EuGH, Rs. C-320/93 v. 10.11.1994 - Ortscheit (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 10.11.1994, Rs. C-320/93, Slg. 1994, I-5243 - Lusien Ortscheit GmbH / Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH


EWG-Vertrag, Art. 30, HWG § 8

Summary

The national prohibition of advertising for medicinal products which despite the general requirement of authorization are not authorized in a country, but may be imported from another Member State of the European Community in response to an individual order if they have been lawfully put into circulation in that Member State, is, inasmuch as it affects only imported products, a measure having equivalent effect to a quantitative restriction within the meaning of Article 30 of the EEC Treaty.

That prohibition is however justified under Article 36 on grounds pertaining to the protection of the health and life of humans because it is necessary for the effectiveness of the national authorization scheme, which Member States are entitled to maintain in the absence of a procedure for Community authorization or mutual recognition of national authorizations.

Parties

In Case C-320/93,

REFERENCE to the Court under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty by the Landgericht Saarbruecken, Germany, for a preliminary ruling in the proceedings pending before that court between

Lucien Ortscheit GmbH

and

Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH

on the interpretation of Articles 30 and 36 of the EEC Treaty,

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

composed of: G.C. Rodrí­guez Iglesias, President of the Court acting as President of the Chamber, R. Joliet (Rapporteur), President of the Chamber, and J.C. Moitinho de Almeida, Judge,

Advocate General: C. Gulmann,

Registrar: H.A. Ruehl, Principal Administrator,

after considering the written observations submitted on behalf of:

° Lucien Ortscheit GmbH, by Adalbert Kunschert, Rechtsanwalt, Saarbruecken,

° Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH, by Wolfgang A. Rehmann, Rechtsanwalt, Munich,

° the Belgian Government, by Patrick Duray, Assistant Adviser in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, acting as Agent,

° the French Government, by Hélí¨ne Duchíªne, Secretary for Foreign Affairs in the Directorate of Legal Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Catherine de Salins, Foreign Affairs Adviser in the Directorate of Legal Affairs in that Ministry, acting as Agents,

° the Greek Government, by Ioannis Konstantinos Chalkias, Assistant Legal Adviser in the State Legal Service, and Christina Sitara, Legal Representative in the State Legal Service, acting as Agents,

° the Commission of the European Communities, by Richard Wainwright, Legal Adviser, and Angela Bardenhewer, of its Legal Service, acting as Agents,

having regard to the Report for the Hearing,

after hearing the oral observations of Lucien Ortscheit GmbH, Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH, the Greek Government, represented by C. Sitara and Panagiotis Kamarineas, State Legal Adviser, and the Commission at the hearing on 28 April 1994,

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General at the sitting on 16 June 1994,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds of the judgment

1 By order of 24 March 1993, received at the Court on 21 June 1993, the Landgericht Saarbruecken (Saarbruecken Regional Court) referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty two questions on the compatibility with Articles 30 and 36 of the EEC Treaty of a rule of national law prohibiting advertising for foreign medicinal products which are not authorized in Germany but which can be imported into that country under certain conditions.

2 Those questions arose in proceedings between two companies importing medicinal products, Lucien Ortscheit GmbH and Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH. Lucien Ortscheit seeks an order that Eurim-Pharm cease all advertising for foreign medicinal products not authorized by the German authorities.

3 Under Paragraph 21(1) of the Arzneimittelgesetz (Law on medicinal products, "the AMG"), medicinal products may not be marketed in the Federal Republic of Germany unless they have been authorized by the competent federal authorities. That rule also applies in principle to imported medicinal products (Paragraph 73(1) of the AMG).

4 However, under Paragraph 73(3) of the AMG, foreign medicinal products which have not been authorized in Germany may be imported if they have been authorized in their country of origin, provided they have been ordered by pharmacies in limited quantities on the basis of a prescription from a doctor, dentist or veterinary surgeon.

5 Article 8(2) of the Heilmittelwerbegesetz (Law on advertising in the health sector, "the HWG") provides, however, with reference to those medicinal products:

"Advertisements containing an offer to obtain specified medicinal products by individual importation under ... Paragraph 73(3) shall ... be prohibited."

