36, preclude a requirement for special authorization and also the consequences, such as confiscation measures, of a failure to comply with that requirement.

19 In that connection the Court has consistently held that the purpose of Article 36 of the Treaty is not to reserve certain matters to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Member States, but merely to allow national legislation to derogate from the principle of the free movement of goods to the extent to which this is and remains justified in order to achieve the objectives set out in the article (see, in particular, the judgment in Case 72/83 Campus Oil Limited v Minister for Industry and Energy [1984] ECR 2727, paragraph 32).

20 The Court has stated on several occasions (see the judgment in Campus Oil, cited above, paragraph 37, concerning restrictions on imports) that Article 36, as an exception to a fundamental principle of the Treaty, must be interpreted in such a way that its scope is not extended any further than is necessary for the protection of the interests which it is intended to secure. Measures adopted on the basis of Article 36 can therefore be justified only if they are such as to serve the interest which that article protects and if they do not restrict intra-Community trade more than is absolutely necessary.

21 Having regard to that case-law, a Member State may invoke Article 36 in order to justify a measure restricting transit only if no other measure, less restrictive from the point of view of the free movement of goods, permits the same objective to be attained.

22 In that respect, it is necessary to state, along with the Commission and the Member States which submitted written observations to the Court, that the concept of public security within the meaning of Article 36 of the Treaty covers both a Member State' s internal security and its external security. It is common ground that the importation, exportation and transit of goods capable of being used for strategic purposes may affect the public security of a Member State, which it is therefore entitled to protect pursuant to Article 36 of the Treaty.

23 Accordingly, in order to verify the nature of goods described as strategic material, the Member States are entitled under Article 36 of the Treaty to make their transit subject to the grant of a special authorization.

24 As regards the penalties laid down for failure to comply with the obligation to obtain such authorization, it should be stated, as the Commission, LAS and Mr Richardt pointed out, that a measure involving seizure or confiscation may be considered disproportionate to the objective pursued, and thus incompatible with Article 36 of the Treaty, in a case where the return of the goods to the Member State of origin could suffice.

25 However, it is for the national court to determine whether the system established complies with the principle of proportionality, taking account of all the elements of each case, such as the nature of the goods capable of endangering the security of the State, the circumstances in which the breach was committed and whether or not the trader seeking to effect the transit and holding documents for that purpose issued by another Member State was acting in good faith.

26 It follows from the foregoing considerations that the reply to the question submitted by the national court must be that Regulation No 222/77 must be interpreted as meaning that it does not preclude legislation of a Member State which, on external security grounds, requires special authorization to be obtained for the transit through its territory of goods described as strategic material, irrespective of the Community transit document issued by another Member State. However, the measures adopted by the Member State as a consequence of the failure to comply with that requirement must not be disproportionate to the objective pursued.

Decision on costs

Costs

27 The costs incurred by the Belgian, French, Luxembourg and United Kingdom Governments and by the Commission of the European Communities, which have submitted observations to the Court, are not recoverable. Since these proceedings are, for the parties to the main proceedings, a step in the proceedings pending before the national court, the decision on costs is a matter for that court.

Operative part of the judgment

On those grounds,

THE COURT,

in answer to the question referred to it by the Cour de Cassation of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, by judgment of 30 November 1989, hereby rules:

Council Regulation (EEC) No 222/77 of 13 December 1976 on Community transit must be interpreted as meaning that it does not preclude legislation of a Member State which, on external security grounds, requires special authorization to be obtained for the transit through its territory of goods described as strategic material, irrespective of the Community transit document issued by another Member State. However, the measures adopted by the Member State as a consequence of the failure to comply with that requirement must not be disproportionate to the objective pursued.

EuGH, Rs. C-367/89 v. 4.10.1991 - Aime Richardt


EuGH, Urteil v. 4.10.1991, Rs. C-367/89, Slg. 1991, I-4621 - Strafverfahren gegen Aime Richardt und Les Accessoires Scientifiques SNC.


