EuGH, Rs. 215/87 v. 7.3.1989 - Schumacher (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 7.3.1989, Rs. 215/87, Slg. Heinz Schumacher / Hauptzollamt Frankfurt am Main-Ost


EWGV Art. 30 , 36

Summary

National provisions which prohibit the importation by a private individual for his personal needs of medicinal preparations which are authorized in the Member State of importation, are available in that Member State without a medical prescription and were purchased in a pharmacy in another Member State constitute a restriction of intra-Community trade not justified by the protection of public health and are therefore incompatible with Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty . The purchase of a medicinal preparation in a pharmacy in another Member State provides a guarantee equivalent to that which arises from the fact that the medicinal preparation is sold by a pharmacy in the Member State into which the medicinal preparation is imported by a private individual, particularly since the conditions for access to the profession of pharmacist and the conditions for the exercise of that profession are the subject of Community directives .

Parties

In Case 215/87

REFERENCE to the Court under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty by the Hessische Finanzgericht ( Finance Court, Hesse ) for a preliminary ruling in the proceedings pending before that court between

Heinz Schumacher, Frankfurt am Main 1

and

Hauptzollamt ( Principal Customs Office ) Frankfurt am Main-Ost

on the interpretation of Articles 30 and 36 of the EEC Treaty for the purpose of assessing the compatibility therewith of Paragraph 73(1 ) of the Gesetz zur Neuordnung des Arzneimittelrechts ( Law amending the law on medicines ) of 24 August 1976 ( Bundesgesetzblatt I, 1976, p . 2445 et seq .),

THE COURT ( Third Chamber )

composed of : F . Grévisse, President of Chamber, J . C . Moitinho de Almeida and M . Zuleeg, Judges,

Advocate General : G . Tesauro

Registrar : B . Pastor, Administrator

having regard to the observations submitted on behalf of

the plaintiff in the main proceedings, Heinz Schumacher,

the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany, by Martin Seidel, Ministerialrat at the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs, and Dietrich Ehle, Rechtsanwalt, Cologne, acting as Agents,

the Government of the Kingdom of Denmark, by Laurids Mikaelsen, Legal Adviser, acting as Agent,

the Government of the French Republic, by Régis de Goutte, acting as Agent,

the Commission, by its Legal Adviser Joern Sack, and Reinhard Wagner, acting as Agents,

having regard to the Report for the Hearing and further to the hearing on 26 January 1989,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General delivered at the sitting on 26 January 1989,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds of the judgment

1 By order of 25 May 1987, which was received at the Court Registry on 14 July 1987, the Hessische Finanzgericht ( Finance Court, Hesse ) referred to the Court of Justice for a preliminary ruling under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty a question on the interpretation of Articles 30 and 36 of that Treaty .

2 The question was raised in proceedings brought by Heinz Schumacher against the Hauptzollamt ( Principal Customs Office ) Frankfurt am Main . Mr Schumacher, who lives in Frankfurt am Main, ordered for his own personal use from the Pharmacie du Dôme, Strasbourg, a medicinal preparation called "Chophytol", which is made from an extract of artichoke and is used in particular for the treatment of dyspeptic disorders and as a diuretic . That medicinal preparation, which is manufactured in France, is authorized in the Federal Republic of Germany, and is available in pharmacies there without a prescription . However, its price is higher in Germany than in France . The customs authorities refused to grant clearance of the product in question and Mr Schumacher appealed against that decision to the Hessiche Finanzgericht; that court referred a question to the Court of Justice for a preliminary ruling .

3 The refusal was based on Paragraph 73(1 ) of the Gesetz zur Neuordnung des Arzneimittelsrechts of 24 August 1976, under which the importation from a Member State of the European Community of medicinal preparations which are subject to authorization or registration is allowed only if they are authorized or registered or are exempted from those formalities and if the consignee of the medicinal preparations is a pharmaceutical undertaking, a wholesaler or a veterinary surgeon or operates a pharmacy so that importation by individuals acting in a private capacity is not permitted . There are a number of exceptions to that prohibition which are not relevant to this case .

