EuGH, Rs. C-17/92 v. 4.5.1993 - Distribuidores cinematograficos (english)


EuGH, Urteil v. 4.5.1993, Rs. C-17/92, Slg. 1993, I-2239 - Federacion de Distribuidores Cinematograficos / Estado Espanol und Union de Productores de Cine y Television


EWG-Vertrag, Art. 56, 59 ff.

Summary

1. The exploitation of cinematographic films in a cinema or on television, in the context of which the producers authorize the distributors to make copies of their films and to organize public performances by means thereof, all in return for remuneration, constitutes a provision of services. Where it is of a trans-frontier nature, since producers and distributors are not established in the same Member State, it comes under the provisions of the Treaty with regard to freedom to provide services.

2. The provisions of the Treaty concerning freedom to provide services must be interpreted as precluding national rules which reserve the grant of licences for dubbing cinematographic films from third countries into one of the official national languages to distributors who undertake to distribute national films.

Such rules are discriminatory inasmuch as, to the extent to which the public preference is very largely for films from third countries dubbed into one of the national languages, they award preferential treatment to the producers of national films who, by reason of the heavy demand for dubbing licences, have a guarantee that their films will be distributed and that they will receive the corresponding receipts, in comparison with producers established in other Member States who are dependent solely on the choice of the distributors, and do not come within an express derogation of the kind contained in Article 56 of the Treaty, to which Article 66 refers. In that respect, apart from the fact that the pursuit of a cultural policy is not amongst the justifications set out in Article 56, rules which promote the distribution of national films, whatever their content or quality, pursue only an objective of a purely economic nature which does not constitute a ground of public policy within the meaning of that article.

Parties

In Case C-17/92,

REFERENCE to the Court under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty by the Tribunal Supremo for a preliminary ruling in the proceedings pending before that court between

Federacií³n de Distribuidores Cinematográficos (Fedicine)

and

The Spanish State

supported by Unií³n de Productores de Cine y Televisií³n,

intervener,

on the interpretation of Articles 30 to 36, 59 and 92 of the EEC Treaty, of Council Directive 63/607/EEC of 15 October 1963 implementing in respect of the film industry the provisions of the General Programme for the abolition of restrictions on freedom to provide services (OJ, English Special Edition 1963-1964, p. 52), of the Second Council Directive 65/264/EEC of 13 May 1965 implementing in respect of the film industry the provisions of the General Programme for the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment and freedom to provide services (OJ, English Special Edition 1965-1966, p. 62) and of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT),

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

composed of: G.C. Rodrí­guez Iglesias, President of the Chamber, R. Joliet, J.C. Moitinho de Almeida, F. Grévisse and D.A.O. Edward, Judges,

Advocate General: W. Van Gerven,

Registrar: J.-G. Giraud,

after considering the written observations submitted on behalf of:

° the Federacií³n de Distribuidores Cinematográficos, by Manuel Lanchares Larre, Procurador de los Tribunales, and Manuel Villar Arregui, of the Madrid Bar,

° the Spanish Government, by Alberto José Navarro González, Director- General of Community Legal and Institutional Co-ordination, and Gloria Calvo Dí­az, Abogado del Estado, member of the State Legal Department for Matters before the Court of Justice, acting as Agents,

° the Commission of the European Communities, by Pieter Van Nuffel and Daniel Calleja, of its Legal Service, acting as Agents,

having regard to the report of the Judge-Rapporteur,

after deciding in pursuance of Article 104(4) of the Rules of Procedure not to hear the parties' oral observations, and

after hearing the Opinion of the Advocate General at the sitting on 18 February 1993,

gives the following

Judgment

Grounds of the judgment

1 By order of 12 December 1991, which was received at the Court Registry on 22 January 1992, the Tribunal Supremo, Sala Tercera de lo Contencioso-Administrativo (Supreme Court, Third Chamber for Contentious Administrative Proceedings, hereinafter "the Tribunal Supremo") referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling under Article 177 of the EEC Treaty a question on the interpretation of the provisions of the Treaty for the purpose of determining the compatibility with Community law of national rules making the grant of licences to dub films from third countries with a view to their distribution in Spain in a version dubbed into one of the official languages of Spain, subject to a prior contractual undertaking by the distributor applying for the licence to distribute a Spanish film.