EWG-Vertrag Art. 36; Verordung Nr. 222/77 des Rates
Leitsätze:

Das Bestehen eines allgemeinen Grundsatzes der Freiheit der Warendurchfuhr innerhalb der Gemeinschaft als Folge der Zollunion, der alle Beförderungen von Waren erfasst, verbietet es den Mitgliedstaaten - wie Artikel 10 der Verordnung Nr. 222/77 klarstellt - nicht, Transitwaren unter Einhaltung der Bestimmungen des EWG-Vertrags, insbesondere seines Artikels 36, zu kontrollieren. Artikel 36 erlaubt es den Mitgliedstaaten, die Durchfuhr von Waren Beschränkungen aus Gründen der öffentlichen Sicherheit zu unterwerfen, die sowohl die innere Sicherheit als auch die äussere Sicherheit eines Mitgliedstaats umfasst, wobei letztere offensichtlich dann in Frage steht, wenn es um Waren geht, die zu strategischen Zwecken verwendet werden können.

Die Verordnung Nr. 222/77 steht daher einer Regelung eines Mitgliedstaats nicht entgegen, nach der für die Durchfuhr von als strategisches Material eingestuften Waren durch sein Gebiet aus Gründen der äusseren Sicherheit unabhängig von dem von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ausgestellten gemeinschaftsrechtlichen Versandschein eine besondere Genehmigung erforderlich ist. Die von dem Mitgliedstaat wegen Nichtbeachtung dieser Genehmigungspflicht getroffenen Maßnahmen dürfen jedoch nicht ausser Verhältnis zu dem verfolgten Ziel stehen.

 

Gründe:

1 Die luxemburgische Cour de cassation hat mit Urteil vom 30. November 1989, beim Gerichtshof eingegangen am 6. Dezember 1989, gemäß Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag eine Frage nach der Auslegung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 222/77 des Rates vom 13. Dezember 1976 über das gemeinschaftliche Versandverfahren (ABl. 1977 L 38, S. 1) zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt, um beurteilen zu können, ob die Beschränkungen, die das luxemburgische Recht für die Durchfuhr von Waren strategischer Art vorsieht, mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht vereinbar sind.

2 Diese Frage stellt sich in einem vom Finanzminister des Großherzogtums Luxemburg und dem Directeur des douanes betriebenen Strafverfahren gegen Aimé Richardt und vier weitere Personen wegen des Versuchs der rechtswidrigen Durchfuhr von Waren unter Verstoß gegen die großherzogliche Verordnung über die Genehmigungspflicht für die Durchfuhr bestimmter Waren vom 17. August 1963 (Mémorial A Nr. 47 vom 17. August 1963, S. 764). Nach Artikel 1 in Verbindung mit Artikel 2 dieser Verordnung ist die Durchfuhr derjenigen Waren genehmigungspflichtig, die in der der Verordnung beigefügten Liste I aufgeführt sind und u. a. aus den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika oder aus der Französischen Republik kommen und zur Durchfuhr unter anderem in die UdSSR angemeldet werden.

3 Herr Richardt, der Président-directeur général der in Frankreich niedergelassenen Gesellschaft "Les accessoires scientifiques" (im folgenden: LAS) ist, verpflichtete sich gegenüber der in Moskau niedergelassenen sowjetischen Einkaufszentrale Technopromimport zur Lieferung einer Fertigungseinheit für Magnetblasenspeicher, zu der unter anderem eine Bearbeitungsmaschine Veeco micrötch von zehn Zoll gehören sollte, die aus den Vereinigten Staaten nach Frankreich eingeführt und dort zum freien Verkehr in der Gemeinschaft abgefertigt worden war.