4 Having regard, in particular, to the very general character of that provision, the national court entertained doubts as to its compatibility with Article 30 et seq . of the EEC Treaty and therefore referred the following question to the Court of Justice :

"Is Paragraph 73(1 ) of the Gesetz zur Neuordnung des Arzneimittelrechts of 24 August 1976 ( Bundesgesetzblatt I, 1976, p . 2445 et seq .) compatible with Article 30 of the EEC Treaty in so far as it generally prohibits the importation by private individuals of medicines from Member States?"

5 Reference is made to the Report for the Hearing for a fuller account of the facts of the case, the course of the procedure and the observations submitted to the Court, which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court .

6 It must first be pointed out that the Court is not empowered under Article 177 of the Treaty to rule on the compatibility with the Treaty of provisions of national law . However, it has jurisdiction to provide the national court with all such matters relating to the interpretation of Community law as may enable it to decide the issue of compatibility in the case before it .

7 Accordingly, the question submitted by the Hessische Finanzgericht must be understood as seeking clarification from the Court of Justice as to whether legislation which prohibits a private individual from importing for his personal use a medicinal preparation which is authorized in the Member State of importation, is available there without a prescription and was purchased in a pharmacy in another Member State is contrary to Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty .

8 The German and Danish Governments claim that rules of the type contained in the Law on Medicines, to which, moreover, there are a number of exceptions such as that relating to travellers, are justified, under Article 36 of the EEC Treaty, by the requirements of the protection of public health .

9 They state that the systems for the distribution of medicinal preparations, which in the Member States in general allow their sale only by authorized retailers, are designed to provide the consumer with a number of safeguards, such as proper information, advice and guarantees of quality, with regard in particular to the rules on storage . The need for such safeguards is recognized by Community law, in particular Council Directive 65/65 of 26 January 1965 on the approximation of provisons laid down by law, regulation or administrative action relating to proprietary medicinal products ( Official Journal, English Special Edition 1965-66, p . 20 ). That directive, moreover, also makes the marketing of medicinal preparations subject to authorization by the Member States, empowering them to determine the efficacy of medicines and to decide whether or not they are harmful .

10 That whole system would be endangered, they say, if private individuals were free to import medicinal preparations . That freedom might give rise to abuses which it would be impossible to control and to the misuse of medicinal preparations . It would also facilitate evasion of the rule on national authorization for marketing contained in Directive 65/65 .

11 The Commission and the French Government, on the other hand, consider that legislation of the type at issue is incompatible with Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty since it is excessively general and is disproportionate in relation to the need to protect public health .

12 Although the Member States are certainly responsible for regulating trade in medicinal preparations and for taking the measures necessary to ensure that they are distributed only through pharmacies, a general prohibition of imports is not justified in the case of private individuals if they have purchased the medicinal preparations in question in a pharmacy in another Member State . Purchase on that basis is in itself sufficient to ensure that all the safeguards pursued by the closed system for the distribution of medicinal preparations are guaranteed . It would be sufficient to limit the authorization to import such preparations to the quantity necessary for the personal use of the person concerned, a restriction which could be enforced by means of appropriate rules .

13 The Commission points out that the medicinal preparation with which the present case is concerned is authorized in Germany and is available there without prescription . It does not, however, consider those two facts decisive since, in its view, the decision whether to purchase in another Member State a medicinal preparation which is not authorized in the Member State where the person concerned resides is a matter for that person . Should the Court not share its view, it goes on to say that there is nothing to prevent private individuals from being required to prove that the imported medicinal preparation was authorized and that a prescription was not required or else that the preparation was prescribed for him .

14 It must be observed in the first place - and indeed it has not been disputed - that legislation of the type at issue constitutes, as as the Court has consistently held, a measure having an effect equivalent to a quantitative restriction on imports .