2 That question was raised in the course of administrative proceedings brought by the Federacií³n de Distribuidores Cinematográficos (hereinafter "Fedicine"), an association governed by Spanish law, for the annulment of the sole article of the Real Decreto Legislativo 1257/1986 of 13 June 1986, issued so as to adapt the Law of 27 April 1946 and the Law 3/1980 of 10 January 1980 to the rules of Community law in pursuance of the enabling legislation contained in the Enabling Law of 27 December 1986 (Boletin Oficial del Estado No 153 of 27 June 1986, p. 23427) (hereinafter "the Decree-Law").

3 That sole article, which came into force on 1 July 1986, is worded as follows:

"1. Legally constituted distribution undertakings may freely distribute films produced in the Community.

2. The said undertakings shall also be entitled to a maximum of four licences for dubbing films originating in third countries into one of the official languages of Spain for each Spanish film for which they show that they have concluded a distribution contract in the following circumstances:

(a) the first licence shall be granted when the Instituto de Cinematografí­a y de las Artes Audiovisuales (Cinema and Audiovisual Arts Institute) has been informed of the commencement of filming of a Spanish film for which the distributor applying for the licence has previously signed a contract. That licence shall be automatically cancelled if the film is not presented for approval within 200 days following the commencement of filming. The Instituto de la Cinematografí­a y de las Artes Audiovisuales may extend that period where the persons concerned show good cause;

(b) the second, third and fourth licences shall be granted upon its being demonstrated that the said film has realized gross takings of PTA 30, 60 and 100 million respectively.

3. The distribution in dubbed version of a film originating in a third country shall require the prior grant of a licence for that purpose."

4 Fedicine claimed before the national court that the Decree-Law was a protectionist, restrictive and discriminatory measure contrary to Articles 30 to 36, 59 and 92 of the EEC Treaty, to Council Directive 63/607/EEC of 15 October 1963 implementing in respect of the film industry the provisions of the General Programme for the abolition of restrictions on freedom to provide services (OJ, English Special Edition 1963-1964, p. 52) (hereinafter "the General Programme"), to the Second Council Directive 65/264/EEC of 13 May 1965 implementing in respect of the film industry the provisions of the General Programme for the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment and freedom to provide services (OJ, English Special Edition 1965-1966, p. 62) (hereinafter "the Second Directive") and to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).

5 The Tribunal Supremo took the view that, as a problem concerning the interpretation of Community law had been raised before it and as it was sitting in first and last instance, it was obliged to refer a question to the Court for a preliminary ruling.

6 The question was worded as follows:

"Is a measure making the grant of licences to dub films from non-member countries, with a view to their distribution in Spain in a version dubbed into one of the official languages of Spain, subject to a prior contractual undertaking by the distributor applying for the licence to distribute a Spanish film compatible with Community law?".

7 Reference is made to the Report of the Judge-Rapporteur for a fuller account of the facts, the procedure and the written observations of the parties, which are mentioned or discussed hereinafter only in so far as is necessary for the reasoning of the Court.

8 It is appropriate to point out at the outset that in the context of Article 177 of the EEC Treaty the Court has no jurisdiction to decide either as to the interpretation of the provisions of national laws or regulations or their conformity with Community law. It may however supply the national court with a ruling on the interpretation of Community law to enable that court to resolve the legal problem before it. It may be seen from the file that, by the question referred to the Court, the national court seeks to ascertain whether the rules of the Treaty on the freedom to provide services and the free movement of goods must be interpreted as precluding national rules which reserve the grant of licences for dubbing films from third countries into one of the official national languages to distributors who undertake to distribute national films.

The applicable provisions of Community law

9 First it is appropriate to determine which provisions of the Treaty relate to the distribution of films.

10 It follows from the judgment in Case 262/81 Coditel v Ciné-Vog Films ([1982] ECR 3381, paragraph 11) that the exploitation of films in a cinema or on television implies that the author may make any public projection of the work subject to his authorization and that the commercial exploitation of films by such means, which involves the grant of performing licences, is an activity which comes under the freedom to provide services.