4 Herr Richardt erledigte in Frankreich die Formalitäten, die für die Ausfuhr dieser Waren auf dem Luftweg nach Moskau vorgeschrieben waren. Da die Waren wegen Annullierung eines Flugs der Äroflot nicht wie vorgesehen in Roissy in ein Flugzeug verladen werden konnten, wurden sie auf Veranlassung der Air France mit Lastwagen zum Flughafen des Großherzogtums Luxemburg gebracht und am 21. Mai 1985 im Hinblick auf ihre Ausfuhr aus dem Großherzogtum im Durchfuhrverkehr mit Ziel Moskau den luxemburgischen Zollbehörden gestellt. Als Begleitpapier war den Waren, wie es scheint irrtümlich, aber ohne daß die französischen oder die luxemburgischen Behörden daran Anstoß nahmen, das Dokument T1 beigefügt, das die Verordnung Nr. 222/77 für Waren vorsieht, die sich nicht im freien Verkehr in der Gemeinschaft befinden.

5 Die im Flughafen Luxemburg durchgeführte Zollkontrolle führte zur Beschlagnahme unter anderem der Bearbeitungsmaschine, der nach Ansicht der luxemburgischen Behörden unzutreffende Zollerklärungen beigefügt waren, um ihren strategischen Charakter zu verschleiern und ihre Durchfuhr in die UdSSR unter Verstoß gegen das luxemburgische Recht zu ermöglichen, das für solche Fälle eine besondere Durchfuhrgenehmigung vorschreibt. Gegen Herrn Richardt und vier weitere Personen wurde daher Anklage wegen des Versuchs der rechtswidrigen Durchfuhr von Waren, für die eine Genehmigungspflicht besteht, erhoben.

6 In erster Instanz sprach das Tribunal correctionnel Herrn Richardt und seine Mitangeklagten frei, ordnete aber die Einziehung der Bearbeitungsmaschine an.

7 Auf die Berufung der LAS und von Herrn Richardt gegen den Teil des Urteilsausspruchs, durch den die Einziehung der Bearbeitungsmaschine angeordnet worden war, gelangte die Cour d' appel Luxemburg zu der Ansicht, daß keine Einziehung der Bearbeitungsmaschine vorzunehmen sei, weil der ihr beigefügte Versandschein T1 als wirksame Bescheinigung über die von Frankreich erteilte Durchfuhrgenehmigung anzusehen sei und den Betroffenen von der Vorlage einer von den Behörden des Großherzogtums Luxemburg erteilten Genehmigung befreie. Die Durchfuhr war somit nach Ansicht der Cour d' appel rechtmässig.

8 Mit ihrer Kassationsbeschwerde rügten der Finanzminister des Großherzogtums Luxemburg und der Directeur des douanes, daß die Cour d' appel in ihrem Urteil dem Versandschein T1 eine zu allgemeine Bedeutung beigemessen habe. Dabei führten sie im wesentlichen aus, Artikel 10 der Verordnung Nr. 222/77 beziehe sich nur auf von ihnen als "gewöhnliche Waren" bezeichnete Waren; die Durchfuhr von Waren strategischer Art könne dagegen Gegenstand unter anderem einer durch zwingende Erfordernisse der äusseren Sicherheit gerechtfertigten Genehmigungsregelung sein.

9 Da der Ausgang des Strafverfahrens ihrer Ansicht nach von der Auslegung der Verordnung Nr. 222/77 abhängt, hat die luxemburgische Cour de cassation mit Urteil vom 30. November 1989 das Verfahren ausgesetzt und dem Gerichtshof folgende Frage zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt:

Ist die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 222/77 dahin auszulegen, daß der dort vorgesehene Versandschein T1 zwingend und ohne Einschränkung als Durchfuhrgenehmigung anzuerkennen ist, die im Gebiet jedes Mitgliedstaats der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft gilt, und zwar unabhängig von der Art der beförderten Ware selbst dann, wenn diese für die äussere Sicherheit des Staates gefährlich ist, oder lässt sie im Gegenteil einem Mitgliedstaat die Möglichkeit, den Versandschein T1 nicht als wirksame Durchfuhrgenehmigung anzuerkennen, wenn das nationale Recht dieses Staates die beförderte Ware als strategisches Material behandelt und die Durchfuhr durch sein Gebiet aus Gründen der äusseren Sicherheit einer besonderen Genehmigungspflicht unterwirft?