15 In the second place, as the Court has already had occasion to point out, Directive 65/65, as amended by Council Directives 75/319 of 20 March 1975 ( Official Journal 1975, L 147, p . 13 ), 83/570 of 20 October 1983 ( Official Journal 1983, L 332, p . 1 ) and 87/21 of 22 December 1986 ( Official Journal 1987, L 15, p . 36 ), is intended only to achieve progressive harmonization of the national legislation on the manufacture and marketing of proprietary medicinal products . As Community law now stands, that harmonization has not been fully achieved, since, for example, a medicinal preparation may be authorized in one Member State but not in one or more others, with or without prescription . It is only when Community directives provide for complete harmonization of all the measures necessary for the protection of human and animal health that recourse to Article 36 will cease to be justified . It is therefore necessary to consider whether measures of the type at issue may be justified under Article 36 of the Treaty .

16 According to Article 36 of the EEC Treaty "Articles 30 to 34 shall not preclude prohibitions or restrictions of imports ... justifed on grounds of ... the protection of health and life of humans" provided that they do not constitute "a means of arbitrary discrimination or a disguised restriction on trade between Member States ".

17 As the Court has consistently held, health and the life of humans rank foremost among the property or interests protected by Article 36 and it is for the Member States, within the limits imposed by the Treaty, to decide what degree of protection they intend to assure and in particular how strict the checks to be carried out are to be .

18 The Court has also held, however, that it emerges from Article 36 that national rules or practices which restrict imports of pharmaceutical products or are capable of doing so are compatible with the Treaty only to the extent to which they are necessary for the effective protection of the health and life of humans .

19 Where a private individual purchases in a pharmacy in another Member State a medicinal preparation which is authorized and dispensed without a medical prescription in the Member State into which he is importing it for his own personal use, a provision such as Paragraph 73(1 ) of the Law on Medicines, which applies in this case, clearly constitutes a measure restricting intra-Community trade which is not justified by the protection of public health .

20 The purchase of a medicinal preparation in a pharmacy in another Member State provides a guarantee equivalent to that referred to by the German and Danish Governments, that is to say that which arises from the fact that the medicinal preparation is sold through a pharmacy in the Member State into which the medicinal preparation is imported by a private individual . That conclusion is all the more compelling inasmuch as the conditions for access to the profession of pharmacist and the conditions for the exercise of that profession are regulated in Council Directives 85/432 and 85/433 of 16 September 1985 ( Official Journal 1985, L 253, pp . 34 and 37 ).

21 It must also be pointed out that in the sixth and seventh indents of Paragraph 73(2 ) of the Law on Medicines, the German legislature allowed exceptions to the prohibition on imports of medicinal preparations where they are brought into Germany in the course of travel in quantities not exceeding that necessary for normal consumption or use during the travel in question and where they are carried in vehicles and are intended to be used or consumed exclusively by the people carried in such vehicles . It is apparent from those provisions that the German legislature itself does not consider controls of the kind at issue here to be necessary for the protection of public health, since no such controls exist for certain non-postal import procedures which provide no greater safeguards for the protection of public health than imports by post .

22 In answer to the question referred by the national court, it must therefore be stated that national provisions which prohibit the importation by a private individual for his personal needs of medicinal preparations which are authorized in the Member State of importation, are available in that State without a medical prescription and were purchased in a pharmacy in another Member State are incompatible with Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty .

Decision on costs

Costs

23 The costs incurred by the Governments of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Kingdom of Denmark and the French Republic and by the Commission of the European Communities, which have submitted observations to the Court, are not recoverable . Since these proceedings are, in so far as the parties to the main proceedings are concerned, in the nature of a step in the action pending before the national court, the decision on costs is a matter for that court .

