EuGH, Rs. 113/80 v. 17.6.1981 - Irish Souvenirs (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 17.6.1981, Rs. 113/80, Slg. 1981, 1625 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Irland


EWGV Art. 30 , 36 ; Kommissions-Richtlinie Nr. 70/50/EWG

Summary

1 . SINCE IT CONSTITUTES A DEROGATION FROM THE BASIC RULE THAT ALL OBSTACLES TO THE FREE MOVEMENT OF GOODS BETWEEN MEMBER STATES ARE TO BE ELIMINATED , ARTICLE 36 OF THE EEC TREATY MUST BE CONSTRUED NARROWLY ; THE EXCEPTIONS LISTED THEREIN CANNOT BE EXTENDED TO CASES OTHER THAN THOSE SPECIFICALLY LAID DOWN . IN VIEW OF THE FACT THAT NEITHER THE PROTECTION OF CONSUMERS NOR THE FAIRNESS OF COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS IS INCLUDED AMONGST THE EXCEPTIONS SET OUT IN ARTICLE 36 , THOSE GROUNDS CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS SUCH IN CONNEXION WITH THAT ARTICLE .

2 . NATIONAL LEGISLATION REQUIRING ALL SOUVENIRS AND ARTICLES OF JEWELLERY IMPORTED FROM OTHER MEMBER STATES TO BEAR AN INDICATION OF ORIGIN OR THE WORD ' ' FOREIGN ' ' CONSTITUTES A MEASURE HAVING EQUIVALENT EFFECT WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY .

Parties

IN CASE 113/80

COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES , REPRESENTED BY ROLF WAGENBAUR , ACTING AS AGENT , ASSISTED BY PETER OLIVER , A MEMBER OF THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE OFFICE OF MARIO CERVINO , LEGAL ADVISER TO THE COMMISSION , JEAN MONNET BUILDING , KIRCHBERG ,

APPLICANT ,

V

IRELAND , REPRESENTED BY LOUIS J . DOCKERY , CHIEF STATE SOLICITOR , ACTING AS AGENT , WITH AN ADDRESS FOR SERVICE IN LUXEMBOURG AT THE IRISH EMBASSY , 28 ROUTE D ' ARLON ,

DEFENDANT ,

Subject of the case

APPLICATION FOR A DECLARATION THAT BY MAINTAINING IN FORCE THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON SALE OF IMPORTED JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 , S.I . NO 306 OF 1971 ( IRIS OIFIGIUIL OF 26 NOVEMBER 1971 ) AND THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON IMPORTATION OF JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 , S.I . NO 307 OF 1971 ( IRIS OIFIGIUIL OF 26 NOVEMBER 1971 ), WHICH ARE CONTRARY TO ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY , IRELAND HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE TREATY ,

Grounds of the judgment

1 BY AN APPLICATION LODGED AT THE COURT REGISTRY ON 28 APRIL 1980 , THE COMMISSION INSTITUTED PROCEEDINGS UNDER ARTICLE 169 OF THE EEC TREATY , FOR A DECLARATION THAT IRELAND HAD FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY BY REQUIRING THAT THE IMPORTED GOODS FALLING WITHIN THE SCOPE OF THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON SALE OF IMPORTED JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 ( S . I . NO 306 , IRIS OIFIGIUIL OF 21 NOVEMBER 1971 ) AND THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON IMPORTATION OF JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 ( S . I . NO 307 , IRIS OIFIGIUIL OF 21 NOVEMBER 1971 ) BEAR AN INDICATION OF ORIGIN OR THE WORD ' ' FOREIGN ' ' .

2 ACCORDING TO THE EXPLANATORY NOTES THERETO , STATUTORY INSTRUMENT NO 306 ( HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS ' ' THE SALE ORDER ' ' ) PROHIBITS THE SALE OR EXPOSURE FOR SALE OF IMPORTED ARTICLES OF JEWELLERY DEPICTING MOTIFS OR POSSESSING CHARACTERISTICS WHICH SUGGEST THAT THEY ARE SOUVENIRS OF IRELAND , FOR EXAMPLE AN IRISH CHARACTER , EVENT OR SCENE , WOLFHOUND , ROUND TOWER , SHAMROCK ETC . AND STATUTORY INSTRUMENT NO 307 ( HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS ' ' THE IMPORTATION ORDER ' ' ) PROHIBITS THE IMPORTATION OF SUCH ARTICLES UNLESS , IN EITHER CASE , THEY BEAR AN INDICATION OF THEIR COUNTRY OF ORIGIN OR THE WORD ' ' FOREIGN ' ' .

3 THE ARTICLES CONCERNED ARE LISTED IN A SCHEDULE TO EACH ORDER . HOWEVER , IN ORDER TO COME WITHIN THE SCOPE OF THE ORDERS THE ARTICLE MUST BE MADE OF PRECIOUS METAL OR ROLLED PRECIOUS METAL OR OF BASE METAL , INCLUDING POLISHED OR PLATED ARTICLES SUITABLE FOR SETTING .