11 That service is in particular one which producers of films provide to distributors by allowing them to make copies of their films and to organize public performances by means of such copies. When the producers and distributors are not established in one and the same Member State, that service is of a trans-frontier nature. Finally, since it is common ground that the distributors pay back to the producers a part of their box-office takings, that service is also provided for remuneration within the meaning of Article 60 of the Treaty.

12 It follows that the problems raised by the national court must be considered from the angle of Article 59 of the Treaty.

The freedom to provide services

13 As regards Article 59, the Court has consistently held (see, in particular, the judgments in Case C-288/89 Collectieve Antennevoorziening Gouda [1991] ECR I-4007, paragraph 10, and in Case C-353/89 Commission v Netherlands [1991] ECR I-4069, paragraph 14) that freedom to provide services entails in particular the abolition of any discrimination against the person providing services on account of his nationality or the fact that he is established in a Member State other than that in which the service is to be provided.

14 In that respect it should be pointed out that, by linking the grant of licences for dubbing films from third countries to the filming and distribution of Spanish films, the Decree-Law is granting an advantage to the producers of such films in comparison with producers established in other Member States who wish to distribute their films in Spain.

15 It appears from the information furnished by the Commission that Spanish public preference as regards the cinema is to a very large extent for films from third countries, in particular those from the United States of America when they are dubbed into one of the official languages of Spain. However, the Decree-Law links the grant of licences for dubbing such films to the obligation to distribute a Spanish film. It thus accords preferential treatment to the producers of national films in comparison with producers established in other Member States, since the former have a guarantee that their films will be distributed and that they will receive the corresponding receipts, whereas the latter are dependent solely on the choice of the Spanish distributors. That obligation therefore has the effect of protecting undertakings producing Spanish films and by the same token places undertakings of the same type established in other Member States at a disadvantage. Since the producers of films from other Member States are thus deprived of the advantage granted to the producers of Spanish films, that restriction is of a discriminatory nature.

16 As the Court has stated in its judgments in Case 352/85 Bond van Adverteerders v Netherlands State ([1988] ECR 2085, paragraphs 32 to 34) and in Collectieve Antennevoorziening Gouda (paragraph 10) and Commission v Netherlands (paragraph 15), previously cited, national rules which are not applicable to services without distinction whatever their origin are compatible with Community law only if they can be brought within the scope of an express derogation such as Article 56 of the Treaty, to which Article 66 refers. It may also be seen from those judgments that objectives of an economic nature cannot constitute grounds of public policy within the meaning of that article.

17 There is no doubt that the Decree-Law pursues such an economic objective since by seeking to guarantee the distribution of a large number of national films it succeeds in ensuring sufficient receipts for the producers of such films.

18 However, the Spanish Government has contended that the Decree-Law pursued a cultural aim, namely that of protecting the national film industry.

19 That argument cannot be upheld.

20 Apart from the fact that cultural policy is not one of the justifications set out in Article 56, it is important to note that the Decree-Law promotes the distribution of national films whatever their content or quality.

21 In those circumstances, the link between the grant of licences for dubbing films from third countries and the distribution of national films pursues an objective of a purely economic nature which does not constitute a ground of public policy within the meaning of Article 56 of the Treaty.

22 The answer to the national court' s question must therefore be that the provisions of the Treaty concerning freedom to provide services must be interpreted as precluding national rules which reserve the grant of licences for dubbing films from third countries into one of the official national languages to distributors who undertake to distribute national films.

Decision on costs

Costs

23 The costs incurred by the Spanish Government and the Commission of the European Communities, which have submitted observations to the Court, are not recoverable. Since these proceedings are, for the parties to the main proceedings, a step in the proceedings pending before the national court, the decision on costs is a matter for that court.

Operative part of the judgment

On those grounds,

THE COURT (Fifth Chamber),

in answer to the question referred to it by the Tribunal Supremo by order of 12 December 1991, hereby rules:

The provisions of the Treaty concerning freedom to provide services must be interpreted as precluding national rules which reserve the grant of licences for dubbing films from third countries into one of the official national languages to distributors who undertake to distribute national films.