Operative part of the judgment

On those grounds,

THE COURT ( Third Chamber ),

in reply to the question referred to it by the Hessische Finanzgericht, by order of 25 May 1987, hereby rules :

National provisions which prohibit the importation by a private individual for his personal needs of medicinal preparations which are authorized in the Member State of importation, are available in that State without a medical prescription and were purchased in a pharmacy in another Member State are incompatible with Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty .

EuGH, Rs. 215/87 v. 7.3.1989 - Schumacher


EuGH, Urteil v. 7.3.1989, Rs. 215/87, Slg. Heinz Schumacher / Hauptzollamt Frankfurt am Main-Ost


EWGV Art. 30 , 36
Leitsätze:

Eine nationale Regelung, die es einer Privatperson untersagt, im Einfuhrmitgliedstaat zugelassene und ohne ärztliches Rezept erhältliche Arzneimittel, die in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat in einer Apotheke gekauft worden sind, für ihren persönlichen Bedarf einzuführen, beschränkt den innergemeinschaftlichen Handelsverkehr, ohne daß sie zum Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit gerechtfertigt wäre . Der Kauf des Arzneimittels in einer Apotheke in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat bietet nämlich eine Garantie, die derjenigen gleichwertig ist, die auf dem Verkauf des Arzneimittels durch eine Apotheke in dem Mitgliedstaat beruht, in den das Arzneimittel eingeführt wird; dies gilt um so mehr, als die Voraussetzungen für den Zugang zum Beruf des Apothekers und die Bedingungen für die Ausübung dieses Berufs in Gemeinschaftsrichtlinien geregelt sind .

Gründe:

1 Das Hessische Finanzgericht hat mit Beschluß vom 25 . Mai 1987, beim Gerichtshof eingegangen am 14 . Juli 1987, gemäß Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag eine Frage nach der Auslegung der Artikel 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag vorgelegt .

2 Diese Frage stellt sich in einem Rechtsstreit zwischen Heinz Schumacher ( Kläger ) und dem Hauptzollamt Frankfurt am Main . Wie aus den Akten hervorgeht, bestellte der Kläger, der in Frankfurt am Main wohnt, bei der Pharmacie du Dôme in Straßburg zu seinem persönlichen Gebrauch "Chophytol", ein Arzneimittel auf der Basis von Artischockenextrakt, das insbesondere bei der Behandlung von Verdauungsstörungen und als harntreibendes Mittel verwendet wird . Dieses Arzneimittel, das in Frankreich hergestellt wird, ist in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zugelassen und dort in den Apotheken rezeptfrei erhältlich . Sein Preis soll jedoch in der Bundesrepublik höher sein als in Frankreich . Als die Zollverwaltung die Abfertigung der betreffenden Sendung ablehnte, erhob der Kläger gegen diesen Bescheid Klage beim Hessischen Finanzgericht, das den Gerichtshof mit der vorliegenden Vorabentscheidungsfrage befasst hat .

3 Der Ablehnungsbescheid beruht auf § 73 Absatz 1 des Gesetzes zur Neuordnung des Arzneimittelrechts vom 24 . August 1976 ( BGBl . I, S . 2445 ); danach dürfen zulassungs - oder registrierungspflichtige Arzneimittel, die aus einem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Gemeinschaften stammen, nur eingeführt werden, wenn sie zugelassen oder registriert oder von dieser Formalität freigestellt sind und wenn der Empfänger der Einfuhrsendung pharmazeutischer Unternehmer, Großhändler oder Tierarzt ist oder eine Apotheke betreibt, was Privatpersonen als solche ausschließt . Es gibt mehrere Ausnahmen von diesem Verbot, die jedoch im Ausgangsverfahren keine Rolle spielen .

4 Das nationale Gericht hat Zweifel, ob eine derartige Bestimmung vor allem wegen ihres sehr generellen Charakters mit den Artikeln 30 ff . EWG-Vertrag in Einklang steht . Es hat daher dem Gerichtshof folgende Frage vorgelegt :

"Ist § 73 Absatz 1 Nr . 1 des Gesetzes zur Neuordnung des Arzneimittelrechts vom 24 . August 1976 ( BGBl . I, S . 2445 ) mit Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag vereinbar, soweit er generell die Einfuhr von Arzneimitteln aus Mitgliedstaaten durch Privatpersonen untersagt?"