4 IN THE COMMISSION ' S OPINION , THE RESTRICTIONS ON THE FREE MOVEMENT OF THE GOODS COVERED BY THE TWO ORDERS CONSTITUTE MEASURES HAVING AN EFFECT EQUIVALENT TO QUANTITATIVE RESTRICTIONS ON IMPORTS , CONTRARY TO THE PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY ; IT ALSO OBSERVES THAT ACCORDING TO ARTICLE 2 ( 3 ) ( F ) OF DIRECTIVE 70/50/EEC OF 22 DECEMBER 1969 , BASED ON THE PROVISIONS OF ARTICLE 33 ( 7 ) OF THE TREATY , ON THE ABOLITION OF MEASURES WHICH HAVE AN EFFECT EQUIVALENT TO QUANTITATIVE RESTRICTIONS ON IMPORTS AND ARE NOT COVERED BY OTHER PROVISIONS ADOPTED IN PURSUANCE OF THE EEC TREATY ( OFFICIAL JOURNAL , ENGLISH SPECIAL EDITION 1970 ( I ), P . 17 ) ' ' MEASURES WHICH LOWER THE VALUE OF AN IMPORTED PRODUCT , IN PARTICULAR BY CAUSING A REDUCTION IN ITS INTRINSIC VALUE , OR INCREASE ITS COSTS ' ' MUST BE REGARDED AS MEASURES HAVING AN EFFECT EQUIVALENT TO QUANTITATIVE RESTRICTIONS , CONTRARY TO ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY .

5 THE IRISH GOVERNMENT DOES NOT DISPUTE THE RESTRICTIVE EFFECTS OF THESE ORDERS ON THE FREE MOVEMENT OF GOODS . HOWEVER , IT CONTENDS THAT THE DISPUTED MEASURES ARE JUSTIFIED IN THE INTERESTS OF CONSUMER PROTECTION AND OF FAIRNESS IN COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS BETWEEN PRODUCERS . IN THIS REGARD , IT RELIES UPON ARTICLE 36 OF THE TREATY WHICH PROVIDES THAT ARTICLES 30 TO 34 SHALL NOT PRECLUDE PROHIBITIONS OR RESTRICTIONS ON IMPORTS JUSTIFIED ON GROUNDS OF PUBLIC POLICY OR THE PROTECTION OF INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL PROPERTY .

6 THE DEFENDANT IS , HOWEVER , MISTAKEN IN PLACING RELIANCE ON ARTICLE 36 OF THE TREATY AS THE LEGAL BASIS FOR ITS CONTENTION .

7 IN FACT , SINCE THE COURT STATED IN ITS JUDGMENT OF 25 JANUARY 1977 IN CASE 46/76 BAUHUIS ( 1977 ) ECR 5 THAT ARTICLE 36 OF THE TREATY ' ' CONSTITUTES A DEROGATION FROM THE BASIC RULE THAT ALL OBSTACLES TO THE FREE MOVEMENT OF GOODS BETWEEN MEMBER STATES SHALL BE ELIMINATED AND MUST BE INTERPRETED STRICTLY ' ' , THE EXCEPTIONS LISTED THEREIN CANNOT BE EXTENDED TO CASES OTHER THAN THOSE SPECIFICALLY LAID DOWN .

8 IN VIEW OF THE FACT THAT NEITHER THE PROTECTION OF CONSUMERS NOR THE FAIRNESS OF COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS IS INCLUDED AMONGST THE EXCEPTIONS SET OUT IN ARTICLE 36 , THOSE GROUNDS CANNOT BE RELIED UPON AS SUCH IN CONNEXION WITH THAT ARTICLE .

9 HOWEVER , SINCE THE IRISH GOVERNMENT DESCRIBES ITS RECOURSE TO THESE CONCEPTS AS ' ' THE CENTRAL ISSUE IN THE CASE ' ' , IT IS NECESSARY TO STUDY THIS ARGUMENT IN CONNEXION WITH ARTICLE 30 AND TO CONSIDER WHETHER IT IS POSSIBLE , IN RELIANCE ON THOSE CONCEPTS , TO SAY THAT THE IRISH ORDERS ARE NOT MEASURES HAVING AN EFFECT EQUIVALENT TO QUANTITATIVE RESTRICTIONS ON IMPORTS WITHIN THE MEANING OF THAT ARTICLE , BEARING IN MIND THAT , ACCORDING TO THE ESTABLISHED CASE-LAW OF THE COURT , SUCH MEASURES INCLUDE ' ' ALL TRADING RULES ENACTED BY MEMBER STATES WHICH ARE CAPABLE OF HINDERING , DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY , ACTUALLY OR POTENTIALLY , INTRA-COMMUNITY TRADE ' ' ( JUDGMENT OF 11 JULY 1974 IN CASE 8/74 DASSONVILLE ( 1974 ) ECR 837 ).