EuGH, Rs. C-17/92 v. 4.5.1993 - Distribuidores cinematograficos


EuGH, Urteil v. 4.5.1993, Rs. C-17/92, Slg. 1993, I-2239 - Federacion de Distribuidores Cinematograficos / Estado Espanol und Union de Productores de Cine y Television


EWG-Vertrag, Art. 56, 59 ff.
Leitsätze:

1. Die Vorführung von Filmen im Kino oder im Fernsehen, in deren Rahmen die Produzenten den Verleihern gestatten, gegen Entgelt Kopien ihrer Filme zu ziehen und diese öffentlich zur Aufführung zu bringen, stellt eine Dienstleistung dar. Da diese Dienstleistung grenzueberschreitenden Charakter hat ° Produzenten und Verleiher sind nicht in ein und demselben Mitgliedstaat niedergelassen ° fällt sie unter die Bestimmungen des Vertrages über den freien Dienstleistungsverkehr.

2. Nationale Rechtsvorschriften, die die Erteilung von Lizenzen zur Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern in eine der offiziellen inländischen Sprachen den Verleihern vorbehalten, die sich zum Verleih inländischer Filme verpflichten, sind nicht mit den Bestimmungen des Vertrages über den freien Dienstleistungsverkehr vereinbar.

Eine solche Regelung ist nämlich diskriminierend, da sie angesichts der Tatsache, daß sich das Publikum sehr weitgehend für in einer der Landessprachen synchronisierte Filme aus Drittländern entscheidet, die Produzenten inländischer Filme, die wegen der starken Nachfrage nach Synchronisierungslizenzen sicher sein können, daß ihre Filme verliehen und sie über entsprechende Einnahmen verfügen werden, gegenüber den in anderen Mitgliedstaaten niedergelassenen Produzenten bevorzugt, die ausschließlich von der Entscheidung der Verleiher abhängen, und da sie auch nicht unter eine ausdrückliche Ausnahmebestimmung ° wie Artikel 56 des Vertrages, auf den Artikel 66 verweist ° fällt. Insoweit genügt die Feststellung, daß zum einen die Kulturpolitik nicht zu den in Artikel 56 aufgeführten Rechtfertigungen zählt und zum anderen eine Regelung, die den Verleih inländischer Filme ohne Rücksicht auf ihren Inhalt oder ihre Qualität fördert, ein ausschließlich wirtschaftliches Ziel verfolgt, das keinen Grund der öffentlichen Ordnung im Sinne dieses Artikels darstellt.

Gründe:

1 Mit Beschluß vom 12. Dezember 1991, der am 22. Januar 1992 beim Gerichtshof eingegangen ist, hat die Sala tercera (de lo Contencioso-Administrativo) des Tribunal Supremo gemäß Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag eine Frage zur Auslegung von Vorschriften des EWG-Vertrags zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt, um die Vereinbarkeit nationaler Rechtsvorschriften, mit denen die Erteilung von Lizenzen für die Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern zum Zweck ihres Verleihs in Spanien in synchronisierter Fassung in einer offiziellen spanischen Sprache vom vorherigen Abschluß eines Vertrages über den Verleih eines spanischen Films durch das die Lizenz beantragende Verleihunternehmen abhängig gemacht wird, mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht prüfen zu können.

2 Diese Frage stellt sich in einem Verwaltungsstreitverfahren, das die Vereinigung spanischen Rechts Federacií³n de Distribuidores Cinematográficos (Fedicine; Klägerin) anhängig gemacht hat, um den einzigen Artikel des Real Decreto Legislativo 1257/1986 vom 13. Juni 1986 (Boletin Oficial del Estado Nr. 153 vom 27. Juni 1986, S. 23427) für nichtig erklären zu lassen, mit dem aufgrund der Ermächtigung durch die Ley de Bases vom 27. Dezember 1986 das Gesetz vom 27. April 1946 sowie das Gesetz 3/1980 vom 10. Januar 1980 an die Vorschriften des Gemeinschaftsrechts angepasst werden sollten.