10 Wegen weiterer Einzelheiten des Sachverhalts des Ausgangsverfahrens, der fraglichen gemeinschaftsrechtlichen und nationalen Vorschriften, des Verfahrensablaufs und der beim Gerichtshof eingereichten schriftlichen Erklärungen wird auf den Sitzungsbericht verwiesen. Der Akteninhalt wird nur insoweit wiedergegeben, als die Begründung des Urteils dies erfordert.

11 Vorab ist festzustellen, daß die fragliche Ware im Zeitpunkt ihrer Beschlagnahme nicht in das Großherzogtum Luxemburg eingeführt worden war, sondern sich dort nur im Hinblick auf ihre Beförderung in ein Drittland, d. h. auf der Durchfuhr, befand. Die Funktion der Zolldienststelle des Großherzogtums Luxemburg in der vorliegenden Rechtssache entsprach somit der einer "Grenzuebergangsstelle" im Sinne von Artikel 11 Buchstabe d zweiter Gedankenstrich der Verordnung Nr. 222/77. Demnach ist davon auszugehen, daß die geplante Ausfuhr nicht vom Großherzogtum Luxemburg, sondern vom Mitgliedstaat der ursprünglichen Absendung aus erfolgte, d. h. von der Französischen Republik aus, wo anscheinend auch die Ausfuhrformalitäten gemäß der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 2102/77 des Rates vom 20. September 1977 über die Einführung einer gemeinschaftlichen Ausfuhranmeldung (ABl. L 246, S. 1) erledigt wurden. Daher ist im Ausgangsverfahren nicht die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 2603/69 des Rates vom 20. Dezember 1969 zur Festlegung einer gemeinsamen Ausfuhrregelung (ABl. L 324, S. 25), zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1934/82 (ABl. L 211, S. 1), sondern nur die Verordnung Nr. 222/77 anwendbar, auf die sich die Vorlagefrage denn auch bezieht.

12 Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg, das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland, die Französische Republik, das Königreich Belgien und die Kommission vertreten die Ansicht, die Verordnung Nr. 222/77 verbiete es einem Mitgliedstaat nicht, über den der Ware beigefügten Versandschein hinaus eine besondere Genehmigung zu verlangen, wenn dies durch Gründe der äusseren Sicherheit gerechtfertigt sei und die Genehmigung Waren betreffe, die als strategisches Material eingestuft würden.

13 Herr Richardt und LAS meinen dagegen, die Genehmigungspflicht der in der luxemburgischen Regelung vorgesehenen Art verstosse, wenn sie zu dem der fraglichen Ware beigefügten Versandschein T1 hinzukomme, gegen den EWG-Vertrag und gegen die Verordnung Nr. 222/77, weil der Versandschein T1 nach Artikel 37 dieser Verordnung eine Durchfuhrgenehmigung darstelle, die in allen Mitgliedstaaten unabhängig davon, ob es sich bei der Ware um strategisches Material handele, die mit einer solchen Genehmigung verbundenen gleichen Rechtswirkungen haben müsse.

14 Angesichts dieser einander entgegengesetzten Standpunkte ist zunächst wie schon im Urteil des Gerichtshofes vom 16. März 1983 in der Rechtssache 266/81 (SIOT, Slg. 1983, 731, Randnr. 16) festzustellen, daß als Folge der Zollunion und im gegenseitigen Interesse der Mitgliedstaaten das Bestehen eines allgemeinen Grundsatzes der Freiheit der Warendurchfuhr innerhalb der Gemeinschaft anzuerkennen ist. Für einen solchen Grundsatz spricht auch die Erwähnung der "Durchfuhr" in Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag.