10 IN THIS RESPECT , THE COURT HAS REPEATEDLY AFFIRMED ( IN THE JUDGMENTS OF 20 FEBRUARY 1979 IN CASE 120/78 REWE ( 1979 ) ECR 649 , 26 JUNE 1980 IN CASE 788/79 GILLI AND ANDRES ( 1980 ) ECR 2071 , 19 FEBRUARY 1981 IN CASE 130/80 KELDERMAN ( 1981 ) ECR ) THAT ' ' IN THE ABSENCE OF COMMON RULES RELATING TO THE PRODUCTION AND MARKETING OF THE PRODUCT IN QUESTION IT IS FOR MEMBER STATES TO REGULATE ALL MATTERS RELATING TO ITS PRODUCTION , DISTRIBUTION AND CONSUMPTION ON THEIR OWN TERRITORY SUBJECT , HOWEVER , TO THE CONDITION THAT THOSE RULES DO NOT PRESENT AN OBSTACLE . . . TO INTRA-COMMUNITY TRADE ' ' AND THAT ' ' IT IS ONLY WHERE NATIONAL RULES , WHICH APPLY WITHOUT DISCRIMINATION TO BOTH DOMESTIC AND IMPORTED PRODUCTS , MAY BE JUSTIFIED AS BEING NECESSARY IN ORDER TO SATISFY IMPERATIVE REQUIREMENTS RELATING IN PARTICULAR TO . . . THE FAIRNESS OF COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS AND THE DEFENCE OF THE CONSUMER THAT THEY MAY CONSTITUTE AN EXCEPTION TO THE REQUIREMENTS ARISING UNDER ARTICLE 30 ' ' .

11 THE ORDERS CONCERNED IN THE PRESENT CASE ARE NOT MEASURES WHICH ARE APPLICABLE TO DOMESTIC PRODUCTS AND TO IMPORTED PRODUCTS WITHOUT DISTINCTION BUT RATHER A SET OF RULES WHICH APPLY ONLY TO IMPORTED PRODUCTS AND ARE THEREFORE DISCRIMINATORY IN NATURE , WITH THE RESULT THAT THE MEASURES IN ISSUE ARE NOT COVERED BY THE DECISIONS CITED ABOVE WHICH RELATE EXCLUSIVELY TO PROVISIONS THAT REGULATE IN A UNIFORM MANNER THE MARKETING OF DOMESTIC PRODUCTS AND IMPORTED PRODUCTS .

12 THE IRISH GOVERNMENT RECOGNIZES THAT THE CONTESTED MEASURES APPLY SOLELY TO IMPORTED ARTICLES AND RENDER THEIR IMPORTATION AND SALE MORE DIFFICULT THAN THE SALE OF DOMESTIC PRODUCTS . HOWEVER , IT MAINTAINS THAT THIS DIFFERENCE IN THE TREATMENT AWARDED TO HOME-PRODUCED ARTICLES AND TO IMPORTED ARTICLES DOES NOT CONSTITUTE DISCRIMINATION ON THE GROUND THAT THE ARTICLES REFERRED TO IN THE CONTESTED ORDERS CONSIST MAINLY OF SOUVENIRS ; THE APPEAL OF SUCH ARTICLES LIES ESSENTIALLY IN THE FACT OF THEIR BEING MANUFACTURED IN THE PLACE WHERE THEY ARE PURCHASED AND THEY BEAR IN THEMSELVES AN IMPLIED INDICATION OF THEIR IRISH ORIGIN , WITH THE RESULT THAT THE PURCHASER WOULD BE MISLED IF THE SOUVENIR BOUGHT IN IRELAND WAS MANUFACTURED ELSEWHERE . CONSEQUENTLY , THE REQUIREMENT THAT ALL IMPORTED ' ' SOUVENIRS ' ' COVERED BY THE TWO ORDERS MUST BEAR AN INDICATION OF ORIGIN IS JUSTIFIED AND IN NO WAY CONSTITUTES DISCRIMINATION BECAUSE THE ARTICLES CONCERNED ARE DIFFERENT ON ACCOUNT OF THE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THEIR ESSENTIAL CHARACTERISTICS .

13 THE COMMISSION REJECTS THIS REASONING . IN RELIANCE ON THE JUDGMENT OF 20 FEBRUARY 1975 IN CASE 12/74 COMMISSION V FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY ( 1975 ) ECR 191 , IT SUBMITS THAT IT IS UNNECESSARY FOR A PURCHASER TO KNOW WHETHER OR NOT A PRODUCT IS OF A PARTICULAR ORIGIN , UNLESS SUCH ORIGIN IMPLIES A CERTAIN QUALITY , BASIC MATERIALS OR PROCESS OF MANUFACTURE OR A PARTICULAR PLACE IN THE FOLKLORE OR TRADITION OF THE REGION IN QUESTION ; SINCE NONE OF THE ARTICLES REFERRED TO IN THE ORDERS DISPLAY THESE FEATURES , THE MEASURES IN QUESTION CANNOT BE JUSTIFIED AND ARE THEREFORE ' ' OVERTLY DISCRIMINATORY ' ' .

14 IT IS THEREFORE NECESSARY TO CONSIDER WHETHER THE CONTESTED MEASURES ARE INDEED DISCRIMINATORY OR WHETHER THEY CONSTITUTE DISCRIMINATION IN APPEARANCE ONLY .