6 Making use of the opportunity afforded by Paragraph 73(3) of the AMG, Eurim-Pharm imports into Germany medicinal products which have not been authorized by the German authorities. Since April 1992 it has published advertisements in German publications aimed at professionals in the health sector, indicating which non-authorized products it imports and the address from which they can be obtained.

7 On 14 October 1992 Lucien Ortscheit, a competitor of Eurim-Pharm, applied to the Landgericht Saarbruecken for an order that Eurim-Pharm desist from those acts, on the ground that they were prohibited by Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG.

8 The Landgericht Saarbruecken considered that the advertisements published by Eurim-Pharm were advertisements within the meaning of Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG and that the question arose whether that provision was compatible with Community law; it therefore referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling two questions on the interpretation of Articles 30 and 36 of the Treaty:

"1. Is the national prohibition of advertising for medicinal products which despite the requirement of authorization are not authorized in Germany, but may lawfully be imported from another Member State of the European Communities in response to an individual order if they have already been lawfully put into circulation in that Member State, a measure having equivalent effect to a quantitative restriction within the meaning of Article 30 of the EEC Treaty?

2. If the prohibition of advertising described above is a measure having equivalent effect within the meaning of Article 30 of the EEC Treaty, in what circumstances can it be permitted by way of exception under Article 36 of the EEC Treaty for the protection of health and life of humans?"

The first question (Article 30 of the Treaty)

9 It must be observed first that the prohibition of advertising under Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG applies solely to foreign medicinal products. Since it thus does not have the same effect on the marketing of medicinal products from other Member States as on the marketing of national medicinal products, it must fall within the scope of Article 30 of the Treaty (see the judgment in Joined Cases C-267/91 and C-268/91 Keck and Mithouard [1993] ECR I-6097, paragraph 16).

10 Secondly, the prohibition of advertising at issue may restrict the volume of imports of medicinal products not authorized in Germany, since it deprives pharmacists and doctors, whose participation is essential for the import of those medicinal products under Paragraph 73(3) of the AMG, of a source of information on the existence and availability of such products.

11 A provision such as that in Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG is therefore a measure having equivalent effect to a quantitative restriction within the meaning of Article 30 of the Treaty.

12 The answer to the first question must therefore be that the national prohibition of advertising for medicinal products which despite the general requirement of authorization are not authorized in a country, but may be imported from another Member State of the European Communities in response to an individual order if they have already been lawfully put into circulation in that Member State, is a measure having equivalent effect to a quantitative restriction within the meaning of Article 30 of the Treaty.

The second question (Article 36 of the Treaty)

13 By its second question the national court asks essentially whether the prohibition of advertising at issue is justified under Article 36 of the Treaty on grounds relating to the protection of health and life of humans.

14 It must be observed that Article 36 of the Treaty remains applicable as regards the manufacture and marketing of proprietary medicinal products as long as harmonization of national rules has not been fully achieved in that field (see the judgments in Case 215/87 Schumacher [1989] ECR 617, paragraph 15; Case C-369/88 Delattre [1991] ECR I-1487, paragraph 48; Case C-347/89 Eurim-Pharm [1991] ECR I-1747, paragraph 26; Case C-62/90 Commission v Germany [1992] ECR I-2575, paragraph 10; and Case C-317/92 Commission v Germany [1994] ECR I-2039, paragraph 14).

15 It must be emphasized that Council Directive 92/28/EEC of 31 March 1992 on the advertising of medicinal products for human use (OJ 1992 L 113, p. 13), which inter alia imposes on the Member States an obligation to subject the advertising of medicinal products to health professionals to strict conditions and effective monitoring (see the sixth recital in the preamble and Articles 6 to 14), does not apply to the main proceedings. The events giving rise to those proceedings occurred in the period from April to October 1992, whereas in accordance with Article 15(1) the directive was to be transposed by the Member States by 1 January 1993 at the latest.

16 That being so, it should be noted that it is also settled law that the health and life of humans rank foremost among the property or interests protected by Article 36 of the Treaty and that it is for the Member States, within the limits imposed by the Treaty, to decide what degree of protection they intend to ensure.