5 Wegen weiterer Einzelheiten des Sachverhalts des Ausgangsverfahrens, des Verfahrensablaufs und der beim Gerichtshof eingereichten Erklärungen wird auf den Sitzungsbericht verwiesen . Der Akteninhalt ist im folgenden nur insoweit wiedergegeben, als die Begründung des Urteils dies erfordert .

6 Vorab ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß der Gerichtshof im Verfahren nach Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag nicht über die Vereinbarkeit innerstaatlicher Rechtsvorschriften mit dem Vertrag befinden kann . Er ist jedoch befugt, dem vorlegenden Gericht alle Kriterien für die Auslegung des Gemeinschaftsrechts an die Hand zu geben, die dieses in die Lage versetzen, in dem bei ihm anhängigen Verfahren über die Frage der Vereinbarkeit zu entscheiden .

7 So gesehen ist die Frage des Hessischen Finanzgerichts an den Gerichtshof dahin zu verstehen, ob die Artikel 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag einer Regelung entgegenstehen, die es einer Privatperson untersagt, ein im Einfuhrmitgliedstaat zugelassenes und dort ohne ärztliches Rezept erhältliches Arzneimittel zum persönlichen Gebrauch einzuführen, das in einer Apotheke in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat gekauft worden ist .

8 Die Bundesregierung und die dänische Regierung machen geltend, eine Regelung wie die in dem Gesetz vom 24 . August 1976 enthaltene, deren Grundsätze im übrigen durch eine Reihe von Ausnahmen wie diejenige für Reisende durchbrochen seien, sei gemäß Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag aus zwingenden Gründen des Schutzes der öffentlichen Gesundheit gerechtfertigt .

9 Zweck der Arzneimittelvertriebssysteme, nach denen in den Mitgliedstaaten die Abgabe von Arzneimitteln grundsätzlich zugelassenen Einzelhändlern vorbehalten sei, sei es, dem Verbraucher eine Reihe von Garantien wie zum Beispiel gute Information, Beratung und - vor allem unter Berücksichtigung der Regelung über die Aufbewahrung - die Gewährleistung der Qualität zu bieten . Die Notwendigkeit dieser Garantien sei gemeinschaftsrechtlich, insbesondere durch die Richtlinie des Rates vom 26 . Januar 1965 zur Angleichung der Rechts - und Verwaltungsvorschriften über Arzneispezialitäten ( 65/65, ABl . 1965, S . 369 ), anerkannt . Diese Richtlinie mache im übrigen das Inverkehrbringen von Arzneimitteln von der Genehmigung der Staaten abhängig, denen sie die Befugnis einräume, den Nutzen und die Unschädlichkeit der Arzneimittel zu beurteilen .

10 Dieses System wäre insgesamt in Frage gestellt, wenn es Privatpersonen freistünde, Arzneimittel einzuführen . Diese Möglichkeit könnte unkontrollierbare Umgehungen sowie eine mißbräuchliche Verwendung von Arzneimitteln zur Folge haben; auch könnte die in der Richtlinie vom 26 . Januar 1965 vorgesehene Regel der nationalen Genehmigung für das Inverkehrbringen umgangen werden .

11 Die Kommission und die französische Regierung sind dagegen der Ansicht, daß eine Regelung wie die hier streitige mit den Artikeln 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag unvereinbar sei, da sie in keinem Verhältnis zu den Erfordernissen des Schutzes der öffentlichen Gesundheit stehe .