15 THE SOUVENIRS REFERRED TO IN THE SALE ORDER AND IN THE IMPORTATION ORDER ARE GENERALLY ARTICLES OF ORNAMENTATION OF LITTLE COMMERCIAL VALUE REPRESENTING OR INCORPORATING A MOTIF OR EMBLEM WHICH IS REMINISCENT OF AN IRISH PLACE , OBJECT , CHARACTER OR HISTORICAL EVENT OR SUGGESTIVE OF AN IRISH SYMBOL AND THEIR VALUE STEMS FROM THE FACT THAT THE PURCHASER , MORE OFTEN THAN NOT A TOURIST , BUYS THEM ON THE SPOT . THE ESSENTIAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE SOUVENIRS IN QUESTION IS THAT THEY CONSTITUTE A PICTORIAL REMINDER OF THE PLACE VISITED , WHICH DOES NOT BY ITSELF MEAN THAT A SOUVENIR , AS DEFINED IN THE ORDERS , MUST NECESSARILY BE MANUFACTURED IN THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN .

16 FURTHERMORE , LEAVING ASIDE THE POINT ARGUED BY THE COMMISSION - WITH REGARD TO THE ARTICLES COVERED BY THE CONTESTED ORDERS - THAT IT WOULD NOT BE ENOUGH TO REQUIRE A STATEMENT OF ORIGIN TO BE AFFIXED TO DOMESTIC PRODUCTS ALSO , IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT THE INTERESTS OF CONSUMERS AND FAIR TRADING WOULD BE ADEQUATELY SAFEGUARDED IF IT WERE LEFT TO DOMESTIC MANUFACTURERS TO TAKE APPROPRIATE STEPS SUCH AS AFFIXING , IF THEY SO WISHED , THEIR MARK OF ORIGIN TO THEIR OWN PRODUCTS OR PACKAGING .

17 THUS BY GRANTING SOUVENIRS IMPORTED FROM OTHER MEMBER STATES ACCESS TO THE DOMESTIC MARKET SOLELY ON CONDITION THAT THEY BEAR A STATEMENT OF ORIGIN , WHILST NO SUCH STATEMENT IS REQUIRED IN THE CASE OF DOMESTIC PRODUCTS , THE PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN THE SALE ORDER AND THE IMPORTATION ORDER INDISPUTABLY CONSTITUTE A DISCRIMINATORY MEASURE .

18 THE CONCLUSION TO BE DRAWN THEREFORE IS THAT BY REQUIRING ALL SOUVENIRS AND ARTICLES OF JEWELLERY IMPORTED FROM OTHER MEMBER STATES WHICH ARE COVERED BY THE SALE ORDER AND THE IMPORTATION ORDER TO BEAR AN INDICATION OF ORIGIN OR THE WORD ' ' FOREIGN ' ' , THE IRISH RULES CONSTITUTE A MEASURE HAVING EQUIVALENT EFFECT WITHIN THE MEANING OF ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY . IRELAND HAS CONSEQUENTLY FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE ARTICLE .

Decision on costs

19 UNDER ARTICLE 69 ( 2 ) OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE , THE UNSUCCESSFUL PARTY IS TO BE ORDERED TO PAY THE COSTS IF THEY HAVE BEEN ASKED FOR IN THE SUCCESSFUL PARTY ' S PLEADING .

20 IN THIS CASE , SINCE THE DEFENDANT HAS FAILED IN ITS SUBMISSIONS , IT MUST BE ORDERED TO PAY THE COSTS .

Operative part of the judgment

ON THOSE GROUNDS ,

THE COURT

HEREBY :

1 . DECLARES THAT BY REQUIRING ALL ARTICLES IMPORTED FROM OTHER MEMBER STATES WHICH ARE COVERED BY THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON SALE OF IMPORTED JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 AND BY THE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON IMPORTATION OF JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 TO BEAR AN INDICATION OF ORIGIN OR THE WORD ' ' FOREIGN ' ' , IRELAND HAS FAILED TO FULFIL ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ARTICLE 30 OF THE EEC TREATY ;

2 . ORDERS THE DEFENDANT TO PAY THE COSTS .

EuGH, Rs. 113/80 v. 17.6.1981 - Irish Souvenirs


EuGH, Urteil v. 17.6.1981, Rs. 113/80, Slg. 1981, 1625 - Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften / Irland


EWGV Art. 30 , 36 ; Kommissions-Richtlinie Nr. 70/50/EWG
LEITSÄTZE:

1 . ARTIKEL 36 EWG-VERTRAG IST ALS AUSNAHME VON DER GRUNDREGEL , DASS ALLE HINDERNISSE FíœR DEN FREIEN WARENVERKEHR ZWISCHEN DEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN ZU BESEITIGEN SIND , ENG AUSZULEGEN ; DIE DORT AUFGEFíœHRTEN AUSNAHMEN KÖNNEN NICHT AUF ANDERE ALS DIE ABSCHLIESSEND AUFGEZÄHLTEN FÄLLE AUSGEDEHNT WERDEN . DA WEDER DER VERBRAUCHERSCHUTZ NOCH DIE LAUTERKEIT DES HANDELSVERKEHRS ZU DEN IN ARTIKEL 36 GENANNTEN AUSNAHMEN GEHÖREN , KÖNNEN DIESE GRíœNDE NICHT ALS SOLCHE IM RAHMEN DIESES ARTIKELS GELTEND GEMACHT WERDEN .