17 However, national rules or practices having, or likely to have, a restrictive effect on the importation of pharmaceutical products are compatible with the Treaty only to the extent that they are necessary for the effective protection of health and life of humans. A national rule or practice cannot benefit from the derogation provided for in Article 36 if the health and life of humans may be protected just as effectively by measures which are less restrictive of intra-Community trade (see the judgments, cited above, in Case C-62/90 Commission v Germany, paragraphs 10 and 11; Schumacher, paragraphs 17 and 18; Delattre, paragraph 53; and Eurim-Pharm, paragraph 27).

18 In this case it must be noted that Member States are entitled, at the present stage of harmonization and in the absence of a procedure for Community authorization or mutual recognition of national authorizations, to prohibit entirely the marketing in their territory of medicinal products which have not been authorized by the competent national authorities. Under Article 3 of Council Directive 65/65/EEC of 26 January 1965 on the approximation of provisions laid down by law, regulation or administrative action relating to proprietary medicinal products (OJ, English Special Edition 1965-1966, p. 20), as amended by Council Directive 89/341/EEC of 3 May 1989 (OJ 1989 L 142, p. 11), "no proprietary medicinal product may be placed on the market in a Member State unless an authorization has been issued by the competent authority of that Member State".

19 As the Advocate General has rightly stated in paragraph 23 of his Opinion, the prohibition of advertising in Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG has the purpose of ensuring that the individual importation of medicinal products which have not been authorized remains an exception, in order to prevent the general requirement of national authorization under German law from being systematically circumvented. If medicinal products which were not authorized in Germany could be advertised there, there would be a danger that manufacturers would obtain authorization for their medicinal products in a Member State imposing fewer requirements and then import them into Germany on the basis of individual orders which they would have encouraged by advertising campaigns.

20 The prohibition of advertising imposed by Paragraph 8(2) of the HWG is therefore necessary for the effectiveness of the national authorization scheme. Consequently, it is justified on public health grounds under Article 36 of the Treaty.

21 The answer to the second question must therefore be that the prohibition of advertising at issue is justified under Article 36 of the Treaty on grounds pertaining to the protection of the health and life of humans.

Decision on costs

Costs

22 The costs incurred by the Belgian, French and Greek Governments and by the Commission of the European Communities, which have submitted observations to the Court, are not recoverable. Since these proceedings are, for the parties to the main proceedings, a step in the action pending before the national court, the decision on costs is a matter for that court.

Operative part of the judgment

On those grounds,

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

in answer to the questions referred to it by the Landgericht Saarbruecken by order of 24 March 1993, hereby rules:

1. The national prohibition of advertising for medicinal products which despite the general requirement of authorization are not authorized in a country, but may be imported from another Member State of the European Communities in response to an individual order if they have been lawfully put into circulation in that Member State, is a measure having equivalent effect to a quantitative restriction within the meaning of Article 30 of the EEC Treaty.

2. That prohibition of advertising is justified however under Article 36 of the EEC Treaty on grounds pertaining to the protection of the health and life of humans.

EuGH, Rs. C-320/93 v. 10.11.1994 - Ortscheit


EuGH, Urteil v. 10.11.1994, Rs. C-320/93, Slg. 1994, I-5243 - Lusien Ortscheit GmbH / Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH


EWG-Vertrag, Art. 30, HWG § 8
Leitsätze:

Das nationale Verbot der Werbung für Arzneimittel, die im Inland trotz grundsätzlich bestehender Zulassungspflicht nicht zugelassen sind, die aber aus einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Gemeinschaften auf Einzelbestellung importiert werden dürfen, sofern sie bereits in diesem Mitgliedstaat zulässigerweise in den Verkehr gebracht wurden, ist eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag, da es nur eingeführte Erzeugnisse betrifft.

Dieses Verbot ist jedoch nach Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag zum Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen gerechtfertigt, da es für die Wirksamkeit der nationalen Zulassungsregelung erforderlich ist, die die Mitgliedstaaten in Ermangelung eines Verfahrens der Gemeinschaftszulassung oder der gegenseitigen Anerkennung der nationalen Zulassungen beizubehalten berechtigt sind.