15 Sodann ist daran zu erinnern, daß die Verordnung Nr. 222/77, wie der Gerichtshof im Urteil vom 7. März 1990 in der Rechtssache C-117/88 (Trend-Moden Textilhandel, Slg. 1990, I-631, Randnr. 16) ausgeführt hat, bezweckt, die Beförderung von Waren innerhalb der Gemeinschaft durch die Vereinfachung und Vereinheitlichung der Förmlichkeiten beim íœberschreiten der Binnengrenzen zu erleichtern.

16 Schließlich ist daran zu erinnern, daß das gemeinschaftliche Versandverfahren nach der zehnten Begründungserwägung der Verordnung Nr. 222/77 grundsätzlich die gesamte Warenbeförderung in der Gemeinschaft erfasst. Dieses Verfahren gilt somit für alle Waren unabhängig davon, ob es sich dabei um strategisches Material handelt oder nicht.

17 Dies hindert die Mitgliedstaaten jedoch nicht daran, Transitwaren unter Einhaltung der Vertragsbestimmungen zu kontrollieren. Nach Artikel 10 der Verordnung Nr. 222/77 sind die Einfuhr-, Ausfuhr- und Durchfuhrverbote oder -beschränkungen der Mitgliedstaaten anwendbar, soweit sie mit den drei Verträgen zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaften vereinbar sind.

18 Es ist daher zu prüfen, ob die Vertragsbestimmungen, insbesondere Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag, dem Erfordernis einer besonderen Genehmigung und den mit der Nichtbeachtung dieser Genehmigungspflicht verbundenen Folgen, wie zum Beispiel Einziehungsmaßnahmen, entgegenstehen.

19 Nach ständiger Rechtsprechung behält Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag nicht bestimmte Sachgebiete der ausschließlichen Zuständigkeit der Mitgliedstaaten vor; vielmehr lässt er nur Ausnahmen vom Grundsatz des freien Warenverkehrs durch innerstaatliche Normen insoweit zu, als dies zur Erreichung der in ihm bezeichneten Ziele gerechtfertigt ist und weiterhin gerechtfertigt bleibt (siehe insbesondere Urteil vom 10. Juli 1984 in der Rechtssache 72/83, Campus Oil, Slg. 1984, 2727, Randnr. 32).

20 Wie der Gerichtshof wiederholt festgestellt hat (siehe Urteil Campus Oil, a. a. O., Randnr. 37, mit Bezug auf Einfuhrbeschränkungen) ist Artikel 36 als Ausnahme von einem grundlegenden Prinzip des Vertrages so auszulegen, daß er in seinen Wirkungen nicht über das hinausgeht, was zum Schutz der Interessen erforderlich ist, die er gewährleisten soll. Aufgrund des Artikels 36 erlassene Maßnahmen können somit nur dann gerechtfertigt sein, wenn sie geeignet sind, dem durch diesen Artikel geschützten Interesse zu dienen, und wenn sie den innergemeinschaftlichen Handel nicht mehr als unbedingt notwendig beeinträchtigen.

21 Im Hinblick auf diese Rechtsprechung ist festzustellen, daß ein Mitgliedstaat sich zur Rechtfertigung einer Durchfuhrbeschränkung nur dann auf Artikel 36 berufen kann, wenn dasselbe Ziel nicht durch eine andere, unter dem Gesichtspunkt des freien Warenverkehrs weniger einschneidende Maßnahme erreicht werden kann.

22 Hierzu ist mit der Kommission und den Mitgliedstaaten, die Erklärungen beim Gerichtshof eingereicht haben, festzustellen, daß der Begriff der öffentlichen Sicherheit im Sinne des Artikels 36 EWG-Vertrag sowohl die innere Sicherheit eines Mitgliedstaats als auch seine äussere Sicherheit umfasst. Es steht fest, daß die Einfuhr, die Ausfuhr und die Durchfuhr von Waren, die zu strategischen Zwecken verwendet werden können, die öffentliche Sicherheit eines Mitgliedstaats beeinträchtigen können, so daß diese von dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat gemäß Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag geschützt werden darf.