3 Dieser einzige, am 1. Juli 1986 in Kraft getretene Artikel lautet wie folgt:

"1. Die rechtmässig gegründeten Verleihunternehmen können die in der Gemeinschaft produzierten Filme frei verleihen.

2. Diese Unternehmen können für jeden spanischen Film, für den sie den Abschluß eines Verleihvertrages nachweisen, bis zu vier Lizenzen für die Synchronisierung von Filmen aus Drittländern in einer der offiziellen spanischen Sprachen unter folgenden Voraussetzungen beanspruchen:

a) Die erste Lizenz wird erteilt, sobald das Instituto de Cinematografí­a y de las Artes Audiovisuales (Institut für Film und audiovisülle Kunst) vom Beginn der Dreharbeiten für einen spanischen Film unterrichtet worden ist, für den der die Lizenz beantragende Verleiher zuvor einen Verleihvertrag abgeschlossen hat. Diese Lizenz wird ungültig, wenn der Film nicht binnen 200 Tagen nach Beginn der Dreharbeiten zwecks Erhalts des Kontrollvisums eingereicht wird. Das Instituto de Cinematografí­a y de las Artes Audiovisuales kann diese Frist auf begründeten Antrag der Betroffenen verlängern.

b) Die zweite, dritte und vierte Lizenz werden erteilt, wenn nachgewiesen wird, daß dieser Film Bruttöinnahmen von 30, 60 bzw. 100 Millionen Peseten erzielt hat.

3. Der Verleih eines Films aus einem Drittland in synchronisierter Fassung ist zwingend vom vorherigen Erhalt der entsprechenden Lizenz abhängig."

4 Vor dem vorlegenden Gericht machte die Klägerin geltend, das Real Decreto Legislativo sei eine protektionistische, restriktive und diskriminierende Maßnahme, die gegen Artikel 30 bis 36, 59 und 92 EWG-Vertrag, die Richtlinie 63/607/EWG des Rates vom 15. Oktober 1963 zur Durchführung der Bestimmungen des allgemeinen Programms zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs auf dem Gebiet des Filmwesens (ABl. 1963, 159, S. 2661; nachstehend: Allgemeines Programm), die zweite Richtlinie 65/264/EWG des Rates vom 13. Mai 1965 zur Durchführung der allgemeinen Programme zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen der Niederlassungsfreiheit und des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs auf dem Gebiet des Filmwesens (ABl. 1965, 85, S. 1437; nachstehend: Zweite Richtlinie) sowie gegen das Allgemeine Zoll- und Handelsabkommen (GATT) verstosse.

5 Das Tribunal Supremo sah sich, weil es um eine Frage der Auslegung von Gemeinschaftsrecht gehe und es in erster und letzter Instanz entscheide, verpflichtet, die Frage zur Vorabentscheidung vorzulegen.

6 Es hat daher folgende Frage zur Vorabentscheidung vorgelegt:

"Ist es mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht vereinbar, die Erteilung von Lizenzen für die Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern zum Zweck ihres Verleihs in Spanien in synchronisierter Fassung in einer offiziellen spanischen Sprache vom vorherigen Abschluß eines Vertrages über den Verleih eines spanischen Films durch das die Lizenz beantragende Verleihunternehmen abhängig zu machen?"

7 Wegen weiterer Einzelheiten des Ausgangsverfahrens, des Verfahrensablaufs und der schriftlichen Erklärungen der Beteiligten wird auf den Bericht des Berichterstatters verwiesen. Der Akteninhalt wird im folgenden nur soweit wiedergegeben, als es die Begründung des Gerichtshofes erfordert.