Gründe:

1 Das Landgericht Saarbrücken hat mit Beschluß vom 24. März 1993, beim Gerichtshof eingegangen am 21. Juni 1993, gemäß Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag zwei Auslegungsfragen zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt, um beurteilen zu können, ob ein nationales Verbot der Werbung für ausländische Arzneimittel, die, obwohl sie in Deutschland nicht zugelassen sind, unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen dorthin eingeführt werden dürfen, mit den Artikeln 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag vereinbar ist.

2 Diese Fragen stellen sich in einem Rechtsstreit zwischen zwei Arzneimittelimportunternehmen, der Lucien Ortscheit GmbH (im folgenden: Klägerin des Ausgangsverfahrens) und der Eurim-Pharm Arzneimittel GmbH (im folgenden: Beklagte des Ausgangsverfahrens). Die Klägerin des Ausgangsverfahrens klagt gegen die Beklagte des Ausgangsverfahrens auf Unterlassung jeder Werbung für von den deutschen Behörden nicht zugelassene Arzneimittel.

3 Nach § 21 Absatz 1 des Arzneimittelgesetzes (AMG) dürfen Arzneimittel in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland nur in den Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn sie durch die zuständige Bundesbehörde zugelassen sind. Dies gilt grundsätzlich auch für eingeführte Arzneimittel (§ 73 Absatz 1 AMG).

4 Nach § 73 Absatz 3 AMG dürfen jedoch ausländische Arzneimittel, die in Deutschland nicht zugelassen sind, dorthin eingeführt werden, wenn sie in ihrem Herkunftsland zugelassen sind und von Apotheken in geringen Mengen auf ärztliche, zahnärztliche oder tierärztliche Verschreibung bestellt sind.

5 § 8 Absatz 2 des Gesetzes über die Werbung auf dem Gebiete des Heilwesens (Heilmittelwerbegesetz, HWG) bestimmt jedoch in bezug auf die genannten Arzneimittel:

"Unzulässig ist ... die Werbung, bestimmte Arzneimittel im Wege der Einzeleinfuhr nach ... § 73 Abs. 3 des Arzneimittelgesetzes zu beziehen."

6 Die Beklagte des Ausgangsverfahrens macht von der durch § 73 Absatz 3 AMG eröffneten Möglichkeit Gebrauch und führt in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland Arzneimittel ein, die von den deutschen Behörden nicht zugelassen sind. Seit April 1992 lässt sie in der deutschen Presse für Angehörige von Berufen des Gesundheitswesens Anzeigen veröffentlichen, in denen angegeben ist, welche nicht zugelassenen Arzneimittel sie einführt und unter welcher Adresse diese erhältlich sind.

7 Am 14. Oktober 1992 erhob einer der Konkurrenten der Beklagten des Ausgangsverfahrens, die Klägerin des Ausgangsverfahrens, beim Landgericht Saarbrücken Klage auf Unterlassung der dargestellten Verhaltensweisen mit der Begründung, sie seien gemäß § 8 Absatz 2 HWG verboten.

8 Das Landgericht Saarbrücken ist der Ansicht, daß die von der Beklagten des Ausgangsverfahrens veröffentlichten Anzeigen Werbung im Sinne von § 8 Absatz 2 HWG darstellen, und fragt sich, ob diese Bestimmung mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht vereinbar ist. Es hat daher mit Beschluß vom 24. März 1993 dem Gerichtshof folgende zwei Fragen nach der Auslegung der Artikel 30 und 36 EWG-Vertrag zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt:

1) Ist das nationale Verbot der Werbung für Arzneimittel, die im Inland trotz bestehender Zulassungspflicht nicht zugelassen sind, die aber aus einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Gemeinschaften auf Einzelbestellung rechtmässig importiert werden dürfen, sofern sie bereits in diesem Mitgliedstaat zulässigerweise in den Verkehr gebracht wurden, eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag?

2) Unter welchen Voraussetzungen kann das oben beschriebene Werbeverbot, sollte es eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag sein, zum Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen durch Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag ausnahmsweise zulässig sein?

Zur ersten Frage (Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag)

9 Vorab ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß das Werbeverbot des § 8 Absatz 2 HWG nur ausländische Arzneimittel betrifft. Da es somit den Absatz der Arzneimittel aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten und der inländischen Arzneimittel nicht in der gleichen Weise berührt, kann es nicht von vornherein dem Anwendungsbereich von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag entzogen sein (Urteil vom 24. November 1993 in den Rechtssachen C-267/91 und C-268/91, Keck und Mithouard, Slg. 1993, I-6097, Randnr. 16).