2 . EINE NATIONALE REGELUNG , DIE VORSCHREIBT , DASS ALLE AUS ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN EINGEFíœHRTEN SOUVENIRS UND SCHMUCKWAREN MIT EINER URSPRUNGSANGABE ODER MIT DEM WORT ' ' FOREIGN ' ' VERSEHEN SEIN MíœSSEN , STELLT EINE MASSNAHME GLEICHER WIRKUNG IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 30 EWG-VERTRAG DAR .

GRíœNDE:

1 DIE KOMMISSION HAT MIT KLAGESCHRIFT , DIE AM 28 . APRIL 1980 BEI DER KANZLEI DES GERICHTSHOFES EINGEGANGEN IST , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 169 EWG-VERTRAG KLAGE AUF FESTSTELLUNG ERHOBEN , DASS IRLAND GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 30 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN HAT , INDEM ES VORSCHRIEB , DASS EINGEFíœHRTE WAREN , DIE UNTER DIE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON SALE OF IMPORTED JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 ( S.I . NR . 306 , IRIS OIFIGIUIL VOM 26 . NOVEMBER 1971 ) UND DIE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON IMPORTATION OF JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 ( S.I . NR . 307 , IRIS OIFIGIUIL VOM 26 . NOVEMBER 1971 ) FALLEN , MIT EINER URSPRUNGSANGABE ODER MIT DEM WORT ' ' FOREIGN ' ' ( AUSLÄNDISCH ) VERSEHEN SEIN MíœSSEN .

2 GEMÄSS DEN ERLÄUTERUNGEN HIERZU UNTERSAGT DIE ERSTE DER BEIDEN VERORDNUNGEN DEN VERKAUF UND DAS FEILHALTEN VON EINGEFíœHRTEN SCHMUCKWAREN MIT MOTIVEN ODER MERKMALEN , DIE SIE ALS SOUVENIRS AUS IRLAND ERSCHEINEN LASSEN , Z . B . MIT DARSTELLUNGEN EINER IRISCHEN PERSÖNLICHKEIT , BEGEBENHEIT ODER LANDSCHAFT , EINES WOLFSHUNDS , EINES RUNDTURMS ODER EINES IRISCHEN KLEEBLATTS , UND DIE ZWEITE DIE EINFUHR SOLCHER WAREN , SOFERN SIE NICHT - IN BEIDEN FÄLLEN - MIT EINER ANGABE IHRES URSPRUNGSLANDES ODER DEM WORT ' ' FOREIGN ' ' VERSEHEN SIND .

3 DIE GENANNTEN ARTIKEL SIND IM ANHANG ZU JEDER VERORDNUNG AUFGEFíœHRT ; SIE MíœSSEN JEDOCH , UM IN DEN ANWENDUNGSBEREICH DER VERORDNUNGEN ZU FALLEN , AUS EDELMETALL , PLATTIERTEM EDELMETALL ODER UNEDLEM METALL BESTEHEN , WOBEI AUCH ALS FASSUNGEN GEEIGNETE POLIERTE ODER PLATTIERTE ARTIKEL ZU IHNEN GEHÖREN .

4 DIE KOMMISSION IST DER ANSICHT , DIE IN BEIDEN VERORDNUNGEN ENTHALTENEN BESCHRÄNKUNGEN DES FREIEN WARENVERKEHRS STELLTEN GEGEN ARTIKEL 30 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSENDE MASSNAHMEN MIT GLEICHER WIRKUNG WIE MENGENMÄSSIGE EINFUHRBESCHRÄNKUNGEN DAR . HIERZU FíœHRT SIE AUS , GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 2 ABSATZ 3 BUCHSTABE F DER RICHTLINIE 70/50/EWG VOM 22 . DEZEMBER 1969 ' ' GESTíœTZT AUF DIE VORSCHRIFTEN DES ARTIKELS 33 ABSATZ 7 íœBER DIE BESEITIGUNG VON MASSNAHMEN GLEICHER WIRKUNG WIE MENGENMÄSSIGE EINFUHRBESCHRÄNKUNGEN , DIE NICHT UNTER ANDERE AUFGRUND DES EWG-VERTRAGS ERLASSENE VORSCHRIFTEN FALLEN ' ' ( ABL . 1970 , L 13 , S . 29 ), SEIEN MASSNAHMEN , ' ' DIE EINE EINGEFíœHRTE WARE IN IHREM WERT HERABSETZEN UND DADURCH IHREN EIGENWERT VERMINDERN ODER IHRE VERTEUERUNG BEWIRKEN ' ' , ALS GEGEN ARTIKEL 30 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSENDE MASSNAHMEN GLEICHER WIRKUNG ZU BETRACHTEN .

5 DIE IRISCHE REGIERUNG BESTREITET NICHT , DASS DIE FRAGLICHEN VERORDNUNGEN EINSCHRÄNKENDE WIRKUNGEN AUF DEN FREIEN WARENVERKEHR HABEN ; SIE MACHT JEDOCH GELTEND , DIE STREITIGEN MASSNAHMEN SEIEN IM INTERESSE DES VERBRAUCHERSCHUTZES UND DER LAUTERKEIT IM HANDELSVERKEHR ZWISCHEN DEN ERZEUGERN GERECHTFERTIGT . HIERZU BERUFT SIE SICH AUF ARTIKEL 36 EWG-VERTRAG , DEM ZUFOLGE DIE ARTIKEL 30 BIS 34 UNTER ANDEREM SOLCHEN EINFUHRVERBOTEN ODER -BESCHRÄNKUNGEN NICHT ENTGEGENSTEHEN , DIE AUS GRíœNDEN DER ÖFFENTLICHEN ORDNUNG ODER ZUM SCHUTZE DES GEWERBLICHEN UND KOMMERZIELLEN EIGENTUMS GERECHTFERTIGT SIND .