12 Es sei zwar Sache der Staaten, den Handel mit Arzneimitteln zu regeln und die notwendigen Maßnahmen zu treffen, damit diese nur über Apotheken vertrieben würden . Ein generelles Einfuhrverbot sei jedoch gegenüber Privatpersonen nicht gerechtfertigt, wenn diese die betreffenden Arzneimittel in einer Apotheke in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat gekauft hätten . Dies allein bewirke, daß sämtliche Garantien vorlägen, die ein geschlossenes Vertriebssystem für Arzneimittel bieten solle . Es genüge, die Einfuhrgenehmigung auf das für den rein persönlichen Verbrauch des Betroffenen Erforderliche zu beschränken, was auf der Grundlage geeigneter Normen kontrolliert werden könne .

13 Die Kommission trägt vor, im vorliegenden Fall gehe es um ein in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zugelassenes und rezeptfrei abgegebenes Arzneimittel . Diese beiden Elemente seien jedoch nicht ausschlaggebend, da es die persönliche Entscheidung des Betroffenen sei, wenn er ein im Wohnsitzstaat nicht zugelassenes Arzneimittel in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat kaufe . Sollte der Gerichtshof diese Auffassung nicht teilen, so hindere nichts daran, von dem privaten Einführer den Nachweis zu verlangen, daß das eingeführte Arzneimittel zugelassen und nicht verschreibungspflichtig oder aber ihm verschrieben worden sei .

14 Zunächst ist festzustellen - was im übrigen ausser Streit steht -, daß eine Regelung wie diejenige, die Gegenstand des Ausgangsverfahrens ist, nach ständiger Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes eine Maßnahme mit gleicher Wirkung wie eine mengenmässige Einfuhrbeschränkung darstellt .

15 Sodann ist zu bemerken, daß - wie der Gerichtshof bereits ausgeführt hat - die erwähnte Richtlinie vom 26 . Januar 1965, geändert durch die Richtlinien des Rates 75/319 vom 20 . März 1975 ( ABl . L 147, S . 13 ), 83/570 vom 20 . Oktober 1983 ( ABl . L 332, S . 1 ) und 87/21 vom 22 . Dezember 1986 ( ABl . L 15, S . 36 ), nur eine schrittweise Harmonisierung der nationalen Regelungen betreffend die Herstellung von und den Handel mit Arzneispezialitäten herbeiführen soll . Diese Harmonisierung ist beim gegenwärtigen Stand des Gemeinschaftsrechts noch nicht vollauf erreicht : Beispielsweise kann ein Arzneimittel in einem Mitgliedstaat zugelassen sein, nicht aber in einem oder mehreren anderen; das gleiche gilt für die Frage seiner Rezeptpflichtigkeit . Erst wenn Richtlinien der Gemeinschaft die vollständige Harmonisierung aller zum Schutz der Gesundheit von Menschen und Tieren notwendigen Maßnahmen vorsehen, wird der Rückgriff auf Artikel 36 nicht mehr gerechtfertigt sein . Es ist daher zu prüfen, ob Maßnahmen der hier vorliegenden Art gemäß Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag gerechtfertigt sein können .

16 Nach Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag stehen "die Bestimmungen der Artikel 30 bis 34 ... Einfuhrverboten oder -beschränkungen nicht entgegen, die ... zum Schutze der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen ... gerechtfertigt sind", vorausgesetzt, daß sie "weder ein Mittel zur willkürlichen Diskriminierung noch eine verschleierte Beschränkung des Handels zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten darstellen ".

17 Es ist ständige Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes, daß unter den in Artikel 36 geschützten Gütern und Interessen die Gesundheit und das Leben von Menschen den ersten Rang einnehmen und daß es Sache der Mitgliedstaaten ist, in den durch den Vertrag gesetzten Grenzen zu bestimmen, in welchem Umfang sie deren Schutz gewährleisten wollen, insbesondere wie streng die durchzuführenden Kontrollen ausfallen sollen .