8 Der Gerichtshof kann sich im Rahmen von Artikel 177 EWG-Vertrag weder zur Auslegung innerstaatlicher Rechts- oder Verwaltungsvorschriften noch zu deren Vereinbarkeit mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht äussern. Er kann indessen dem vorlegenden Gericht die zur Auslegung des Gemeinschaftsrecht gehörenden Gesichtspunkte an die Hand geben, die dieses in die Lage versetzen, die ihm vorliegende Rechtsfrage zu beantworten. Aus den Akten ergibt sich, daß das vorlegende Gericht mit der Vorlagefrage in Erfahrung bringen möchte, ob nationale Rechtsvorschriften, die die Erteilung von Lizenzen zur Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern in eine der offiziellen inländischen Sprachen den Verleihern vorbehalten, die sich zum Verleih inländischer Filme verpflichten, mit den Bestimmungen des EWG-Vertrags über den freien Dienstleistungs- und den freien Warenverkehr vereinbar sind.

Zu den anwendbaren Gemeinschaftsvorschriften

9 Es bedarf zunächst der Feststellung, unter welche Bestimmungen des EWG-Vertrags die Tätigkeit des Filmverleihs fällt.

10 Nach dem Urteil vom 6. Oktober 1982 in der Rechtssache 262/81 (Coditel, Slg. 1982, 3381, Randnr. 11) ist für die Vorführung eines Films im Kino oder im Fernsehen kennzeichnend, daß der Urheber jede öffentliche Aufführung des Werkes von seiner Erlaubnis abhängig machen kann; der mit der Vergabe von Aufführungsrechten verbundene Vertrieb des Films in dieser Weise gehört daher zum freien Dienstleistungsverkehr.

11 Zu diesen Diensten gehört insbesondere, daß die Produzenten von Filmen den Verleihern gestatten, Kopien ihrer Filme zu ziehen und diese öffentlich zur Aufführung zu bringen. Sind Produzenten und Verleiher nicht in ein und demselben Mitgliedstaat niedergelassen, so ist diese Dienstleistung grenzueberschreitend. Da die Verleiher den Produzenten einen Teil ihrer Einnahmen in den Kinosälen überlassen, wird diese Dienstleistung schließlich auch gegen Entgelt im Sinne des Artikels 60 EWG-Vertrag erbracht.

12 Folglich ist die vom vorlegenden Gericht aufgeworfene Frage anhand des Artikels 59 EWG-Vertrag zu untersuchen.

Zum freien Dienstleistungsverkehr

13 Nach ständiger Rechtsprechung zu Artikel 59 EWG-Vertrag (siehe insbesondere Urteile vom 25. Juli 1991 in der Rechtssache C-288/89, Collectieve Antennevoorziening Gouda, Slg. 1991, I-4007, Randnr. 10, und in der Rechtssache C-353/89, Kommission/Niederlande, Slg. 1991, I-4069, Randnr. 14) setzt der freie Dienstleistungsverkehr insbesondere die Beseitigung jeder Diskriminierung gegenüber dem Dienstleistenden aufgrund seiner Staatsangehörigkeit oder des Umstandes voraus, daß er in einem anderen als dem Mitgliedstaat niedergelassen ist, in dem die Dienstleistung zu erbringen ist.

14 Das Real Decreto Legislativo bevorzugt die Produzenten spanischer Filme gegenüber in anderen Mitgliedstaaten niedergelassenen Produzenten, die ihre Filme in Spanien in Verleih geben wollen, dadurch, daß es die Erteilung von Synchronisationslizenzen für Filme aus Drittländern von der Produktion und dem Verleih spanischer Filme abhängig macht.

15 Aus den Erklärungen der Kommission ergibt sich nämlich, daß das spanische Publikum sich im Bereich des Filmwesens sehr weitgehend für Filme aus Drittländern, insbesondere Filme aus den Vereinigten Staaten, entscheidet, wenn sie in einer der offiziellen spanischen Sprachen synchronisiert sind. Das Real Decreto Legislativo macht aber die Gewährung von Lizenzen zur Synchronisierung dieser Filme von der Verpflichtung zum Vertrieb eines spanischen Films abhängig. Es bevorzugt damit die Produzenten inländischer Filme gegenüber den in anderen Mitgliedstaaten niedergelassenen Produzenten, weil die erstgenannten sicher sein können, daß ihre Filme verliehen und sie über entsprechende Einnahmen verfügen werden, während die letztgenannten ausschließlich von der Entscheidung der spanischen Verleiher abhängig sind. Diese Verpflichtung läuft daher auf eine Schutzwirkung zugunsten spanischer Unternehmen der Filmproduktion hinaus und benachteiligt in gleichem Masse die in anderen Mitgliedstaaten niedergelassenen entsprechenden Unternehmen. Da den Filmproduzenten anderer Mitgliedstaaten somit der den spanischen Filmproduzenten gewährte Vorteil versagt wird, liegt eine Beschränkung diskriminierenden Charakters vor.