10 Sodann ist festzustellen, daß das in Rede stehende Werbeverbot potentiell das Volumen der Einfuhren nicht zugelassener Arzneimittel nach Deutschland behindern kann. Es entzieht nämlich den Apothekern und Ärzten, deren Mitwirkung für die Einfuhr dieser Arzneimittel gemäß § 73 Absatz 3 AMG unerläßlich ist, eine Quelle der Information über die Existenz und die Verfügbarkeit solcher Arzneimittel.

11 Daher stellt eine Maßnahme, wie sie in § 8 Absatz 2 HWG enthalten ist, eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag dar.

12 Somit ist auf die erste Frage zu antworten, daß das nationale Verbot der Werbung für Arzneimittel, die im Inland trotz grundsätzlich bestehender Zulassungspflicht nicht zugelassen sind, die aber aus einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Gemeinschaften auf Einzelbestellung importiert werden dürfen, sofern sie bereits in diesem Mitgliedstaat zulässigerweise in den Verkehr gebracht wurden, eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag ist.

Zur zweiten Frage (Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag)

13 Mit seiner zweiten Frage begehrt das nationale Gericht im Kern Auskunft darüber, ob das in Rede stehende Werbeverbot gemäß Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag zum Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen gerechtfertigt ist.

14 Vorab ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag auf dem Gebiet der Herstellung und des Inverkehrbringens von Arzneispezialitäten so lange weiterhin anwendbar ist, wie die Harmonisierung der nationalen Regelungen in diesem Bereich noch nicht vollständig erreicht ist (Urteile des Gerichtshofes vom 7. März 1989 in der Rechtssache 215/87, Schumacher, Slg. 1989, 617, Randnr. 15, vom 21. März 1991 in der Rechtssache C-369/88, Delattre, Slg. 1991, I-1487, Randnr. 48, vom 16. April 1991 in der Rechtssache C-347/89, Eurim-Pharm, Slg. 1991, I-1747, Randnr. 26, vom 8. April 1992 in der Rechtssache C-62/90, Kommission/Deutschland, Slg. 1992, I-2575, Randnr. 10, und vom 1. Juni 1994 in der Rechtssache C-317/92, Kommission/Deutschland, Slg. 1994, I-2039, Randnr. 14).

15 In diesem Zusammenhang ist besonders darauf hinzuweisen, daß die Richtlinie 92/28/EWG des Rates vom 31. März 1992 über die Werbung für Humanarzneimittel (ABl. L 113, S. 13), die die Mitgliedstaaten namentlich verpflichtet, die Arzneimittelwerbung bei Angehörigen von Berufen des Gesundheitswesens strengen Voraussetzungen und einer wirksamen Kontrolle zu unterwerfen (sechste Begründungserwägung und Artikel 6 bis 14), im Ausgangsverfahren nicht anwendbar ist. Der diesem Verfahren zugrunde liegende Sachverhalt hat sich nämlich zwischen April und Oktober 1992 ereignet, während die Richtlinie nach ihrem Artikel 15 Absatz 1 erst bis zum 1. Januar 1993 von den Mitgliedstaaten umgesetzt werden musste.

16 Nachdem dies feststeht, ist darauf hinzuweisen, daß die Gesundheit und das Leben von Menschen ebenfalls nach ständiger Rechtsprechung unter den in Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag geschützten Gütern und Interessen den ersten Rang einnehmen und daß es Sache der Mitgliedstaaten ist, in den durch den Vertrag gesetzten Grenzen zu bestimmen, in welchem Umfang sie deren Schutz gewährleisten wollen.