6 DIE BEKLAGTE BEZIEHT SICH JEDOCH ZU UNRECHT AUF ARTIKEL 36 EWG-VERTRAG ALS RECHTSGRUNDLAGE FíœR IHR VORBRINGEN .

7 DA NÄMLICH , WIE DER GERICHTSHOF IN SEINEM URTEIL VOM 25 . JANAUR 1977 ( RECHTSSACHE 46/76 , BAUHUIS , SLG . 1977 , 5 , 15 ) FESTGESTELLT HAT , ARTIKEL 36 EWG-VERTRAG ' ' ALS AUSNAHME VON DER GRUNDREGEL , DASS ALLE HINDERNISSE FíœR DEN FREIEN WARENVERKEHR ZWISCHEN DEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN ZU BESEITIGEN SIND , ENG AUSZULEGEN ' ' IST , KÖNNEN DIE DORT AUFGEFíœHRTEN AUSNAHMEN NICHT AUF ANDERE ALS DIE ABSCHLIESSEND AUFGEZÄHLTEN FÄLLE AUSGEDEHNT WERDEN .

8 DA WEDER DER VERBRAUCHERSCHUTZ NOCH DIE LAUTERKEIT DES HANDELSVERKEHRS ZU DEN IN ARTIKEL 36 GENANNTEN AUSNAHMEN GEHÖREN , KÖNNEN DIESE GRíœNDE NICHT ALS SOLCHE IM RAHMEN DIESES ARTIKELS GELTEND GEMACHT WERDEN .

9 DIE IRISCHE REGIERUNG HAT IHRE BERUFUNG AUF DIESE BEGRIFFE JEDOCH ALS ' ' DIE ZENTRALE FRAGE DIESER RECHTSSACHE ' ' BEZEICHNET . DAHER MUSS DIESES VORBRINGEN IM RAHMEN DES ARTIKELS 30 BEURTEILT WERDEN , UND ES IST ZU PRíœFEN , OB ES MIT HILFE DIESER BEGRIFFE MÖGLICH IST , DAS VORLIEGEN VON MASSNAHMEN MIT GLEICHER WIRKUNG WIE MENGENMÄSSIGE EINFUHRBESCHRÄNKUNGEN IM SINNE DIESES ARTIKELS ZU VERNEINEN ; DABEI IST JEDOCH ZU BERíœCKSICHTIGEN , DASS ZU DIESEN MASSNAHMEN NACH STÄNDIGER RECHTSPRECHUNG DES GERICHTSHOFES ' ' JEDE HANDELSREGELUNG DER MITGLIEDSTAATEN ( GEHÖRT ), DIE GEEIGNET IST , DEN INNERGEMEINSCHAFTLICHEN HANDEL UNMITTELBAR ODER MITTELBAR , TATSÄCHLICH ODER POTENTIELL ZU BEHINDERN ' ' ( URTEIL VOM 11 . JULI 1974 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 8/74 , DASSONVILLE , SLG . 1974 , 837 , 852 ).

10 WIE DER GERICHTSHOF INSOWEIT WIEDERHOLT FESTGESTELLT HAT ( URTEIL VOM 20 . FEBRUAR 1979 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 120/78 , REWE , SLG . 1979 , 649 ; URTEIL VOM 26 . JUNI 1980 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 788/79 , GILLI , SLG . 1980 , 2071 ; URTEIL VOM 19 . FEBRUAR 1981 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 130/80 , KELDERMAN , NOCH NICHT VERÖFFENTLICHT ), IST ES IN ERMANGELUNG EINER GEMEINSCHAFTLICHEN REGELUNG DER HERSTELLUNG UND DES INVERKEHRBRINGENS EINES ERZEUGNISSES SACHE DER MITGLIEDSTAATEN , ALLE DIE HERSTELLUNG , DEN VERTRIEB UND DEN VERBRAUCH DIESES ERZEUGNISSES BETREFFENDEN VORSCHRIFTEN FíœR IHR HOHEITSGEBIET ZU ERLASSEN , VORAUSGESETZT ALLERDINGS , DASS DIESE VORSCHRIFTEN DEN INNERGEMEINSCHAFTLICHEN HANDEL NICHT BEHINDERN ; EINE NATIONALE REGELUNG , DIE UNTERSCHIEDSLOS FíœR EINHEIMISCHE WIE FíœR EINGEFíœHRTE ERZEUGNISSE GILT , KÖNNTE NUR DANN VON DEN ANFORDERUNGEN DES ARTIKELS 30 ABWEICHEN , WENN SIE DADURCH GERECHTFERTIGT WERDEN KANN , DASS SIE NOTWENDIG IST , UM ZWINGENDEN ERFORDERNISSEN , INSEBESONDERE IN BEZUG AUF DIE LAUTERKEIT DES HANDELSVERKEHRS UND DEN VERBRAUCHERSCHUTZ , GERECHT ZU WERDEN .