18 Es ist jedoch auch darauf hinzuweisen, daß nach der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes eine nationale Regelung oder Praxis, die sich hemmend auf die Einfuhren pharmazeutischer Erzeugnisse auswirkt oder auswirken kann, gemäß Artikel 36 nur insoweit mit dem Vertrag vereinbar ist, als sie für einen wirksamen Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen notwendig ist .

19 Kauft eine Privatperson in einer Apotheke in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ein Arzneimittel, das in dem Mitgliedstaat, in den sie es zum persönlichen Gebrauch einführt, zugelassen und rezeptfrei erhältlich ist, so stellt eine Bestimmung wie der für den Sachverhalt des Ausgangsverfahrens maßgebende § 73 des deutschen Gesetzes vom 24 . August 1976 offensichtlich eine Maßnahme dar, die den innergemeinschaftlichen Handelsverkehr beschränkt, ohne daß sie zum Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit gerechtfertigt wäre .

20 Der Kauf des Arzneimittels in einer Apotheke in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat bietet nämlich eine Garantie, die derjenigen gleichwertig ist, auf die sich die Bundesregierung und die dänische Regierung berufen und die auf dem Verkauf des Arzneimittels durch eine Apotheke in dem Mitgliedstaat beruht, in den das Arzneimittel von einer Privatperson eingeführt wird . Dies gilt um so mehr, als die Voraussetzungen für den Zugang zum Beruf des Apothekers und die Bedingungen für die Ausübung dieses Berufs in den Richtlinien 85/432 und 85/433 des Rates vom 16 . September 1985 ( ABl . L 253, S . 34 und 37 ) geregelt sind .

21 Im übrigen ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß der Bundesgesetzgeber in § 73 Absatz 2 Nrn . 6 und 7 des fraglichen Gesetzes eine Ausnahme vom Verbot der Einfuhr von Arzneimitteln vorgesehen hat, wenn diese im Reiseverkehr in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland in einer Menge eingebracht werden, die üblicherweise dem Gebrauch oder Verbrauch einer Reise angemessen ist, und wenn sie in Verkehrsmitteln mitgeführt werden und ausschließlich zum Gebrauch oder Verbrauch der durch diese Verkehrsmittel beförderten Personen bestimmt sind . Diese Bestimmungen zeigen, daß selbst der Bundesgesetzgeber Kontrollen wie die im vorliegenden Fall streitigen zum Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit nicht für erforderlich hält; derartige Kontrollen gibt es nämlich nicht, wenn die Einfuhr nicht durch die Post, sondern auf anderen Wegen erfolgt, die keine höheren Garantien zum Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit als der Postweg bieten .

22 Auf die Vorlagefrage ist deshalb zu antworten, daß eine nationale Regelung, die es einer Privatperson untersagt, im Einfuhrmitgliedstaat zugelassene und ohne ärztliches Rezept erhältliche Arzneimittel, die in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat in einer Apotheke gekauft worden sind, für ihren persönlichen Bedarf einzuführen, mit den Artikeln 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag unvereinbar ist .

Kosten:

23 Die Auslagen der Regierung des Bundesrepublik Deutschland, des Königreichs Dänemark und der Französischen Republik sowie der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, die Erklärungen vor dem Gerichtshof abgegeben haben, sind nicht erstattungsfähig . Für die Parteien des Ausgangsverfahrens ist das Verfahren ein Zwischenstreit in dem bei dem nationalen Gericht anhängigen Verfahren; die Kostenentscheidung ist daher Sache dieses Gerichts .

Tenor:

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF ( Dritte Kammer )

auf die ihm vom Hessischen Finanzgericht mit Beschluß vom 25 . Mai 1987 vorgelegte Frage für Recht erkannt :

Eine nationale Regelung, die es einer Privatperson untersagt, im Einfuhrmitgliedstaat zugelassene und ohne ärztliches Rezept erhältliche Arzneimittel, die in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat in einer Apotheke gekauft worden sind, für ihren persönlichen Bedarf einzuführen, ist mit den Artikeln 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag unvereinbar .