17 Jedoch ist eine nationale Regelung oder Praxis, die eine die Einfuhren pharmazeutischer Erzeugnisse beschränkende Wirkung hat oder haben kann, mit dem Vertrag nur vereinbar, soweit sie für einen wirksamen Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen notwendig ist. Eine nationale Regelung oder Praxis fällt daher nicht unter die Ausnahmebestimmungen des Artikels 36 EWG-Vertrag, wenn die Gesundheit oder das Leben von Menschen genauso wirksam durch Maßnahmen geschützt werden kann, die den innergemeinschaftlichen Handel weniger beschränken (siehe Urteil vom 8. April 1992, Kommission/Deutschland, Randnrn. 10 und 11, Urteil Schumacher vom 7. März 1989, Randnrn. 17 und 18, Urteil Delattre vom 21. März 1991, Randnr. 53, und Urteil Eurim-Pharm vom 16. April 1991, Randnr. 27, alle a. a. O.).

18 Im vorliegenden Fall ist zunächst festzustellen, daß die Mitgliedstaaten beim gegenwärtigen Stand der Harmonisierung in Ermangelung eines Verfahrens der Gemeinschaftszulassung oder der gegenseitigen Anerkennung der nationalen Zulassungen berechtigt sind, das Inverkehrbringen von Arzneimitteln, die nicht von der zuständigen nationalen Behörde zugelassen worden sind, in ihrem Gebiet ohne weiteres zu verbieten. Denn nach Artikel 3 der Richtlinie 65/65/EWG des Rates vom 26. Januar 1965 zur Angleichung der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften über Arzneispezialitäten (ABl. 1965, Nr. 22, S. 369) in der Fassung der Richtlinie 89/341/EWG des Rates vom 3. Mai 1989 (ABl. L 142, S. 11) darf "eine Arzneispezialität ... in einem Mitgliedstaat erst dann in den Verkehr gebracht werden, wenn die zuständige Behörde dieses Mitgliedstaats die Genehmigung dafür erteilt hat".

19 Ausserdem soll das Werbeverbot gemäß § 8 Absatz 2 HWG, wie der Generalanwalt in Nr. 23 seiner Schlussanträge zu Recht ausgeführt hat, den Ausnahmecharakter der Einzeleinfuhr nicht zugelassener Arzneimittel wahren, um zu verhindern, daß das grundsätzliche Erfordernis einer nationalen Zulassung nach den deutschen Rechtsvorschriften systematisch umgangen wird. Wenn nämlich in Deutschland für dort nicht zugelassene Arzneimittel geworben werden dürfte, bestünde die Gefahr, daß die Hersteller die Zulassung der Arzneimittel in einem Mitgliedstaat, der geringere Anforderungen stellt, beantragen und sie dann aufgrund von Einzelbestellungen, die sie durch Werbeaktionen ausgelöst haben, nach Deutschland einführen würden.

20 Das Werbeverbot des § 8 Absatz 2 HWG ist deshalb für die Wirksamkeit der nationalen Zulassungsregelung erforderlich. Daher ist es im Sinne von Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag zum Schutz der Gesundheit von Menschen gerechtfertigt.

21 Auf die zweite Frage ist somit zu antworten, daß das in Rede stehende Werbeverbot zum Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen gerechtfertigt ist.

Kosten:

22 Die Auslagen der belgischen, der französischen und der griechischen Regierung sowie der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, die vor dem Gerichtshof Erklärungen abgegeben haben, sind nicht erstattungsfähig. Für die Parteien des Ausgangsverfahrens ist das Verfahren ein Zwischenstreit in dem bei dem vorlegenden Gericht anhängigen Rechtsstreit; die Kostenentscheidung ist daher Sache dieses Gerichts.

Tenor:

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF (Fünfte Kammer)

auf die ihm vom Landgericht Saarbrücken mit Beschluß vom 24. März 1993 vorgelegten Fragen für Recht erkannt:

1) Das nationale Verbot der Werbung für Arzneimittel, die im Inland trotz grundsätzlich bestehender Zulassungspflicht nicht zugelassen sind, die aber aus einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Gemeinschaften auf Einzelbestellung importiert werden dürfen, sofern sie bereits in diesem Mitgliedstaat zulässigerweise in den Verkehr gebracht wurden, ist eine Maßnahme gleicher Wirkung im Sinne von Artikel 30 EWG-Vertrag.

2) Dieses Werbeverbot ist jedoch nach Artikel 36 EWG-Vertrag zum Schutz der Gesundheit und des Lebens von Menschen gerechtfertigt.