11 IM VORLIEGENDEN FALL HANDELT ES SICH JEDOCH NICHT UM EINE REGELUNG , DIE UNTERSCHIEDSLOS FíœR EINHEIMISCHE WIE FíœR EINGEFíœHRTE ERZEUGNISSE GILT , SONDERN UM EINEN KOMPLEX VON VORSCHRIFTEN , DIE SICH AUSSCHLIESSLICH AUF EINGEFíœHRTE ERZEUGNISSE BEZIEHEN UND DAHER DISKRIMINIERENDEN CHARAKTER HABEN . AUS DIESEM GRUNDE KANN DIE OBEN ERWÄHNTE RECHTSPRECHUNG , DIE SICH AUSSCHLIESSLICH AUF RECHTSVORSCHRIFTEN BEZIEHT , DURCH DIE DAS INVERKEHRBRINGEN EINHEIMISCHER UND EINGEFíœHRTER ERZEUGNISSE EINHEITLICH GEREGELT WIRD , AUF DIE FRAGLICHEN MASSNAHMEN NICHT ANGEWANDT WERDEN .

12 DIE IRISCHE REGIERUNG RÄUMT ZWAR EIN , DASS DIE BEANSTANDETEN MASSNAHMEN SICH NUR AUF EINGEFíœHRTE ERZEUGNISSE ERSTRECKEN UND DEREN EINFUHR UND VERKAUF GEGENíœBER DEM ABSATZ DER EINHEIMISCHEN PRODUKTION ERSCHWEREN . SIE MACHT JEDOCH GELTEND , DIESE UNTERSCHIEDLICHE BEHANDLUNG EINHEIMISCHER UND EINGEFíœHRTER ERZEUGNISSE STELLE KEINE DISKRIMINIERUNG DAR , DA DIE VON DEN BEIDEN STREITIGEN VERORDNUNGEN ERFASSTEN ERZEUGNISSE íœBERWIEGEND SOGENANNTE SOUVENIRS SEIEN ; DIESE ' ' SOUVENIRS ' ' , DIE SICH IM WESENTLICHEN DADURCH AUSZEICHNETEN , DASS SIE DORT HERGESTELLT WíœRDEN , WO SIE GEKAUFT WíœRDEN , ERWECKTEN AUS SICH SELBST HERAUS STILLSCHWEIGEND DEN EINDRUCK , SIE SEIEN IRISCHEN URSPRUNGS , SO DASS DER KÄUFER IRREGEFíœHRT WíœRDE , WENN DAS IN IRLAND GEKAUFTE SOUVENIR WOANDERS HERGESTELLT SEI . FOLGLICH SEI DIE VERPFLICHTUNG , ALLE - VON DEN BEIDEN VERORDNUNGEN ERFASSTEN - EINGEFíœHRTEN SOUVENIRS MIT EINER URSPRUNGSANGABE ZU VERSEHEN , GERECHTFERTIGT UND STELLE KEINE DISKRIMINIERUNG DAR , DA DIE ERZEUGNISSE WEGEN DER UNTERSCHIEDE ZWISCHEN IHREN WESENTLICHEN MERKMALEN VERSCHIEDEN SEIEN .

13 DIE KOMMISSION TRITT DIESEM VORBRINGEN ENTGEGEN . GESTíœTZT AUF DAS URTEIL VOM 20 . FEBRUAR 1975 IN DER RECHTSSACHE 12/74 ( KOMMISSION/BUNDESREPUBLIK DEUTSCHLAND , SLG . 1975 , 181 ) MACHT SIE GELTEND , ES SEI FíœR DEN KÄUFER NICHT ERFORDERLICH ZU WISSEN , OB EIN ERZEUGNIS VON BESTIMMTEM URSPRUNG SEI , SOFERN NICHT DIESER URSPRUNG AUF EINE BESTIMMTE QUALITÄT , BESONDERE AUSGANGSSTOFFE , EIN BESTIMMTES HERSTELLUNGSVERFAHREN ODER EINE GEWISSE BEDEUTUNG IN DER FOLKLORE ODER TRADITION DER BETREFFENDEN GEGEND HINDEUTE ; DA JEDOCH KEINE DER VON DEN VERORDNUNGEN ERFASSTEN WAREN DERARTIGE MERKMALE AUFWEISE , SEIEN DIE STREITIGEN MASSNAHMEN NICHT GERECHTFERTIGT UND HÄTTEN FOLGLICH ' ' OFFENSICHTLICH DISKRIMINIERENDEN CHARAKTER ' ' .

14 ES IST DAHER ZU PRíœFEN , OB DIE STREITIGEN MASSNAHMEN TATSÄCHLICH DISKRIMINIERENDEN CHARAKTER HABEN ODER OB SIE NUR DEN ANSCHEIN EINER DISKRIMINIERUNG ERWECKEN .