16 Nach den Urteilen des Gerichtshofes vom 26. April 1988 in der Rechtssache 352/85 (Bond van Adverteerders, Slg. 1988, 2085, Randnrn. 32 bis 34) und vom 25. Juli 1991 in den Rechtssachen Collectieve Antennevoorziening Gouda (Randnr. 10) und Kommission/Niederlande (Randnr. 15) sind innerstaatliche Rechtsvorschriften, die auf Dienstleistungen nicht ohne Rücksicht auf deren Ursprung unterschiedslos anwendbar sind, nur dann mit dem Gemeinschaftsrecht vereinbar, wenn sie unter eine ausdrückliche Ausnahmevorschrift wie Artikel 56 EWG-Vertrag fallen, auf den in Artikel 66 EWG-Vertrag verwiesen wird. Zwecke wirtschaftlicher Art stellen nach diesen Urteilen keine Gründe der öffentlichen Ordnung im Sinne dieses Artikels dar.

17 Das Real Decreto Legislativo verfolgt zweifellos einen wirtschaftlichen Zweck, da es in dem Bemühen, den Verleih einer grossen Anzahl inländischer Filme sicherzustellen, zugleich den Produzenten dieser Filme ausreichende Einnahmen sichert.

18 Die spanische Regierung hat demgegenüber geltend gemacht, daß das Real Decreto Legislativo ein kulturelles Ziel verfolge, nämlich den Schutz der einheimischen Filmproduktion.

19 Diesem Vorbringen ist nicht zu folgen.

20 Zum einen zählt die Kulturpolitik nicht zu den in Artikel 56 aufgeführten Rechtfertigungen. Zum anderen fördert das Real Decreto Legislativo den Verleih inländischer Filme ohne Rücksicht auf ihren Inhalt oder ihre Qualität.

21 Somit ist festzustellen, daß die Verknüpfung der Erteilung von Lizenzen für die Synchronisierung von Filmen aus Drittländern mit dem Verleih inländischer Filme ein ausschließlich wirtschaftliches Ziel verfolgt, das keinen Grund der öffentlichen Ordnung im Sinne des Artikels 56 EWG-Vertrag darstellt.

22 Dem vorlegenden Gericht ist daher zu antworten, daß nationale Rechtsvorschriften, die die Erteilung von Lizenzen zur Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern in eine der offiziellen inländischen Sprachen den Verleihern vorbehalten, die sich zum Verleih inländischer Filme verpflichten, nicht mit den Bestimmungen des EWG-Vertrags über den freien Dienstleistungsverkehr vereinbar sind.

Kosten:

23 Die Auslagen der spanischen Regierung und der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften, die vor dem Gerichtshof Erklärungen abgegeben haben, sind nicht erstattungsfähig. Für die Parteien des Ausgangsverfahrens ist das Verfahren ein Zwischenstreit in dem bei dem vorlegenden Gericht anhängigen Verfahren; die Kostenentscheidung ist daher Sache dieses Gerichts.

Tenor:

Aus diesen Gründen

hat

DER GERICHTSHOF (Fünfte Kammer)

auf die ihm vom Tribunal Supremo mit Beschluß vom 12. Dezember 1991 vorgelegten Frage für Recht erkannt:

Nationale Rechtsvorschriften, die die Erteilung von Lizenzen zur Synchronisation von Filmen aus Drittländern in eine der offiziellen inländischen Sprachen den Verleihern vorbehalten, die sich zum Verleih inländischer Filme verpflichten, sind nicht mit den Bestimmungen des EWG-Vertrags über den freien Dienstleistungsverkehr vereinbar.