23 Hieraus folgt, daß es den Mitgliedstaaten aufgrund von Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag gestattet ist, zur Kontrolle von als strategisches Material eingestuften Waren für deren Durchfuhr eine besondere Genehmigung vorzuschreiben.

24 Zu den Sanktionen, die für den Fall vorgesehen sind, daß eine solche Genehmigungspflicht nicht beachtet wird, ist in íœbereinstimmung mit der Kommission, LAS und Herrn Richardt festzustellen, daß eine Beschlagnahme oder Einziehung als ausser Verhältnis zum verfolgten Ziel stehend und daher mit Artikel 36 unvereinbar angesehen werden kann, soweit die zwangsweise Rücksendung der Ware in den Herkunftsstaat ausreichen könnte.

25 Es ist jedoch Sache des vorlegenden Gerichts, unter Berücksichtigung aller Umstände des jeweiligen Falles zu beurteilen, ob die getroffene Regelung mit dem Grundsatz der Verhältnismässigkeit im Einklang steht. Zu berücksichtigende Umstände sind z. B. die Art der Ware, die die Sicherheit des Staates gefährden könnte, die Umstände, unter denen die Zuwiderhandlung begangen worden ist, und die Gutgläubigkeit oder Bösgläubigkeit des Wirtschaftsteilnehmers, der die Durchfuhr vorzunehmen beabsichtigte und zu diesem Zweck von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ausgestellte Dokumente verwendete.

26 Nach alledem ist auf die Frage des vorlegenden Gerichts zu antworten, daß die Verordnung Nr. 222/77 dahin auszulegen ist, daß sie einer Regelung eines Mitgliedstaats nicht entgegensteht, nach der für die Durchfuhr von als strategisches Material eingestuften Waren durch sein Gebiet aus Gründen der äusseren Sicherheit unabhängig von dem von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ausgestellten gemeinschaftsrechtlichen Versandschein eine besondere Genehmigung erforderlich ist. Die von dem Mitgliedstaat wegen Nichtbeachtung dieser Genehmigungspflicht getroffenen Maßnahmen dürfen jedoch nicht ausser Verhältnis zu dem verfolgten Ziel stehen.

 

Kosten:

27 Die Auslagen der Französischen Republik, des Vereinigten Königreichs, des Großherzogtums Luxemburg, des Königreichs Belgien und der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, die Erklärungen beim Gerichtshof eingereicht haben, sind nicht erstattungsfähig. Für die Beteiligten des Ausgangsverfahrens ist das Verfahren Teil des bei dem vorlegenden Gericht anhängigen Verfahrens; die Kostenentscheidung ist daher Sache dieses Gerichts.

 

Tenor:

 

 

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF

auf die ihm von der Cour de cassation des Großherzogtums Luxemburg mit Urteil vom 30. November 1989 vorgelegte Frage für Recht erkannt:

Die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 222/77 des Rates vom 13. Dezember 1976 über das gemeinschaftliche Versandverfahren ist dahin auszulegen, daß sie einer Regelung eines Mitgliedstaats nicht entgegensteht, nach der für die Durchfuhr von als strategisches Material eingestuften Waren durch sein Gebiet aus Gründen der äusseren Sicherheit unabhängig von dem von einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ausgestellten gemeinschaftsrechtlichen Versandschein eine besondere Genehmigung erforderlich ist. Die von dem Mitgliedstaat wegen Nichtbeachtung dieser Genehmigungspflicht getroffenen Maßnahmen dürfen jedoch nicht ausser Verhältnis zu dem verfolgten Ziel stehen.