15 BEI DEN IN DEN VERORDNUNGEN NRN . 306 UND 307 AUFGEFíœHRTEN SOUVENIRS HANDELT ES SICH IM ALLGEMEINEN UM SCHMUCKGEGENSTÄNDE VON GERINGEM HANDELSWERT , DIE EIN MOTIV ODER EMBLEM DARSTELLEN ODER TRAGEN , DAS EINEN ORT , EINE SACHE , EINE PERSÖNLICHKEIT ODER EIN HISTORISCHES EREIGNIS MIT IRISCHEM SYMBOLWERT WIEDERGIBT , UND DIE IHREN WERT DADURCH ERHALTEN , DASS DER KÄUFER , MEISTENS EIN TOURIST , SIE AM ORT ERSTEHT . DIE WESENTLICHE EIGENSCHAFT DIESER SOUVENIRS BESTEHT DARIN , DASS SIE IN BILDHAFTER WEISE AN DEN BESUCHTEN ORT ERINNERN , WAS AN SICH NICHT VORAUSSETZT , DASS EIN SOUVENIR IM SINNE DER IRISCHEN VERORDNUNGEN IN DEM LAND HERGESTELLT SEIN MUSS , IN DEM ES ERWORBEN WORDEN IST .

16 OHNE AUF DIE VON DER KOMMISSION - BEZUEGLICH DER VON DEN STREITIGEN VERORDNUNGEN ERFASSTEN ERZEUGNISSE - GEÄUSSERTE ANSICHT EINZUGEHEN , ES GENíœGE NICHT , WENN DIE ANGABE DES URSPRUNGS AUCH FíœR DIE EINHEIMISCHEN ERZEUGNISSE VORGESCHRIEBEN WERDE , IST DES WEITEREN FESTZUSTELLEN , DASS DEM INTERESSE DER VERBRAUCHER UND DER LAUTERKEIT DES HANDELSVERKEHRS AUSREICHEND RECHNUNG GETRAGEN WÄRE , WENN ES DEN EINHEIMISCHEN HERSTELLERN íœBERLASSEN WíœRDE , GEEIGNETE MASSNAHMEN ZU TREFFEN , WIE ETWA DADURCH , DASS SIE IHRE EIGENEN ERZEUGNISSE ODER VERPACKUNGEN , SOFERN SIE ES WíœNSCHEN , MIT IHREM URSPRUNGSZEICHEN VERSEHEN .

17 DADURCH , DASS SIE AUS ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN EINGEFíœHRTE SOUVENIRS ZUM EINHEIMISCHEN MARKT NUR ZULASSEN , WENN SIE MIT EINER URSPRUNGSBEZEICHNUNG VERSEHEN SIND , DIE BEI EINHEIMISCHEN ERZEUGNISSEN NICHT VERLANGT WIRD , STELLEN DIE IN DEN VERORDNUNGEN NRN . 306 UND 307 ENTHALTENEN VORSCHRIFTEN SOMIT UNBESTREITBAR EINE DISKRIMINIERENDE MASSNAHME DAR .

18 ABSCHLIESSEND IST DAHER FESTZUSTELLEN , DASS DIE IRISCHE REGELUNG EINE MASSNAHME GLEICHER WIRKUNG IM SINNE DES ARTIKELS 30 EWG-VERTRAG DARSTELLT , DA SIE VORSCHREIBT , DASS ALLE AUS ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN EINGEFíœHRTEN SOUVENIRS UND SCHMUCKWAREN , DIE UNTER DIE VERORDNUNGEN NRN . 306 UND 307 FALLEN , MIT EINER URSPRUNGSANGABE ODER MIT DEM WORT ' ' FOREIGN ' ' VERSEHEN SEIN MíœSSEN . IRLAND HAT SOMIT GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS DIESEM ARTIKEL VERSTOSSEN .

KOSTEN:

19 GEMÄSS ARTIKEL 69 PAR 2 DER VERFAHRENSORDNUNG IST DIE UNTERLIEGENDE PARTEI AUF ANTRAG ZUR TRAGUNG DER KOSTEN ZU VERURTEILEN .

20 DA DIE BEKLAGTE PARTEI IM VORLIEGENDEN FALL MIT IHREM VORBRINGEN UNTERLEGEN IST , SIND IHR DIE KOSTEN DES VERFAHRENS AUFZUERLEGEN .

AUS DIESEN GRíœNDEN

TENOR:

HAT

DER GERICHTSHOF

FíœR RECHT ERKANNT UND ENTSCHIEDEN :

1 . IRLAND HAT GEGEN SEINE VERPFLICHTUNGEN AUS ARTIKEL 30 EWG-VERTRAG VERSTOSSEN , INDEM ES VORSCHRIEB , DASS ALLE AUS ANDEREN MITGLIEDSTAATEN EINGEFíœHRTEN WAREN , DIE UNTER DIE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON SALE OF IMPORTED JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 UND UNTER DIE MERCHANDISE MARKS ( RESTRICTION ON IMPORTATION OF JEWELLERY ) ORDER 1971 FALLEN , MIT EINER URSPRUNGSANGABE ODER MIT DEM WORT ' ' FOREIGN ' ' VERSEHEN SEIN MíœSSEN .

2 . DIE BEKLAGTE PARTEI HAT DIE KOSTEN DES VERFAHRENS ZU TRAGEN .